Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Royal Caribbean

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
4.2 / 54.2 / 54.2 / 54.2 / 54.2 / 5
4.2 / 5

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews
Value For Money  4.40/5  (4.40)
Cabin Design  4.40/5  (4.40)
Entertainment  3.60/5  (3.60)
Fitness Center  4.50/5  (4.50)
Food Quality  3.80/5  (3.80)
Ship Maintenance  4.30/5  (4.30)
Spa  4.25/5  (4.25)
Specialty Restaurant  3.67/5  (3.67)
Staff and Service  4.60/5  (4.60)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.25/5  (4.25)
Cabin Design  4.03/5  (4.03)
Entertainment  3.79/5  (3.79)
Fitness Center  4.13/5  (4.13)
Food Quality  4.19/5  (4.19)
Ship Maintenance  4.32/5  (4.32)
Spa  3.98/5  (3.98)
Specialty Restaurant  4.00/5  (4.00)
Staff and Service  4.48/5  (4.48)

 
  Get review alerts

RCL Mariner of the Seas
RCL Mariner of the Seas

If a couple of showpieces were ever needed to illustrate the major advancements of human technology, RCL Mariner of the Seas cruise ship would be one of them. With a total length of 1,020 feet, a weight of 138,000 tons, and a capacity to hold 3,114 passengers, you can bet Mariner of the Seas has something for everyone. Part of the Voyager class of ships, which represent the highest space-per-guest ratio in the cruise market, this spectacular ship was designed with enhanced staterooms, expanded dining options and state-of-the-art recreational facilities like a rock-climbing wall, ice-skating rink, and basketball court. Mariner of the Seas sails the Eastern and Western Caribbean round-trip from Port Canaveral, Florida.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 722)
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
A relaxing cruise, February 24, 2012
Reviewer: Badger63
Pros: Value for the money
Cons: Dining room food
Date of cruise: 2/12-2/19/12
Departure port: Galveston
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 9341
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise deal website,Travel agent's web site
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
Badger63 saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

RCL provides a wonderful cruise experience. However, ther dining room food left much to be desired when compared to other ships. Alternative menues were average at best. The steak was similar to a mid-priced chain such as Bonanza.

I felt that the entertainment offered was a bit weak with no show being available at all on one night. Fitness center was great but needed fans to circulate the air. The staff was great!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byBadger63 Get syndicated reviews byBadger63
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 699)
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
Food and service average, ship a little frayed around the edges., January 2, 2012
Reviewer: DJHVet
Pros: Vintages, the Solarium and the Ice Show were good.
Cons: Drawer fronts and closet doors falling off in stateroom.
Date of cruise: December 18, 2011
Departure port: Galveston
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 7530
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
DJHVet saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Specialty Restaurant   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   3.00/5  (3)

We cruised Christmas 2011. Embarking was a nightmare (almost 7 hours) due to viral illness on the previous cruise. Boarding was delayed due to cleaning and check-in was moved out of the cruise terminal to the convention center. RCL did not organize or implement these procedures well at all. There were plenty of activities, especially for all the kids on board. Santa delivering presents was a nice touch. The holiday decorations were very pretty.

The food was average to good. Dining room service was excellent, but we found the service in Chops Grille to be very slow. Service at Ellingtons was average, service at Vintages was superior.

Our stateroom (steward) service was average to poor.

Unfortunately, the ship's age was very apparent in our stateroom with 2 drawers that did not close properly, 1 drawer with the front falling off and a closet door hinge that kept coming undone.

The public areas seemed much better maintained and we particularly enjoyed with Solarium. The ice rink and climbing wall were unique, but the ice rink hours were so restricted we never did find time to go. Pre-dinner drinks at Ellington's or Vintages were very enjoyable and we did stay up way too late one night at Dragon's Lair.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byDJHVet Get syndicated reviews byDJHVet
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 686)
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
Ship was beautiful but like Carnival better, December 2, 2011
Reviewer: tytero
Pros: Room attendant, the ice show,
Cons: Food, few on-board activities, no self-service for drinks
Date of cruise: 11-20-11
Departure port: galveston
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 1553
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
tytero saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   1.00/5  (1)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

The ship was beautiful. We were really taken away by the 5th deck. The staff was courteous.

We prefer Carnival because they let you get your own drinks. You can get them at any time, not just during the serving times.

The activities were limited. One night they didn't even have a show. Spent hours just walking around because they didn't really have anything scheduled. Not used to that. No robes or ice in rooms. No toiletries in bathrooms. Four out of six hot tubs were closed one night.

Didn't like most of the food. Carnival has 24-hour pizzeria and ice cream. This ship has frozen pizza in two flavors and the yogurt is only open during the day. Teenage son liked the teen club but I think he felt the same way, not enough activities. Bottom line, we will cruise with Carnival next time.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bytytero Get syndicated reviews bytytero
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 630)
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great staff and nice ship, July 20, 2011
Reviewer: Betty
Pros: Good service and nice people
Cons: None
Date of cruise: 16.06.2011
Departure port: Civitavecchia
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 9656
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
Betty saw things this way
Value For Money   3.00/5  (3)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The ship provides things to do for all types of people.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byBetty Get syndicated reviews byBetty
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 608)
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great food, great people, wonderfully maintained, June 21, 2011
Reviewer: nzkm
Pros: Never-ending food selection
Cons: Everything onboard was expensive, compared to other ships
Date of cruise: 4 June 2011
Departure port: Civitavecchia
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 2356
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
nzkm saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Overall we loved this ship. We were surprised at the range of ages, a lot of people in their 20's and beyond. The pool area was always busy but you usually got a seat - surprised that none of the pools were heated, though.

The food and dining was excellent. Portofino was a definite highlight for us seafood lovers and the dining room was always bustling but obviously well organized. Johnny Rockets was a bit of fun but I probably wouldn't bother again, since its just burgers and hotdogs. Cafe Promenade always had good food but the espresso coffee was hit and miss - very annoying considering how much you're charged.

My partner is a poker player and found the poker table was never really utilized and the house cut was particularly high considering its all electronic. Overall the staff in there was great.

The shows were very good, but you can't please everyone. I found the pool party, street party and parade great fun and loved the crew's involvement. My own complaint would be the TV showings in the cabin, about four movies repeated over and over for 12 days and one channel of repeats. I'd feel sorry for anyone under the weather. My partner was also really surprised how poor the sound quality and screen was in the theater.

I would agree with another review made here about the music in some of the bars - with some singers virtually every song sounded the same and was the same night after night. The price of drinks was also off-putting. We would have had many more cocktails if they weren't so highly priced -- even the special of the day was only about 50 cents off. We found the wine package really valuable after spending $40 a bottle on the first night (including service charge).

Shore excursions were really well organized, but the embarking was a mess - over two hours in the Mediterranean heat was torturous. I think that in itself almost puts me off booking again. Hoping this isn't the norm! Coming into our cabin was joy after that - the bed and linen are second to none and I haven't slept so well since. Truly a relaxing experience, if only a few niggles - and don't miss the ice show!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bynzkm Get syndicated reviews bynzkm
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 583)
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent ship and amenities, poor entertainment, April 30, 2011
Reviewer: jpforgas
Pros: Excellent design, outstanding staff and service
Cons: Poor entertainment and activities
Date of cruise: 5-18 April 2011
Departure port: civitavecchia
Region visited: Europe
Cabin category: Inside
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
jpforgas saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   1.00/5  (1)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This is a huge ship, beautifully designed with wonderful public areas and no sense of crowding anywhere. We went on a 13-days Eastern Mediterranean itinerary in April 2011 and the stops were all fabulous - Messina, Athens, Haifa, Ashdod/Jerusalem, Rhodes, Ephesus, Chania and Naples.

The cabin was spacious and well furnished. Food in the main dining room was only average - better than Costa, but not up to the quality on Norwegian, Holland America, Princess or Celebrity. Service quality by the hard working staff was excellent - polite and very efficient.

A unique feature was the ice skating which we tried and enjoyed greatly.

The one great disappointment was the quality (or rather, the absence) of entertainment. The ship had several wonderful large bars (Ellington's, Lotus lounge, etc.) but the music in all of them was dreadful during our cruise and the bars were always empty. We would have liked to dance, but there was almost no opportunity. Who ever hired these terrible bands?

In the Lotus Lounge there was a (presumably expensive) four-member band playing some weird 1930s style music, with the same two octogenerian couples dancing there every night. This was the main evening bar, yet it was deserted almost all the time due to the hopeless music. We came to call this bar the 'mortuary' by the second day.

Ellington's, a fabulous nightclub on level 14 was also plagued by one of the most boring and depressing combos you will find anywhere on the high seas. In this glorious club there were never more than half a dozen people - who hired such a moribund band for this venue?

There was also a latin band in one of the smaller bars that attracted some dancers, but if you do not like latin music, there was nowhere else to go in such a huge ship.

The only enjoyable and highly popular music was paradoxically in the small piano bar that was full every night - but this space was far too small for dancing. I think RCL needs to take a hard look at the kind of bands it hires for this ship!

There were also almost no organized on-board activities to speak of, the animators were practically invisible and, as far as we could tell, the cruise director did nothing but introduce the shows. The evening shows were mediocre to bad. In the 13 days, only the Frankie Valli and the Beatles tribute bands created any excitement. There was only one (1!) production show by the ship's dancers, and that was a tedious New York style musical pastiche.

In summary, the Mariner is a magnificient ship and in most respects our cruise experience was as good as, or better, than on other cruise lines. The exception is entertainment - neither the bars, nor the music, nor the shows were up to the standard one expects.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byjpforgas Get syndicated reviews byjpforgas
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 468)
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great ship with fabulous food and entertainment; would definitely sail her again, November 21, 2010
Reviewer: ChapinAyres
Pros: Cabin was great with lots of storage - even bathroom tiles. Food/shows great
Cons: Shopping on board limited and bingo too expensive at $22 per game; ship big
Date of cruise: 7 November 2011
Departure port: Los Angeles
Region visited: Mexico
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 6572
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
ChapinAyres saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

I am not a fan of large ships but this ship is lovely. Good cabin design with lots of storage. Food was great and lots of variety. Entertainment was good - comedians, piano bar, pub entertainer, ice skating show etc.

Staff were attentive. Cruise Director and entertainment team were fabulous. The lead male singer was the weak link in the show but everyone else was great. Bingo is too expensive and drinks on board are not cheap and the shopping on board was very limited but adequate (just trying to buy some body lotion - there was only one choice and very small package). Would happily cruise this ship again.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byChapinAyres Get syndicated reviews byChapinAyres
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 467)
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great, November 19, 2010
Reviewer: uruguay99
Pros: Buffet was great, great selection of ethnic food
Cons: Buffet was not open 7/24 , just the Promenade was open with small selection
Date of cruise: 11/7/2010
Departure port: san pedro, CA
Region visited: Mexico
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 6671
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
uruguay99 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Great experience
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byuruguay99 Get syndicated reviews byuruguay99
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 419)
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
 
Exciting, fun-filled and relaxing cruise experience, September 28, 2010
Reviewer: locmaster
Pros: The structure and variety of activities; so much to do that I never got bored
Cons: The food could have been tastier and kept at appropriate temperatures
Date of cruise: 9/12/10
Departure port: Los Angeles
Region visited: Mexico
Cabin category: Inside
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
locmaster saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This was one of the most enjoyable cruises I've ever been on. The cruise ship was spotless and very well maintained. Every crew member that I came across always smiled, greeted me and asked if they could of help.

The activites were fun-filled and never boring. There was always something to do that was fun or interesting. For an inside cabin I was pleasantly surprise at how big and comfortable it was. I would sail this ship again without hesitation.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bylocmaster Get syndicated reviews bylocmaster
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 170)
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very nice ship with plenty of space for 3,100+ people., August 15, 2010
Reviewer: mcarter60523
Pros: Promenade and overall service
Cons: Ship is showing signs of wear and tear. Very poor movie "theater"
Date of cruise: 8-1-10
Departure port: Los Angeles
Region visited: Mexico
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 9232
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise deal website
Good for children: Yes
    
mcarter60523 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The Mariner of the Seas is a very large ship with very good service (cabin attendant, dining room staff and guest relations). Even though our cruise was completely booked, the ship never felt crowded (3,100+ people) and there was always plenty of activities for children throughout the day.

The food was very consistent and good in the main dining room and cafe promenade. However, the ship is now seven years old and is showing signs of wear and tear (e.g., the seats in the movie "theater" were VERY uncomfortable and the screen was terrible). The Mexican Riviera itinerary was very nice and the three days at sea were very relaxing and enjoyable.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bymcarter60523 Get syndicated reviews bymcarter60523
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Top of Page
Questions? Free help from cruise experts at ExpertTravelAnswers.com
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise