Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Royal Caribbean

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
3.7 / 53.7 / 53.7 / 53.7 / 53.7 / 5
3.7 / 5

Average Rating based on 8 Reviews
Value For Money  4.00/5  (4.00)
Cabin Design  4.00/5  (4.00)
Entertainment  2.86/5  (2.86)
Fitness Center  4.25/5  (4.25)
Food Quality  3.50/5  (3.50)
Ship Maintenance  4.50/5  (4.50)
Spa  3.00/5  (3.00)
Specialty Restaurant  3.67/5  (3.67)
Staff and Service  3.88/5  (3.88)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.25/5  (4.25)
Cabin Design  4.03/5  (4.03)
Entertainment  3.79/5  (3.79)
Fitness Center  4.13/5  (4.13)
Food Quality  4.19/5  (4.19)
Ship Maintenance  4.32/5  (4.32)
Spa  3.98/5  (3.98)
Specialty Restaurant  4.00/5  (4.00)
Staff and Service  4.48/5  (4.48)

 
  Get review alerts

RCL Jewel of the Seas
RCL Jewel of the Seas

Designed to meet every expectation, the RCL Jewel of the Seas cruise ship features spacious public areas, gracious service, and one of the highest percentages of outside cabins in the Royal Caribbean fleet. A 10-story, glass-constructed atrium, glass elevators facing the sea, and six dining choices are these to satisfy every taste. Dine to the soothing sound of waterfalls in the Cascades Dining Room, enjoy a thick, juicy steak in Chops Grille, or dine al fresco in the casual Windjammer Cafe.

You'll find a dizzying array or sports, recreation, and leisure on board the Jewel of the Seas. The Fitness Center contains state-of-the-art exercise equipment and offers a variety of fitness instruction, as well as spa services. A putting green, golf simulators, a climbing wall, basketball court, game arcades, and three pools, including the special kids pool area with its own waterslide round out the options for physical activity.

The nightlife rolls on into the wee hours at the many bars, the casino, and the theatre, where dynamic Las Vegas-style shows amaze and entertain. With all of the entertainment options of a small city, the Jewel of the Seas offers the active cruise vacation of a lifetime!

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 8
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 992)
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice ship with good service provides an overall great cruise experiance, September 12, 2013
Reviewer: BryanLawlor
Pros: Service was very good from cabin attendant to servers and bartenders
Cons: I missed having the royal promenade; the ship's set up is lacking.
Date of cruise: 8/31/2013
Departure port: San Juan Puerto Rico
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 7536
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
    
BryanLawlor saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

We had a great time on Jewel. We loved the southern caribbean ports of call. We missed the royal promenade. I guess we were spoiled as our last cruise was on Oasis. This was our fourth cruise on RCCL and we have cruised once (and the last time) on Carnival.

Food was good in the main dining room. Windjammer is Windjammer, so food is mostly convenience items (precooked sausage, bacon, etc.) but you can get in quick and eat and get out.

Try Seaview Cafe for made to order items. The clam chowder, tuna melt and the chicken strips with wings are good. Portofino was well worth it.

There is only one sea day so be sure and get a lounger on the lower level by the pool early. Oh, and if you like to drink, I definitely recommend the premier drink package. It gives you a chance to try things you may not otherwise. Also you don't have to worry about drinks and pricing. :)
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byBryanLawlor Get syndicated reviews byBryanLawlor
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 884)
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
 
Beautiful ship! LOVED the Solarium!, February 9, 2013
Reviewer: BrownCalico
Pros: The Solarium was AMAZING!
Cons: Food was frequently overcooked.
Date of cruise: April 2012
Departure port: Tampa, Florida
Cabin category: Outside
    
BrownCalico saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   2.00/5  (2)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   2.00/5  (2)

Overall, not bad. Food needs an update. Solarium was a definite plus!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byBrownCalico Get syndicated reviews byBrownCalico
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 868)
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
average experience, nothing extraordinary, January 15, 2013
Reviewer: sjlipski
Pros: Cabin steward service and dining room service
Cons: The entertainment could use an upgrade
Date of cruise: 5 January 2013
Departure port: Tampa,Florida
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 3054
Found through: Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
sjlipski saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

Had two negative experiences. First of all, the crew confiscated one piece of luggage from us. They believed that the green Listerine was actually an alcoholic beverage. After an inspection, it was returned to us.

The more serious problem was a group of four bogus charges submitted on our Sailpass account. After a discussion with Guest Services, these four charges were removed.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bysjlipski Get syndicated reviews bysjlipski
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 856)
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice ship but NOT for teens, January 1, 2013
Reviewer: TeenCruise
Pros: Beautiful ship. Especially the glass elevators showing lobby and ouside views
Cons: Small mediocre pool. The solarium indoor pool was only for adults. Boring.
Date of cruise: 12/22/2012
Departure port: Tampa
Region visited: Mexico
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 3571
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
TeenCruise saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Nice cruise. Nightly entertainment was OK. Daily activities were poor with hardly any participation. They like to do line dancing at poolside. Fun to watch but not my thing. Not much else offered.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byTeenCruise Get syndicated reviews byTeenCruise
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 698)
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
A mixed bag, December 29, 2011
Reviewer: BudinFla
Pros: Dining room food and service were fantastic
Cons: Food and service in the Windjammer Cafe were really bad
Date of cruise: 12/19/2011
Departure port: Tampa
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 8662
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
BudinFla saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   1.00/5  (1)
Staff and Service   3.00/5  (3)

Our cabin steward was average at best. His main concern was to only call him between 8-1 and 3-6. Did not go out of his way to do anything. The food and service in the main dining room were among the best I have had at sea in a long time. The food and service in the Windjammer Cafe was terrible. Seaside cafe took forever to get any food. The Children's program for kids 5 and 2 were terrible. For our 5 year old grandson just movies, except for Pirate night which was great. Two year old could not even go in any pool. They had nothing for him. Ship was clean and staff was very nice. Not a ship to go on if you want to spend the evening dancing the night away. Just not many places to do that. Entertainment was really good. Show room was nice. RCCL seems to be cutting corners since the last time I sailed with them. Buffet closes at 9:30pm. No service, even drink refills in Windjammer. Pizza looked like frozen pizza from the grocery store. Clearly they are a step down from Princess, the line we usually travel on. Embarkation and disembarkation was really smooth. Tampa is a great place to sail from. Oh I was upgraded from an inside to a balcony. Very nice!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byBudinFla Get syndicated reviews byBudinFla
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 591)
13 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
 
Not bad for the price paid, May 23, 2011
Reviewer: ted3000
Pros: Nice clean ship, good A/C and noise suppression between cabins
Cons: Service in dining room and food in dining room, extra charge attempts
Date of cruise: May 6, 2011
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Transoceanic
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 8154
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
ted3000 saw things this way
Value For Money   3.00/5  (3)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   2.00/5  (2)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   3.00/5  (3)

Took transatlantic cruise from Ft. Lauderdale to Harwich, good price for balcony cabin, good embarkation process in FLL. Time in ports, Azores and two stops in France, was short. We needed more time in ports.

Food was only just edible, no taste, poor choices on dinner menu, messed up kitchen with long waits, poor waitress who appeared to be untrained.

Library has few books and not much to do all day at sea. Rented cars in all three ports, cheaper than shore excursions sold by ship and much more interesting visiting spots with no tourists.

All in all, a lot better than some cruises I have sailed, on C--ta for example.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byted3000 Get syndicated reviews byted3000
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 534)
20 of 28 people found the following review helpful:
 
Friendly staff, January 9, 2011
Reviewer: islandtravel
Pros: Staff, very friendly and helpful
Cons: Entertainment -- nightly shows from RC dancers & singers were awful
Date of cruise: 12/24/10
Departure port: ft. lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
islandtravel saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   1.00/5  (1)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Emarking on the cruise was rather quick and painless. We had two balcony staterooms. Both were clean. Storage space always amazes me on RCCL ships. Use of space is impressive. The ship overall was clean, a little dated looking but there was nothing wrong with it.

We went to the Windjammer for lunch. There is a large selection at the buffet. There is a salad bar, pizza, pasta, hot dishes, breads, sandwiches, fruit and dessert. Although the selection is large after a few days it gets repetitive.

The main dining room is quite lovely. We chose my time dining. It worked out really well for us. Although they say your waiters will be different, we had only three different waiters in our 10 days. They all remember you and are so pleasant. All the staff in the dining room that we encountered were fabulous.

The main pool is small, but there are many lounge chairs around. etween the pool area and the upper deck, we never had a difficult time finding chairs. Bar service was readily available around the pool.

There were many activities going on around the ship both during the day and at night. During the day they had some yoga classes, ballroom dance class, wine tasting, trivia, name that tune, bingo, basketball. The Jewel also has mini golf and a rock climbing wall. The gym is large and adequate.

Although most of the common areas on the ship are no smoking, the casino allows smoking. They did, however, have one smoke-free evening.

The evening shows by the RCCL staff were not good. They are called the Royal Caribbean singers and dancers. It was like watching a middle school production. There was not a person I ran into who thought they were good. Some of the other entertainment the ship brought on were good and some unfortunately were not. This was our fourth cruise and I have to say the worst entertainment. As it was an Xmas-New Years cruise I expected more.

We chose this particular cruise because of the itinerary: Colombia, Panama, Costa Rica and Grand Cayman. Three of the stops were new to us and we were very pleased with them. on the excursions offered by the ship because we always arrange private tours from local guides. If you are looking for a different experience rather than the usual Caribbean stops, I would recommend this itinerary.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this ship and itinerary. The only real negative for us was the evening shows.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byislandtravel Get syndicated reviews byislandtravel
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 455)
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent overall value, November 4, 2010
Reviewer: mrsaj
Pros: Ship is nicely appointed, comfortable beds and cabins, excellent use of space
Cons: Food in main dining room was inconsistent; meats and fish were overcooked
Date of cruise: Oct 23 2010
Departure port: Boston
Region visited: Canada/New England
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 3513
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
mrsaj saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

I would recommend this ship and the New England Cruise. The ship is well maintained and the staff were terrific!

My only complaint is that the food in the main dining room was not consistently excellent. On other cruise ships and lines the food was gourmet quality and every meal was cooked to perfection. Haven't cruised for several years so not sure if this is a phenomenon of the times or poor habits in the kitchen. Not enough of a problem to downgrade the ship.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bymrsaj Get syndicated reviews bymrsaj
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Top of Page
Questions? Free help from cruise experts at ExpertTravelAnswers.com
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise