Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Premium > Princess Cruises
 

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
3.6 / 53.6 / 53.6 / 53.6 / 53.6 / 5
3.6 / 5

Average Rating based on 9 Reviews
Value For Money  3.67/5  (3.67)
Cabin Design  3.50/5  (3.50)
Entertainment  3.67/5  (3.67)
Fitness Center  3.43/5  (3.43)
Food Quality  3.67/5  (3.67)
Ship Maintenance  3.22/5  (3.22)
Spa  3.57/5  (3.57)
Specialty Restaurant  3.67/5  (3.67)
Staff and Service  4.22/5  (4.22)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.08/5  (4.08)
Cabin Design  3.98/5  (3.98)
Entertainment  3.67/5  (3.67)
Fitness Center  3.97/5  (3.97)
Food Quality  4.20/5  (4.20)
Ship Maintenance  4.19/5  (4.19)
Spa  3.70/5  (3.70)
Specialty Restaurant  4.12/5  (4.12)
Staff and Service  4.36/5  (4.36)

 
  Get review alerts

Golden Princess
Golden Princess

The Golden Princess cruise ship is one of the more innovative cruise ships sailing today. Its deck plans offer lots of restaurants, theaters, bars, swimming pools and so on. The cruise line calls it "Big ship choice and small ship feel" Golden Princess is popular both in the Mediterranean and the Caribbean.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1158)
 
Get Onboard For A Nickel & Dime-ing!, December 1, 2014
Reviewer: MustavaLay
Pros: Stateroom and dining staff were excellent!
Cons: Run-down, special area access for more $$, kids zone unavailable & smokey
Date of cruise: 11-26-14
Departure port: San Pedro California
Region visited: Mexico
Cabin category: Jr. Suite
Cabin number: D115
Found through: Cruise line website
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
MustavaLay saw things this way
Value For Money   2.00/5  (2)
Cabin Design   2.00/5  (2)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   2.00/5  (2)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   1.00/5  (1)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

We had a terrible time over Thanksgiving which is my daughter's birthday, too.

The staff was generally unfriendly except for our stateroom attendant and our dining staff. The food was mediocre and sometimes poor. The pizza on 14 and sandwiches on 6 were awesome. There are reserved areas that cost more money to access, which is not mentioned on the website.

The balcony-suite was marginal, the bed was terrible, the pillows were bad and it was a bit cluttered with well used furniture. Our balcony was located right over the main smoking section and cigar lounge, making it much less usable.

Our bathroom began flooding our room half way through the last day and it took them two hours to send maintenance so our whole room (along with three others and the hallway) was completely flooded. After another hour, and several more calls, we were moved into an interior room with a single bed for me, my wife and my two kids. All this happened on my daughter's 6th birthday night.

The kids-zone was not available as advertised and it is adjacent to a smoking lounge. My kids have asthma so this was unusable.

The ship is worn and in disrepair. I read it was due for a refit in 2012, but it is apparent that did not take place. During the entire day in Ensenada they performed painting around the pool. They used an aggressive epoxy paint which made the entire pool deck unusable for my family. The crew were wearing respirators as they applied the paint to the deck. I can only guess they did this in Mexico because in USA it would be illegal to have the public exposed to those fumes.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byMustavaLay Get syndicated reviews byMustavaLay
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 1128)
 
Holiday spoiled by Princess, July 22, 2014
Reviewer: StanleyO
Pros: Ports of call excellent
Cons: Bad food, grubby ship, rude captain
Date of cruise: 2014
Departure port: Buenos Aires
Region visited: South America
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: E201
Found through: Travel agent's web site
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
StanleyO saw things this way
Value For Money   1.00/5  (1)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   1.00/5  (1)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

The holiday was made by the ports of call, without those it was a disaster. The ship was looking old and tired as were some of the staff. The captain was the rudest most uncommunicative person possible -- an attitude which permeated to some staff. The passengers were just an annoyance.

The entertainment staff did all they could to keep things jolly and the Captain's Circle host was brilliant. Standard of food was appalling, you'd get better standards at a UK roadside café...and a better chance of it being hot. Health and safety was obviously not a priority to the staff.

The photographers were rude amateurs who thought it a joke to flash cameras in your face when you said "No photos, please."
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byStanleyO Get syndicated reviews byStanleyO
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 1098)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excursion staffs are so arrogant with a confrontational attitude, March 20, 2014
Reviewer: allegory
Pros: Dining room staffs are excellent, cheerful and very accommodating
Cons: Overall ship services are lousy, staffs are not friendly at all
Date of cruise: March 1, 2014
Departure port: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region visited: South America
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
allegory saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   1.00/5  (1)
Fitness Center   2.00/5  (2)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Spa   2.00/5  (2)
Specialty Restaurant   3.00/5  (3)
Staff and Service   2.00/5  (2)

Unpleasant experience due to the confrontational attitude of the excursion staff. Missed Cape Horn because of a storm, but no further information or detail came from the captain. It left everyone guessing. Captain could have handled it better!!!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byallegory Get syndicated reviews byallegory
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 989)
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Found a bag of trash under the bed then the lamp by the bed had a short, September 9, 2013
Reviewer: fristtime74
Pros: Had a good time
Cons: Trash bag under the bed
Date of cruise: 9/1/13 -9/8/13
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: a237
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
fristtime74 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   1.00/5  (1)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   3.00/5  (3)

Trash under the bed
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byfristtime74 Get syndicated reviews byfristtime74
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 966)
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very good but could have been even better, June 26, 2013
Reviewer: geekguy1
Pros: Food, service and onboard activities
Cons: Tours, coffee, robes, coupon books
Date of cruise: May 26, 2013
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Travel agent's web site
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
geekguy1 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The Golden Princess is very similar to several other Princess ships we have been on (the Sapphire, Star, and Emerald) and, like the others, it is a very attractive ship with good use made of the cabin space.

This was our first time booking a balcony, and we were surprised and pleased by how large it was, with plenty of room to accommodate all five of us traveling together.

In the past we found that service has suffered, but that was not true on this cruise, with excellent service throughout. The food is still some of the best we’ve had on cruise ships, except the pathetic coffee they serve; fresh brewed coffee is available for purchase which I think is a poor way of attracting and maintaining customers, many of whom really like their coffee. For those doing Anytime Dining, it can be difficult to get a table during prime dining times (say 6-8 p.m.).

Princess should really improve their coupon books as there was nothing of value in either of the two different books we received. Also, it was nice to provide robes in the room, but they were so small as to be of questionable use. Perhaps they were washed too often and kept shrinking.

I am glad that Princess provided a venue for a Meet & Greet and extended an open invitation to the available senior staff. All three members that spoke were interesting and informative, especially Captain Bommarco. There were two last minute changes that I know not all interested cruisers were aware of, but sometimes changes can’t be avoided.

I hope that in the future Princess supports this even more than they do now, as does NCL (which reads, and obviously acts on, reviews and comments from reviews)and especially Royal Caribbean.

Once concern about cruising is having enough activities on board (for those of us who are not pool people), especially for the At Sea days and in the evenings. I’m happy to report that Princess is still doing well in this regard, providing many opportunities to play trivia (our favorite); watch movies in your room or outdoors (blankets provided); comedians and magicians in addition to the normal big production numbers; naturalist commentaries; karaoke and the Pop Princess competition; and music choices for all tastes to name but a few options.

One problem for the many people that enjoy listening to, or participating in, the Princess Pop Stars contest: the timing for this could not have been worse, with the final competition scheduled for just when we wanted to go to dinner the last night of the cruise so we could make the (Princess) tour we had booked. Instead we went to the competition and had to then grab a very quick dinner. Our last dinner on board would have been a lot nicer had the competitions been held earlier in the cruise with the competition final held the day before, which was at sea.

Our one disappointment was in Juneau where our whale watching expedition showed us plenty of spouts but no actual whales. Princess contacted the company on our behalf, and then said that any further correspondence should be between the tour company and us. For that kind of non-service and added cost, we will continue booking most of our tours independent of Princess. When we did contact the tour company, they graciously fulfilled their whale sighting guarantee.

The bottom line is we certainly enjoyed the cruise, but there are areas that Princess could improve to make it even better the next trip.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bygeekguy1 Get syndicated reviews bygeekguy1
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 920)
1 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
 
Better than expected, March 30, 2013
Reviewer: LadyTxgolfer
Pros: Always busy on sea days
Cons: None
Date of cruise: February 27, 2013
Departure port: Los Angeles
Region visited: Hawaii
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: Cruise line website
    
LadyTxgolfer saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Great cruise. The cruise director's staff did an excellent job of keeping us busy on sea days.

Zumba, line dancing, ballroom dancing and evening entertainment in the Explorer's Lounge was great.

Hawaiian cultural activities throughout the day - just to name a few: make your own lei out of real flowers, ukelele lessons, hula dance instructions, Hawaiian music in the atrium. Had more Hawaiian experience on the ship than actually in Hawaii.

The New Year's Eve party in March was quite unique and a big hit!

Service was great whether from the waitstaff or dining. For dining, request Henry -- you will not be disappointed with your service.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byLadyTxgolfer Get syndicated reviews byLadyTxgolfer
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 339)
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
An enjoyable and informative cruise, September 10, 2010
Reviewer: ericksonmjZO
Pros: A mini-suite and interior room were conveniently located right across the hall
Cons: Needed to get the correct elevator to get to a particular dining room
Date of cruise: June 2009
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Jr. Suite
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Travel agent's web site
    
ericksonmjZO saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This was an Alaskan cruise. My friend and I had a mini-suite with my daughter and granddaughter in an interior stateroom located directly across the hall! They were able to enjoy our sitting area and balcony almost as if it were part of their less costly room.

We all enjoyed the ongoing commentary by a naturalist during our glacier experience. The only real negative was that our main dining room was only serviced by one elevator. It took awhile to finally get this figured out.

All in all this cruise rated very high with all of us.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byericksonmjZO Get syndicated reviews byericksonmjZO
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 122)
12 of 20 people found the following review helpful:
 
I am a repeat Princess customer and enjoyed everything except the entertainment, July 18, 2010
Reviewer: Bill
Pros: I am never disappointed with the excellent food aboard Princess
Cons: I have cruised over 30 times and this was the worst entetainment ever!
Date of cruise: May 19-26, 2010
Departure port: Seattle, Washington
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: Baja 209
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
Bill saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   1.00/5  (1)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The registration to board was the fastest and most organized I have ever experienced. We had a balcony cabin which is so necessary on an Alaska cruise. We had a great cabin location thanks to our travel agent Jason Coleman.

I was so looking forward to visiting Alaska because it was the only U.S. state that I hadn't visited. I must say I truly did save the bast state until the last. The friendly people, laid back atmosphere, respect for visitors and the incredible scenery made this truly an unforgettable cruise.

The food on Princess cruises is always great and the "Anytime Dining" was the best. We never had to wait to be seated and the waiters were great.

The first port, Juneau, was amazing. We took the tram to the top of Mt. Roberts and took a lot of incredible photos, including an aerial shot of the Golden Princess, which I used for the cover of my online photo album and sent to all my friends when I returned.

The thing that really was a welcome surprise was not having souvenirs shoved in my face when leaving the ship to go to town. Also the salespeople were so friendly and not pushy like I have experienced in the Caribbean.

Going through the Tracy Arm Fjord was breathtaking. Standing in our balcony, enjoying some hot chocolate and taking pictures was an unmatched experience. Watching some of the glaciers floating by and then seeing this big glacier was breathtaking. I have never had such an awesome experience, and that includes diving into the Grand Canyon in Arizona in a six-passenger plane.

Our next port was Skagway. We took the mini-bus tour to the 3,292-foot high summit of the White Pass. Our tour guide was excellent and we were able capture a lot of the history and lots of great photos.

Our last Alaska port, Ketchikan, was great although it drizzled and rained throughout the day. We really enjoyed seeing the totem poles and learning about the totem traditions. We got to visit a lot of unique shops.

The last port, Victoria, B.C., was disappointing because we docked too far from town to walk and there was no free shuttle service provided, which would have helped since we only had a little over four hours in port. We talked with some of the passengers who took the Grand Victoria & High Tea tour and they said it was one of the memorable tours of the cruise.

The timing of this port was the worst since we were there from 7 to 11:49 p.m. This meant there was no entertainment or anything really to do aboard the ship. To me the last night of a cruise is always special with lots of fun activities, so it was a real letdown.

Speaking of letdowns...the entertainment was the worst. There were two specialty shows with each one repeating two nights in a row. There was no change of scenery, mainly singing with a featured performer who sang off key. It was the worst entertainment I experienced in over 30 cruises. Princess should be ashamed to call this a Broadway-type production. The entertainment is the one thing I always look forward to, but this was the biggest disappointment EVER!

Overall, cruising to Alaska is a must for the serious cruiser who is looking for an unforgettable experience.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byBill Get syndicated reviews byBill
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 13)
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
 
Loved the itinerary & restaurant staff., May 5, 2010
Reviewer: Rifiki
Pros: Loved all the days at sea. Very relaxing
Cons: The food. Most had no or very little flavor.
Date of cruise: November 2009
Departure port: Los Angeles
Region visited: Transoceanic
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: Cruise line website
    
Rifiki saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   1.00/5  (1)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Itinerary was great. Loved the many days at sea and the ports were all good. Food was mediocre at best except in the steak house, where we paid extra but got a lot for our money. The wait staff in all food areas was very attentive and personable. We really appreciated that portion of the dining experience. The cabins were also mediocre, some in desperate need of refurbishing and/or general maintenance. Will give Princess one more chance at a later date but definitely not the Golden.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byRifiki Get syndicated reviews byRifiki
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Top of Page
Questions? Free help from cruise experts at ExpertTravelAnswers.com
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise