Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Premium > Holland America Line

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
4.3 / 54.3 / 54.3 / 54.3 / 54.3 / 5
4.3 / 5

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews
Value For Money  4.20/5  (4.20)
Cabin Design  4.30/5  (4.30)
Entertainment  4.20/5  (4.20)
Fitness Center  4.17/5  (4.17)
Food Quality  4.40/5  (4.40)
Ship Maintenance  4.40/5  (4.40)
Spa  3.50/5  (3.50)
Specialty Restaurant  4.44/5  (4.44)
Staff and Service  4.89/5  (4.89)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.13/5  (4.13)
Cabin Design  4.15/5  (4.15)
Entertainment  3.77/5  (3.77)
Fitness Center  4.00/5  (4.00)
Food Quality  4.24/5  (4.24)
Ship Maintenance  4.13/5  (4.13)
Spa  3.91/5  (3.91)
Specialty Restaurant  4.31/5  (4.31)
Staff and Service  4.47/5  (4.47)

 
  Get review alerts

HAL Westerdam   new 
HAL Westerdam

The popularity of the HAL Westerdam cruise ship is best traced to an obscure nautical term: guest-to-space ratio. In plain language, how much room a ship devotes to guest amenities such as accomodations, public rooms and deck space.

Stretching nearly three football fields in length, and soaring 100 feet above the waves, the Westerdam ranks near the head of the cruise ship class. And, in a refreshing departure from the mega-liner vogue, the Westerdam uses all this space to carry not more, but hundreds fewer, guests.

The results? Gracious, attentive service. Easy access to fascinating ports of call. The opportunity to relax amid all those cruising luxuries you've dreamed of. Isn't it time you enjoyed the elegance and ease of a premium cruise ship?

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1316)
 
Very comfortable ship -- great space per passenger, February 5, 2017

Reviewer: daktam
Pros: High ratio of space/passenger gives ample room on decks and in lounges.
Cons: Nothing serious
Date of cruise: January, 2017
Departure port: San Diego
Region visited: Hawaii
Cabin category: Jr. Suite
Cabin number: 6153
Found through: AllThingCruise.com,CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
    
daktam saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

As noted in the "professional review," the Westerdam is unique in its providing a high ratio of space, relative to a moderate number of passengers. This gives us plenty of room to walk the Promenade deck (3) and upper deck (10) without crowding, or even having to walk up/down stairs while completing a circle (unlike some larger ships).

There is also ample room in the main entertainment theater (no reservations needed, but come early for good seats), and various public areas where relaxation and sea views are easy.

Our verandah suite (6153) was well designed, albeit "cozy" at 249 sq. ft. including a nice sized verandah with unobstructed views. It was also very quiet, had plenty of storage and closet space, and came with a DVD player (unlike comparably priced cabins on some other cruise lines). The flat screen TVs (at 21" or so) need updating, but were "watchable."

Cabin service was outstanding, and almost equaled by the great service in the main dining room and Lido Market deck (the best Lido Deck food and service we've had in 10+ cruises).

We also appreciated the cruise line providing us with space and equipment for duplicate bridge during the 11 sea days (out of 17) on the cruise, although it took a lot of "pushing" by bridge players and three professional bridge "directors" who were passengers and generously volunteered their services for free. It is hoped that future Holland America cruises will automatically include duplicate bridge, which is increasingly important to many cruise passengers.

Entertainment in the main theater was not as good as previous HA cruises. With a couple of exceptions, the entertainers were mediocre. The smaller lounges had better talent, especially BB King and Adagio.

One final comment is that even through some heavy seas, the ship's stability was very good, even in the rear dining rooms and our cabin, which was towards the rear. We would happily sail the Westerdam again.
(Review ID: 1212)
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Outstanding crew, delicious meals and very well managed ship., August 9, 2015

Reviewer: yeocom
Pros: It was everything we had expected and more!
Cons: Smoking should be banned entirely in the casino!!!
Date of cruise: 7/18/15
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Jr. Suite
Cabin number: 8090
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
yeocom saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We chose HAL, from our previous experience with them, as an upscale, good value cruise line. The Westerdam is an extremely well run ship with courteous, efficient and friendly staff. Its medium size made getting about and off/on the ship easy.

We absolutely loved the SY room on the Navigation deck. It was spacious and convenient to everything. The cabin stewards (Pitoko and Gede) took excellent care of the four rooms in a row for our family and they remembered everyone's name and always were happy and pleasant when seeing us. The formal and "neat casual" dressing for dinner was exactly what we wanted for our grandchildren to experience.

The food was delicious in all the restaurants. I suggest that the main dining room have some basic chicken or meat dishes available rather than always "gourmet" selections. The evening's entertainment was good clean family performances that we all enjoyed.

Although it does not have the activities (which we wanted to avoid in favor of elegance) of other cruise lines, our grandchildren ages 8-18 were thoroughly pleased with the pool and HAL Club. The number 1, and only, negative to report is the smoking in the casino--it should be banned entirely. To get to the main theater, you pass by the casino which stunk and left you smelling of smoke. Bottom line: Cruise with HAL.
(Review ID: 956)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Outstanding experience due to overall staff performance and amenities, June 6, 2013

Reviewer: c5driver
Pros: The staff was beyond words. The level of attentiveness and courtesy was amazing
Cons: The spa was a high pressure environment, upselling products and services
Date of cruise: 06/25/13
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Suite
Cabin number: 7151
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
c5driver saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We can't say enough good things about the level of service, cleanliness, quality of food at the specialty restaurants, ports, and overall cruise experience.

HAL should be commended for the Vista design! Except for the mandatory lifeboat drill, at no time (including disembarkation) did we feel like the dreaded packed sardine that seems to be on other cruise ships/cruise lines. The Westerdam captain, crew, and staff were professional, fastidious in their cleanliness, and extremely attentive. Just a world class ship and a great cruise experience!
(Review ID: 853)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
The ship has a terrible climate control system and temperatures rapidly vary, December 28, 2012

Reviewer: gr7745
Pros: Dining room staff and their service; night shows are very good.
Cons: Front desk staff is not good; easy to get sick due to the temperature variation.
Date of cruise: 12/08/12
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Outside
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
gr7745 saw things this way
Value For Money   2.00/5  (2)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   1.00/5  (1)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)

Although I am dedicated to Holland America I would not recommend this ship due to the above reasons.
(Review ID: 656)
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Staff was EXCELLENT; ship was clean and food was above average, September 29, 2011

Reviewer: kimimary
Pros: The staff is so kind and helpful no matter the time of day or need
Cons: Not enough activities onboard on sea days
Date of cruise: 9/17/11
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 8014
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for teenagers: No
    
kimimary saw things this way
Value For Money   2.00/5  (2)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   3.00/5  (3)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Overall the Westerdam is a great ship. The decor is beyond tacky, but that's a cruise ship for you. I'm not sure if the ship was at passenger capacity, but it never felt crowded at all, even during lunch time in the Lido deck.

I was very pleased with the room stewards and other staff. I don't know how they can stay so kind for so long. We got massages in the Spa...they were ok. Seem more to focus on the relax, use this cream, smell this lotion part and not the actual removal of my knots and tight muscles. Also, the spa is right next the only through-way to the lido deck...not really conducive of relaxation.

The food was good. Portions in the dining room are very managable...if you do open seating, be sure to make reservations every day...the chances of getting a two-top (if you're a couple) is very slim if you don't have reservations.

The Pinnacle Grill is nice, but the food isn't THAT much better than the dining room menu. I recommend it only if you want a change of scene. The overall age demographic is definitely retiree. Many Aussies and New Zealanders. Overall a great experience.
(Review ID: 605)
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very pleasant and enjoyable week on board., June 9, 2011

Reviewer: jebert
Pros: The staff kept us entertained, cabin stewards were excellent.
Cons: Dining room service was slow on occasion.
Date of cruise: 5/28/2011
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 8009
Found through: Cruise deal website
Good for children: No
    
jebert saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

Our first Alaskan cruise aboard the Westerdam was very enjoyable. There were plenty of activities to keep adults busy; whatever activities there were for kids or teens were kept well out of the way. The cruise director and DJ kept the trivia, game shows and bingo lively.

We used the open seating option in the dining room. The service was slow at times; one night took over two hours to eat. The food portions were kept small, so you don't have to worry about gaining too much weight if you don't want to. We paid $20 each to eat in the specialty dining room one night, but I don't think it was that much better than the standard dining room.

The late night dessert extravaganza was a disappointment; it was mostly cakes which looked great but were average in taste and texture.

The shows were very professionally done, and the performers were top quality. It's best to arrive early as seating can fill up before the show starts.

All in all, it was a very pleasant week.
(Review ID: 560)
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
A very pleasant 7-night S. Caribbean cruise on the Westerdam, March 30, 2011

Reviewer: rsholiton
Pros: elegant, tasteful, familiar
Cons: Last night dinner's attempt to amuse was lame. Not something HAL does well.
Date of cruise: March 18, 2011
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 4073
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
rsholiton saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

I sailed on the Westerdam on the March 18, 2011 7-nt S. Caribbean cruise from Ft. Lauderdale to Half Moon Cay, Aruba and Curacao. Having 3 sea days was one of the attractions for me. I did not disembark at Aruba because I have been there several times. On Curacao there was an interesting shore excursion combining a visit to the Hato Caves with a walking tour of Willemsted.

The food and service were as good as I have come to expect on HAL. The average age must have been around 70, which was fine with me. There were lots of Floridians and Canadians onboard. Many people were staying aboard for a second week with an E. Caribbean itinerary.

The production shows were a big improvement over HAL's shows of old. I thought there could have been more shipboard activities on sea days. There was no lecturer aboard, which was a pity. I don't like the location of the Exploration Cafe up on deck 10 abutting the Crow's Nest. The noise from the Crow's Nest activities makes reading a problem. On the Noordam, the Exploration Cafe is more private and conveniently located near the dining room. Although there were paintings in the Art Gallery, no one was staffing it and there were no auctions. (That's fine with me! Less bad art in the world.) When I asked at the front desk, they said service was "suspended." The merchandise in the shops seemed a bit shlockier than usual.

All in all, it was a very pleasant week and I can warmly recommend the cruise to anyone who prefers a quieter style of cruising.
(Review ID: 450)
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
We would definitely cruise again with this line and this ship, October 30, 2010

Reviewer: bgreene480
Pros: Staff and food were excellent
Cons: Our cabin was poorly laid out, kept hitting sofa when getting up from bed.
Date of cruise: Oct 13-25, 2010
Departure port: Piraeus, Greece
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 1111
Found through: Cruise deal website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
bgreene480 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   2.00/5  (2)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Generally, an excellent cruise. However, I would not upgrade again. From what I've seen the interior rooms were more spacious than the one we had.

This was an older crowd and whoever designed the entertainment should have taken that into consideration. Although the entertainment was generally outstanding, the choreography (when HAL dancers were used) all seemed the same to me.

I cannot say enough good things about the staff; they were wonderful.

I thought the shore excursions were extremely pricey and I would recommend that you hire a taxi; you can do it yourself much more economically. I feel the same way about booking air flights. I can do it more reasonably and I can select my seats. Booking through the cruise line locks you into the cheapest seats they can buy and you have no choice of where you sit.
(Review ID: 205)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Beautiful ship, wonderful crew!, August 23, 2010

Reviewer: Bazin
Pros: Never seemed crowded. Beautiful ship in every way
Cons: Nothing
Date of cruise: Mar 2010
Departure port: Port Everglades
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: No
    
Bazin saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

FANTASTIC SHIP!
(Review ID: 114)
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
We had a great time, the staff was excellent and we enjoyed all the ports., July 15, 2010

Reviewer: upforlifenow
Pros: The food in the main dining room was as good as the specialty dining room.
Cons: Cooking classes were canceled.
Date of cruise: 3/10/2009
Departure port: Miami
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: I don't recall.
Found through: Cruise line website
    
upforlifenow saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Holland America really knows how to get all the guests on and off quickly. Fastest ship I have ever been on.
Top of Page
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise