Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Royal Caribbean

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
4.2 / 54.2 / 54.2 / 54.2 / 54.2 / 5
4.2 / 5

Average Rating based on 9 Reviews
Value For Money  4.22/5  (4.22)
Cabin Design  4.00/5  (4.00)
Entertainment  3.86/5  (3.86)
Fitness Center  4.00/5  (4.00)
Food Quality  4.22/5  (4.22)
Ship Maintenance  4.56/5  (4.56)
Spa  4.00/5  (4.00)
Specialty Restaurant  4.80/5  (4.80)
Staff and Service  4.38/5  (4.38)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.24/5  (4.24)
Cabin Design  4.02/5  (4.02)
Entertainment  3.79/5  (3.79)
Fitness Center  4.13/5  (4.13)
Food Quality  4.17/5  (4.17)
Ship Maintenance  4.30/5  (4.30)
Spa  3.98/5  (3.98)
Specialty Restaurant  4.00/5  (4.00)
Staff and Service  4.46/5  (4.46)

 
  Get review alerts

RCL Freedom of the Seas
RCL Freedom of the Seas

Royal Caribbean International has provides guests with innovative, adventurous onboard activities. And yes, the RCL Freedom of the Seas has an ice-skating rink, rock-climbing wall and Royal Promenade.

Freedom of the Seas sails year-round, 7-night Western Caribbean itineraries from Miami.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1044)
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice vacation., January 23, 2014
Reviewer: cscc1
Pros: Wait staff great. Enjoyed entertainment.
Cons: Not crazy about private island, Coco Cay.
Date of cruise: 12/2013
Departure port: Port Canaveral
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Found through: Travel agent's web site
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
cscc1 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Nice vacation, everything turned out good. Itinerary was a little different which was enjoyable.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bycscc1 Get syndicated reviews bycscc1
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 1017)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Food was very good, entertainment was just OK., January 3, 2014
Reviewer: ralphien123
Pros: Relaxing, very rarely were waitstaff bugging you to buy drinks!
Cons: Couldn't launder or iron your own clothes.
Date of cruise: 12/22/13
Departure port: Port Canaveral
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 7315
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
ralphien123 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

My wife and I had a relaxing time onboard the Freedom of the Seas. This was my first Royal Caribbean cruise (I have been on three Disney and three Carnival cruises).

The food was very good (a little better than Carnival, especially the buffet), but the entertainment was fair at best. We attended most of the stage shows and caught one ice show. They weren't bad, but I enjoyed the entertainment on the Carnival ships a bit more.

I also found the fellow passengers onboard this ship were too reserved for a cruise. Even during dance parties, most just stood around instead of getting involved.

The ship is beautiful, top to bottom, and the Promenade gives an amazing feeling of not even being on the ship at all.

Our cabin was an Deck 7 inside stateroom overlooking the Promenade. Having the window made the cabin seem much bigger than it was.

All-in-all, I would happily do another Royal Caribbean cruise. Or I would go on a Carnival cruise,....it would depend on which had the better deal was at the time. I like them both.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byralphien123 Get syndicated reviews byralphien123
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 782)
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
This is my fourth cruise and it is the best cruise experience so far., August 3, 2012
Reviewer: geeva
Pros: Love the promenade setup, theater shows, onboard activities and food.
Cons: For some reason, this ship rocked more than any other ship I have been on.
Date of cruise: 7/22/2012
Departure port: Port Canaveral
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 7506
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise community site,Travel agent's web site
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
geeva saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

I took my family on this ship on 7/22/2012 on a 7-day vacation. Loved the promenade concept, felt like walking in the mall. Wasn't too crowded at any point. As usual, our restaurant head waiter, waiter and assistant waiters were great, energetic and treated us like a VIPs. Enjoy rocked climbing, boogie boarding, etc.

Wished there were more energetic crowd it the disco lounge. Couldn't stand watching the teenagers on the disco floor, bare footed, still wearing the bathing suite and acting like idiots. So, we opted for Baleros for latin dancing and Arcadia for ballroom dancing.

It was disappointing that you can't do your own laundry on this ship or iron your own clothes. Have to pay them to get it done.

The entertainment director Graham Seymour was a hit. He is hilarious, entertaining and very energetic. We had a street party on the promenade one night full of rock music. Great atmosphere and entertaining.

The nightly shows are just beyond awesome. These are not cheesy shows. Great entertainment and we didn't miss any of it. Even my kids (9/11/19-year-olds) enjoyed it.

We will go on this ship in a heartbeat.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bygeeva Get syndicated reviews bygeeva
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 693)
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
FANTASTIC, December 16, 2011
Reviewer: bellybutton
Pros: Great crew, beautiful cabin, great dining experience, great ports
Cons: Deck 8 Aft balconies unusable when Windjammer windows are washed
Date of cruise: Dec 4-11, 2011
Departure port: Port Canaveral
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Suite
Cabin number: 8414
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
bellybutton saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

This was my 59th cruise, for what it is worth ... I normally cruise on smaller ships, but I was pleasantly surprised at how uncrowded the ship felt. I hardly ever encountered a LONG line.

I am a Diamond member of RCI's Crown & Anchor Society. That entitled me to access to the Diamond Lounge on FOTS. Loved it. There were many Diamond and above cruisers, so the lounge overflowed into the Olive or Twist Lounge on Deck 14. When it was too crowded up there, I went to the Suite Lounge on Deck 10. This area was less crowded; but had the same amenities. Access is gained using your Gold passkey. What could be better than FREE booze for 3.5 hours each day????

The cabin was beautiful. It was a RFS; two bedrooms, two bathrooms, large living area. The balcony was huge, with two loungers and a large table.

The balcony is unprotected from above. I was very concerned. We were directly below the Windjammer Buffet on deck 11. I saw trouble immediately. Sure enough, trouble arrived rather quickly. When the windows above are washed, the balconies on Deck 8 are thoroughly soaked with dirty soapy water, and then with the dirty rinse water.

They DO NOT drain quickly. Cushions and the glass tabletop are wet. No one comes to clean up the mess. I called and complained to the Housekeeping staff. I spoke directly to the Hotel Director at a cocktail party. They couldn't care less. (They did send me a cheap bottle of wine in the hope of quieting me, but that didn't work....)

So, we had this oversized balcony that we couldn't enjoy. Do not book an aft balcony one deck 8 if your intent is to use it every day. You, too, will be disappointed. Consider yourselves warned. It is a shame that RCI has chosen NOT to correct this Deck 8 Aft issue. As a retired engineer, I came up with a relatively inexpensive FIX; but no one was interested in listening to it.

(Oh well, my complaining will continue. Look for it on Cruise Critic; Facebook; Twitter; the RCI website; and wherever else I discover to address this issue. Join me if you, too, were subjected to an experience like me.)

This cruise was my first time to experience MyTimeDining. I was pleasantly surprised. We sat on the starboard side, with Alicia, EVERY night. In fact, we sat with the SAME people EVERY night. We had a very congenial and cohesive group. Alicia was our server. Floyd Neil was the bar server. All three did an excellent job.

My cabin attendant was Ronnie. He also made sure that our cabin was always immaculate. He gets a 10 on the hard-working scale. Thank you, Ronnie.

We found ourselves walking the Promenade on a daily basis. There was always something going on. Yet,it was never overcrowded. Pizza was always ready; there was always a pastry or sandwich to check out at the coffeeshop. Don't go into Britto unless you are ready to exit with a purchase; consider yourself warned....

We visited Cococay, St Thomas, and St Maarten. I have been to all three ports many times in the past.

Cococay has really evolved since my first visit in 1997. There was so much to see and do there. There were also many intimate and shaded places to lounge and do nothing.

St. Thomas is one of my favorite ports. But due to world economic conditions it is no longer the bargain shopping port it once was. Shops that I used to frequent are now gone. You must do your homework at home if you hope to find that SPECIAL bargain.

St Maarten is also a shoppers' paradise. I've been calling there since the 1980s as well. But this time I decided to visit Maho beach to watch the planes take off. It was a hoot!!! I had no idea that watching folks get blown into the water would be so much fun.... WHO KNEW??? There is still time to shop for booze, Cuban cigars, and scents. Did I mention tablecloths?? Oops, MY BAD....

OMG, I forgot to mention the Port Canaveral personnel.They were the nicest I have ever encountered and I mean that. They eclipse the staff in Port Everglades, Jacksonville, Galveston, NYC. Embarkation was quick, seamless, and pain-free. Boswell was my porter. e traded cellphone numbers so that he would have my luggage when I disembarked one week later. And there he was, with all of my luggage as I disembarked. He even helped us load my SUV.

Thank you, customs, for allowing me to disembark with 24 bottles of booze; DUTY-FREE. What a great Christmas present.

I am planning a return to Port Canaveral in 2012. This time I am considering a B2B cruise. Seven days just isn't enough...for me.

If you are looking for a cruise on a ship with quiet corridors; good food; comfy cabins; excellent waitstaff; and a great itinerary, this is a ship to consider.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bybellybutton Get syndicated reviews bybellybutton
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 508)
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good time overall, December 17, 2010
Reviewer: mipen
Pros: The shows and food are second to none
Cons: Smoking on top deck
Date of cruise: 12/05/2010
Departure port: port canaveral,fl
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 6109
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
mipen saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   2.00/5  (2)

Check-in the at port was not very efficient and they didn't seem to be prepared for lunch in the Windjammer. When we couldn't get off at CoCo Cay we noticed the staff was also arguing with each other that day. Staff not very friendly any day at the Windjammer.

The food was great and a good selection. Our stateroom attendant was very nice; main-sitting dining staff was excellent!

The shows were great also. The smoking areas on the top deck were not marked well if at all. Don't know if we would take another 7-day due to the fact that we could not get off at CoCo Cay so out of the seven days we were on the ship for five. The ship was beautiful but seemed to start closing in on us after so long on it -- even the other couples at our table said the same thing.

We also had a small fire on the bridge one night but they extinguished very quickly.

The ports of St. Thomas and St. Maarten were very fun and beautiful, just wished we had more time to spend on beaches.

This was our 25th wedding anniversery gift to each other and overall we would give it an 8 out of 10 rating
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bymipen Get syndicated reviews bymipen
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 435)
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
 
The ship was beautiful & the staff treated us like royalty. Excellent cruise!!, October 8, 2010
Reviewer: 2Schramms
Pros: Cruise Director, food, shows, staff, excursion to honeymoon cove on St. Thomas
Cons: Slow elevators, but with all the great food, probably better to walk the stairs
Date of cruise: Sept. 26-Oct. 3, 2010
Departure port: Port Canaveral
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 6629
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
2Schramms saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Was an amazing trip. It was our honeymoon along with 80 other couples and there was a special night in one of the clubs for us.

They decorated our room beautifully. The food was excellent and a lot of it. The ship is beautiful and her crew is the best. I was expecting a tiny bathroom and it was larger than I imagined, shower pressure great. Room cleaned twice a day. Our room was near the elevators, made getting around easy, overlooking the Promenade.

Cruise Director was so much fun we found ourselves tuning in to his show every morning knowing he was going to make us laugh. Thank you, Gramham!!! There was so much to do everyday and the shows were at different times to give you a chance to see them. The hot tubs were great and my husband loved the Flow Rider. We played golf and table tennis, only went in the gym once but it was wonderful with lots of things going on and equipment.

The ports were great, too. So relaxing in Cococay on the beach and hammocks. Reasonable drinks there and shopping for trinkets. Our favorite day in port was the excursion on the schooner "Bones" in St. Thomas to Christmas Cove and Honeymoon Cove. It was an adventure we will never forget. The crew was great. They took great care of us. Wwe laughed, relaxed, learned so much from them about the islands and wildlife of the ocean. Very knowledgeable and respectful of area.

We went snorkeling for the first time and had a blast with Jason teaching us how and showing us so much in the water. I would highly recommend this excursion, well worth the money. I was patting myself on the back afterward for booking this one.

St. Maarten has some of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen ans lots of shopping. All in all there is nothing I would change about this trip, couldn't ask for a better honeymoon.

Thank you all from the bottom of my heart, you are the BEST cruise ship out there. I know there were about 150 kids on there but I rarely seen or heard them. One parent on the elevator told us there were so many things for them to do, so I imagine thats why we saw so little of them.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews by2Schramms Get syndicated reviews by2Schramms
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 417)
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful:
 
Overall RCC does a great job providing the cruise experience, September 24, 2010
Reviewer: BevMoreOcala
Pros: The ship had plenty to do to make this cruise very enjoyable
Cons: The promenade room was so narrow it was hard to walk around the bed
Date of cruise: 9/12/2010
Departure port: Port Canaveral
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 6609
Found through: Cruise line website
    
BevMoreOcala saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)

The Freedom is a beautiful ship and very well maintained. We had a promenade room which was great because you could watch the activities in the promenade from the room, and you have light during the day when the curtain is open - but the room is so narrow that it was hard to walk between the bed and the wall and suitcases had to be lifted over first bed to get to the second one to unpack. There is also very little drawer storage. On occasion, you could hear some noise from the promenade.

The activities were well planned even to jewelry making workshops and the usual Quest and Love and Marriage shows. The evening shows were very good. If the hurricane had not stopped us from getting off in one port it would have been a perfect cruise.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byBevMoreOcala Get syndicated reviews byBevMoreOcala
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 251)
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
 
Wonderful ship with a superb staff and crew. Port Canaveral is great, too, August 30, 2010
Reviewer: Michelle
Pros: Entertainment was great, staff was wonderful, activities a plenty
Cons: Not enough times for Flow-Rider sessions; Johnny Rockets always crowded
Date of cruise: 11/01/2009
Departure port: Port Canaveral
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 8673
Found through: Travel agent's web site
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
Michelle saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We really love the Freedom and I think by far the cruise director on this ship is the best I've seen in years. We had a Promenade cabin which I loved and also had meetings on the ship so saw some meeting rooms which were nice.

Chops and Portofino are more than worth the cover charges you pay and if you want different dining experiences I highly recommend these. We also spent a good amount in the Vintages Bar and really thought the wine secelction was good but could be better - nice that they do offer wine pacakges.

They were working on Labadee but, wow, it is much nicer now than in years past and the zip-lining here is the best I've seen from the top of the mountain back down to the beach. Great beach bar areas; go to the left of the beach past shopping for a quieter lunch experience.

Shore days were great and the tenders were crowded but mostly because our sailing was sold out.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byMichelle Get syndicated reviews byMichelle
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 76)
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Ship is beautiful and clean. We all had a great time., June 26, 2010
Reviewer: kcarde
Pros: Easy to find my way around the ship, nice kids program,comfortable beds
Cons: Limited time segments of night life and events
Date of cruise: June 13th 2010
Departure port: Port Canaveral
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 3248
Found through: AllThingCruise.com,CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
    
kcarde saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This ship is gorgeous and extremely clean. The crew in all areas were so very nice. Kids liked the kids club and also the pools. The evening activities were limited to 45 time slots around the ship and it was a bit confusing chasing down something to do. Many bars and areas were closed and empty when we got there. It was a little too regimented.

Kids were a bit disappointed that they ran out of planned event items (pillowcases that night)and also that the ice cream machine closed early every night. Alcoholic drinks were not overly priced although be careful the bar tab adds up quickly.

Don't be afraid to book a room near an elevator for convenience - the rooms are soundproof and this was a great perk for us to not have to walk far to the room. Food selection was nice at the buffet and my boys were very happy that there was sushi available at night.

Make sure you bring water shoes to Haiti - beach is really pretty but there are lots of rocks and coral in the sand. Rafts are $12 to rent. The dragon roller coaster in Haiti was very cool - kids loved it! Don't be afaid to haggle with the local vendors. Dunns River Falls in Jamaica - you can take a local taxi $7-10 pp and then pay for your $15 pp entrance as an option to a ship tour - although you will be on your own. (also bring your water shoes to climb tha falls) The DVD we purchased was hysterical.

Margaritaville in Jamaica was great - kids loved the slide into the pool in the restaurant. Grand Sayman was great. Took a tour with Moby Dick to swim with the sting rays - do this! Shopping was okay - but higher priced area and more jewelry. Tenders from the ship did not take long at all - very well done. Margaritaville was also nice in Grand Cayman - we sat and had drinks while the kids swam - also big slide into the pool. Cozumel - took taxi to the shopping area just a few miles and walked and bought some nice silver. They like to haggle there too - ate at Carlos and Charlie's - great food and lots of fun.. Also visited Margaritaville there - no slide or pool - but you can dive off the porch into the water and snorkle- lots of fun.

Overall it was a great cruise and a good value. I booked through CruiseCompete.com and received a nice on-board credit which helped offset our bar and gameroom tab! Have fun!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bykcarde Get syndicated reviews bykcarde
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Top of Page
Questions? Free help from cruise experts at ExpertTravelAnswers.com
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise