Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Princess Cruises
 

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
4.3 / 54.3 / 54.3 / 54.3 / 54.3 / 5
4.3 / 5

Average Rating based on 12 Reviews
Value For Money  4.33/5  (4.33)
Cabin Design  4.50/5  (4.50)
Entertainment  3.50/5  (3.50)
Fitness Center  4.40/5  (4.40)
Food Quality  4.42/5  (4.42)
Ship Maintenance  4.75/5  (4.75)
Spa  4.00/5  (4.00)
Specialty Restaurant  4.40/5  (4.40)
Staff and Service  4.42/5  (4.42)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.17/5  (4.17)
Cabin Design  4.02/5  (4.02)
Entertainment  3.63/5  (3.63)
Fitness Center  3.98/5  (3.98)
Food Quality  4.31/5  (4.31)
Ship Maintenance  4.27/5  (4.27)
Spa  3.71/5  (3.71)
Specialty Restaurant  4.19/5  (4.19)
Staff and Service  4.39/5  (4.39)

 
  Get review alerts

Ruby Princess
Ruby Princess

The Ruby Princess cruise ship includes a dramatic piazza-style atrium featuring small-bite eateries and performing street entertainers. Passengers enjoy an array of dining venues including the signature Sabatini's Italian trattoria and the Crown Grill steak and seafood restaurant, plus a relaxing oasis just for adults called The Sanctuary.

Ruby Princess also offers the popular Movies Under the Stars, multiple entertainment options, Personal Choice Dining featuring traditional or Anytime seating, Lotus Spa with fitness center, an extensive children and teen's center, a wedding chapel and nearly 900 staterooms with private balconies. She sails in the Caribbean islands and Europe.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 12
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1066)
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Ruby Princess is a great getaway. Movies Under the Stars are wonderful., January 26, 2014
Reviewer: Jackieblog
Pros: Ship decor, activities and food are all good. Cabin very comfy & attendant great
Cons: Spa offers good services but attendants do too much hard selling of products.
Date of cruise: November 2012
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
Jackieblog saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

The moon watched from the night sky and the waves crashed below as the hero and the villain met on screen. Snuggled in deck lounge chairs with warm plaid blankets and freshly popped corn delivered to us by a waiter, my daughter Kelly and I enjoyed a movie under the stars. We were on the Ruby Princess somewhere in the Caribbean.

Watching a movie on the top deck of the cruise ship seemed like the perfect ending to a wonderful day. The huge 300-square-foot LED screen shows movies above the largest of the Ruby Princess’s four swimming pools. The first time I saw the screen, I thought it must have a really powerful sound and visual system to provide such a clean picture on a sunny day or a dark night and clear sound no matter how strong the sea wind was blowing.

The Princess Cruise Line also has its own private island – Princess Cays – and that was the first stop on our weeklong cruise. Princess Cays is located in the Bahamas, in the southern portion of the island of Eleuthera, which was discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1492. The island is 100 miles long and about 2 miles wide. The island is graced with gently rolling hills and miles of sparkling white sand beaches and mangrove trees. Eleuthera is about 200 miles from where we set sail in Florida.

As with all shore stops, passengers can stay aboard the Ruby Princess for a huge choice of shipboard activities or they can go ashore for even more things to do. Kelly and I did a little of both. Choices on the ship for the Princess Cays stop included a golf putting tournament, card game, pool games, dancing, ceramic painting, yoga, Power Point classes, paddle tennis, spa treatments, basketball tournaments and plenty of swimming and dining.

On Princess Cays, activities included swimming at the private beach, kayaks, paddle wheelers, shopping at the island marketplace, dining at the barbecue lunch and snorkeling. Kelly went snorkeling while I took photos and notes on the island. Princess Cays has a coral reef teeming with schools of tropic fish for snorkeling and provides all the necessary equipment, including a small bag of fish food to ensure that snorkelers see plenty of fish up close.

After the marvels of the deep in Princess Cays, it seemed fitting to end our day under the stars on the Ruby Princess deck taking in movie magic. Memories like this are priceless to tuck away in the mind’s treasure album and bring out to enjoy when the Indiana landscape is snow covered with more winter cold on the way.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byJackieblog Get syndicated reviews byJackieblog
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 1065)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Ruby Princess is a regal beauty and pampered me like royalty., January 26, 2014
Reviewer: Jacqueline
Pros: Beautiful ship, good food, lovely cabins.
Cons: Crew seemed tired, overworked, sometimes rude. Will give Princess another chance
Date of cruise: November 2011
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
Jacqueline saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

The winter sky was as grey as cold oatmeal. Clumps of dirty snow littered the ground. High temperatures hovered around the 20s and lows were better not to think about. Indiana winters can seem to drag on forever so a break to sunshine spots is welcome.

One bitter cold Saturday, my daughter Kelly and I caught a flight from the Indy airport to Fort Lauderdale. When we stepped out into the Florida sunshine, I heard the welcome words from our shuttle driver, “You can put away that winter coat now. You won’t be needing it here.”

And for one wonderful warm week, we didn’t.

Whether it’s on an ocean or a river, a cruise is a great way to see the world – unpacking only once, never having to look for a motel or a restaurant or a gas station, so much entertainment to choose from or just the joy of watching the river flow or the ocean roll.

For this trip, we boarded the new Ruby Princess in Fort Lauderdale with shore stops in Princess Cays, Ocho Rios, Grand Cayman and Cozumel. We also spent two full days at sea, which can be an ultimate way to relax.

With an inaugural cruise in November 2008, the Ruby Princess can carry a maximum of 3,150 passengers and a maximum of 1,200 crew. That ratio gives an inkling of how passengers are pampered. At 113,561 tons, the Ruby Princess seems like a floating palace.

The new generation of cruises certainly has changed and the Ruby Princess is an elegant example of what cruising should be. One thing I really appreciate is the Personal Dining Choice concept where passengers can choose when and where to eat.

The Ruby Princess still offers set seating dining for those who prefer it but I always thought it was a pain to have to drop whatever I was doing to eat at a certain time. Hurrying back from a pleasant shore excursion or wanting a spa treatment to end so I could rush and get ready for dinner was not good. The Ruby Princess offers the best of both worlds.

The Ruby Princess features a wealth of entertainment, activities and shore excursions. Each day, passengers receive a newsletter that lists what’s going on, along with a weather report (high 79 degrees and low 70 degrees!) and other informative tidbits.

It did take me a while to find my way around the ship. With 19 decks, she is huge. The heart of the Ruby Princess is a dazzling Italian style piazza with beautiful marble and stone floors, sweeping staircases and a glass elevator.

The towering piazza serves as a town square with several eateries and live street entertainers ranging from acrobats and jugglers to musicians and magicians. With a cup of coffee or glass of wine, you’ll feel like you’re sitting in the center of a friendly Italian village.

The Lido Deck is the hub of outdoor activity with two large swimming pools – the ship has a total of four pools – surrounded by hundreds of deck chairs. The Lido Deck also offers a buffet restaurant, along with some casual eateries and a couple of bars.

The ship has an outdoor movie, an indoor Princess Theater, library, internet café, entertainment lounges, shopping boutiques, wedding chapel, teen clubs, children’s clubs, mini golf course, spa, fitness gym and large casino.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byJacqueline Get syndicated reviews byJacqueline
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 648)
36 of 53 people found the following review helpful:
 
As first-time cruisers we were delighted with the experience, August 27, 2011
Reviewer: rebeldeb
Pros: The ports were full of 'bucket list' historical locations/icons
Cons: People 'reserving' deck chairs first thing but not using them until late morning
Date of cruise: 8th August 2011
Departure port: Venice
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: R620
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise deal website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
rebeldeb saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We felt comparatively young among other passengers (we are in our late 40s). Despite that still had good time. Food was excellent and plenty of variety; only disappointment was the specialty grill. If you are paying extra for a special experience it should be that. We chose Anytime Dining which suited us perfectly. Dinner companions on the whole delightful.

The cabin was clean and spacious enough and great having a balcony. Our steward was delightful. In fact 99.5 percent of the staff could not do enough for you and were all cheerful and helpful.

Lotus Spa was heaven; pricey and pushing the products was unexpected but not overly hard sell. The Sanctuary is a great idea but felt it unnecessary to be charged extra to access this area. Would have liked to try the lap pool in this area but often over run with young loud men.

Loved Movies under the Stars; this is a great concept and a great way to unwind after a long shore day. Being able to just grab a burger, hot dog, etc. right there was brilliant. The only drawback is that, like the deckchairs aft, a person will reserve a row of eight with two blankets on each one, usually in prime positions. This sometimes left no blankets for latecomers.

Kids drink package is a great idea and we got one each, as we are not big drinkers; the mocktails were brilliant! The coffee card was also great for those watching their euros. The ship could do with another coffee bar though as this area was very busy, especially in the morning.

Did not go to every show but the production shows were great and the cast very talented. Guest stars probably paled in comparison and some, like the comedian/juggler, seemed to work much harder (more shows) than others.

Difficult to discuss matters at the courtesy desk/pursers desk after mid afternoon. Queues long but worse than that you are competing with the piano man, jazz quartet, or whatever other musical act is in the Piazza that afternoon. You have to shout to be heard and this sets up unnecessary aggression.

Our two frustrations (take note, virgin cruisers) were the lack of universal chargers. We would have been happy to rent one but not available. Forced to buy one in one of the ports (no easy thing when electronic shops/department stores hard to find). The other one was buying stamps. Told they were sold in all tobacco shops but many did not have any. You have postcards from one country and stamps from a different country two days later. Maybe the boutiques on the ship could sell stamps and the courtesy desk drop box take them and post for you while you are in port ?
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byrebeldeb Get syndicated reviews byrebeldeb
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 585)
9 of 26 people found the following review helpful:
 
Awesome cruise, May 7, 2011
Reviewer: brucenaomi97
Pros: Food, service and entertainment
Cons: Price, dress code, and Grand Turk
Date of cruise: 04/24/11
Departure port: ft lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: L241
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
brucenaomi97 saw things this way
Value For Money   3.00/5  (3)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   3.00/5  (3)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Princess lines have got it going on when it comes to checking in!!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bybrucenaomi97 Get syndicated reviews bybrucenaomi97
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 542)
24 of 43 people found the following review helpful:
 
First cruise, but found the ship to be a very pleasurable experience, January 14, 2011
Reviewer: intriguedkp
Pros: Friendly staff, good food, good itinerary, nice overall design
Cons: Buffet design, entertainment options
Date of cruise: Jan. 2-10, 2011
Departure port: Port Everglades
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: R607
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site,Cruise deal website
    
intriguedkp saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

This was our first cruise, so nothing to compare this to, but overall, we found the Ruby Princess to be a thouroughly enjoyable experience.

After speaking with other experienced Princess cruisers, there were more teens/children on our ship than is normal (we sailed the first week in January). We did not mind too much, but it did impact the ambiance of the trip somewhat.

We found the room and dining room service to be wonderful. We had "anytime dining," and never had a challenge getting into the restaurant, but we generally arrived early as we are early diners. We were seated at the same table a few nights consecutively, and the wait staff remembered us. I really like the fact that you can save a partial bottle of wine and they will retrieve it to any restaurant on the ship.

The entertainment in the Piazza and the lounges was good (definitely geared to an older crowd). The production shows were okay, the last night's original production being the best. The comedians were very good, but I did not find the illusionist to be all that spectacular. In order to get seating for the early show, one had to show up relatively early.

The food in the main dining rooms was very good for the most part. The tenderloin was the only main course that I was disappointed in -- likely caused by the need to prepare it in mass. It did not have a fresh sear on it and tasted as if it was prepared in advance. There was a nice variety of choices on the menus and I found the appetizers and soups (particularly the cold soups) to be consistently reliable.

The pizza is also very good.

The food in the buffet was less reliable and the Chinese lunch was sub-par. The layout of the main buffet is a bit chaotic, and the wait for things to toast was problematic. The variety of choices was good, and there was always an intriguing item that was being served. However, it would have been nice if there were more salad options -- there was not always a salad bar, but only a pre-made small side salad.

The cabin was spacious, and the balcony was more than adequate in size. We were on the top deck with cabins and were not affected by noise from the buffet directly above us.

Overall, I would definitely choose to cruise on the Ruby Princess again. The service and experiences were very good.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byintriguedkp Get syndicated reviews byintriguedkp
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 541)
23 of 46 people found the following review helpful:
 
The staff were very accommodating., January 14, 2011
Reviewer: llkessie
Pros: The large screen TV on the deck was very entertaining
Cons: If was very difficult to find deck chairs because of people saving large numbers
Date of cruise: 1.2.11
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: E507
Found through: Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
llkessie saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This was an excellent experience. This was by far the best cruise we have taken of the previous four. The ship was beautiful and the staterooms were larger than we have had on other ships. The large screen was nice to watch movies and sports on.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byllkessie Get syndicated reviews byllkessie
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 503)
29 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
 
Elegant ship but wouldn't go again, December 17, 2010
Reviewer: lrc7265
Pros: Great food, service, and beautiful ship
Cons: Entertainment and age of the crowd
Date of cruise: December 5-12, 2010
Departure port: Port Everglades FL
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: C505
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
lrc7265 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The Ruby Princess is rated a five-tar ship and I agree. The food was superb, the staff was extremely helpful, and the ship itself was very beautiful.

This was our sister cruise and we ranged from 45 to 64 in age. I was disappointed at the fact that the cruiseline based the entertainment for mainly seniors and I guess the average age to be 70ish. Had to avoid many mishaps with walkers, canes, wheelchairs and scooters.

I was disappointed they no longer do the towel animals in the rooms each night. No big deal but something we always enjoyed. The dining room no longer entertains with music and dancing and was told it was due to a lawsuit where a passenger was injured.

It also aggravated me that they charge $20 a day for the Serenity deck and pool. I love the Princess line but will opt for a more lively crowd next time.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bylrc7265 Get syndicated reviews bylrc7265
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 475)
23 of 38 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Ruby is typical of what you'd expect from other Princess ships, November 26, 2010
Reviewer: hcruiser
Pros: The ship is still new and in great, very clean condition. Staff was great!
Cons: You cannot make Anytime Dining reservations between 6:15 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Date of cruise: 11-14-10
Departure port: Port Everglades
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: A409
Found through: Cruise line website
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
hcruiser saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This was our sixth cruise with Princess and, as in the past, they didn't disappoint. We picked this cruise primarily for it's great itinerary (St. Maarten, St. Thomas, Princess Cays and Grand Turk).

We have always found Princess to be predictable, in a good way. They are consistent with their service and amenities. The Ruby is still new and in great condition. Our cabin was in mint condition and so were all the public areas.

Dinners were good to excellent. Breakfast and lunch (at the buffet) were typically good with a nice variety to choose from. Overall, you couldn't beat the value received for a week's vacation in the Caribbean.

The only two complaints...although we had chosen "Anytime dining" for dinner, you can not make a reservation between 6:15 p.m. and 8:15 p.m. You can walk up between those hours and a beeper is issued to alert you when your table is available. Although the wait time was never very long, in the past you were able to make reservations, even for the entire cruise if you wished. This appears to be a recent policy change.

Secondly, although you can get eggs or omelettes cooked to order, there is no dedicated station for this at the breakfast buffet. This created a somewhat chaotic gathering smack in the middle of the rest of the buffet service. There should be a separate area for this with a clearly defined line to place your order and pick up when ready. We have experienced this on Celebrity ships and it worked great.

Overall, we would recommend Princess in general, and certainly this beautiful ship in particular. We do not recommend it for kids, however. Other lines have better kids activities and amenities.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byhcruiser Get syndicated reviews byhcruiser
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 464)
29 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
 
Ruby Princess - underwhelming!, November 13, 2010
Reviewer: fran g
Pros: Check-in process was great and the ship was lovely; the piazza was beautiful.
Cons: The entertainment options and the overall attention to detail.
Date of cruise: 10/31/10
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
fran g saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   3.00/5  (3)

The politeness and helpfulness of the staff was variable, except on the last night of the cruise when they ask you to rate their service. Most of the evening entertainment was geared for seniors and the shows were amateur.

The casino had a strange policy regarding smoking. The casino allowed smoking on alternate nights, although you could smoke in the casino every day. The smell of smoke was noticable even on the no smoking nights. They also always kept the doors to the cigar bar open so the smoke waffed into the casino anyway. It would be easy for them to cut the casino in half and create separate smoking and non-smoking sections.

The breakfast and lunch buffet food was uninspred and usually cold. There was the option of having custom omelettes for breakfast but it wasn't advertised. Waiting for the omelettes and for your toast (that you had to toast yourself) meant blocking other diners from getting through the buffet line. If you wanted coffee "to go," you had to go to the outside bar to get a cup (without a cardbaord sleeve to protect your hand from the heat) and then back into the dining room to get the coffee. Why can't they just have to go cup inside next to the coffee?

Any Time dining was a great option but the dining experience was disappointing. Although the menus were varied, they were not well prepared. The food lacked flavor and the quality of the beef was terrible. Paying to use the sauna and the steamroom and sit in the Sanctuary was a rip-off.

The cruise line is responsible for the vendors they use for the shore excursions. On two occasions, we were overcrowded into buses like cattle for our island tours. One tour company had us walk down the pier to check in and then walk back down the pier to the ship to wait in the hot sun for 30 minutes before marching us back down the same pier to our original check-in location.

I tried to send my concerns to Princess through their website. They require you to create a Hotmail account. I guess thy don't really want to know. This was my first cruise on Princess. I don't know if there will be a second.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byfran g Get syndicated reviews byfran g
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 100)
16 of 30 people found the following review helpful:
 
With its service/amenities, Princess lived up to its promise to help us escape!, July 10, 2010
Reviewer: Sherry
Pros: Beautiful new ship, great service!
Cons: None
Date of cruise: June 22-July 4, 2010
Departure port: Rome/Civitavecchia
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: Aloha 212
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
Sherry saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We had a great experience on the Ruby Princess cruising in the Mediterranean.It did appear that this cruise catered more to couples and families than it did to young, single adults, but that could be because I fell into the family group and may not have been aware of late-night activities.

The ship is new and beautiful. The staff was friendly and attentive. Most all of the food we had was delicious, and the presentation and service were top-notch.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bySherry Get syndicated reviews bySherry
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 39)
13 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Cruise, Great ship, Service staff is not so great, rude at times., May 22, 2010
Reviewer: bethinverse
Pros: Best way to travel and see part of Europe, excellent route!
Cons: Ruby is coming from another cruise and staff is tired and rude at times.
Date of cruise: May 5- May May 17, 2010
Departure port: Barcelona
Region visited: Europe
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: E222
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
bethinverse saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   3.00/5  (3)

Our cruise had 90% senior and we kind of felt a little out of place. The staff treated us like were part of the crew because of our ethnicity and I guess the way we dressed so casually and the fact that were in our 40's did not help. Some of the staff went out of their way to make us feel very welcome and others just dismissed us like we worked there. It was really amusing for a while then got annoying as the trip got longer. Its just hard not to feel angry when you leave for shore excursion and then everyone around you get their pictures taken and they skipped you all together because you look like your part of the crew! We did get some pictures taken when we told our cousin and because they would often take their pictures they always tried to include us. This was out first cruise and we do not know much about cruising, my cousin was a frequent cruiser so we relied on them quite a lot and they were quite upset from the treatment we got. We hope our next cruise is better we plan to go with princess again so were crossing our fingers!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bybethinverse Get syndicated reviews bybethinverse
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 22)
16 of 33 people found the following review helpful:
 
A fantastic cruise, May 13, 2010
Reviewer: karoggra
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Date of cruise: February 2009
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 750
Found through: Cruise line website
    
karoggra saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The Sabatini was the best speciality dining experience we've EVER had on a cruise ship, and we've been on 14 cruises!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bykaroggra Get syndicated reviews bykaroggra
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Top of Page
Questions? Free help from cruise experts at ExpertTravelAnswers.com
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise