Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Premium > Holland America Line

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
3.7 / 53.7 / 53.7 / 53.7 / 53.7 / 5
3.7 / 5

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews
Value For Money  3.67/5  (3.67)
Cabin Design  3.33/5  (3.33)
Entertainment  3.63/5  (3.63)
Fitness Center  3.75/5  (3.75)
Food Quality  4.50/5  (4.50)
Ship Maintenance  4.00/5  (4.00)
Spa  2.75/5  (2.75)
Specialty Restaurant  4.17/5  (4.17)
Staff and Service  3.78/5  (3.78)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.13/5  (4.13)
Cabin Design  4.15/5  (4.15)
Entertainment  3.77/5  (3.77)
Fitness Center  4.00/5  (4.00)
Food Quality  4.24/5  (4.24)
Ship Maintenance  4.13/5  (4.13)
Spa  3.91/5  (3.91)
Specialty Restaurant  4.31/5  (4.31)
Staff and Service  4.47/5  (4.47)

 
  Get review alerts

HAL Nieuw Amsterdam
HAL Nieuw Amsterdam

The 86,000-ton Nieuw Amsterdam cruise ship interior design and art collection reflects the glamour and history of New York City, formerly called Nieuw Amsterdam.

Nieuw Amsterdam has new concepts such as the innovative pan-Asian Tamarind restaurant and Silk Den lounge surrounded by panoramic views overlooking the ocean expanse and the Lido pool. Other additions are an Explorer's Lounge Bar, a premium wine-tasting lounge, an elegant luxury jewelry boutique, new atrium bar area, enhanced and reconfigured show lounge, and a new photographic and imaging center.

The ship continues several much-admired Holland America Line features, including outside-view, glass elevators at midship; the Explorations Cafe -- a cyber-coffee house powered by The New York Times; the Pinnacle Grill and Pinnacle Bar; the innovative Culinary Arts Center presented by Food & Wine Magazine, where culinary experts provide cooking demonstrations and intimate classes in a state-of-the-art onboard show kitchens; an expanded Greenhouse Spa and Salon with thermal suites and hydro-pool, the largest gymnasium ever built for Holland America Line; and a youth facility that includes the teens-only Loft. In addition the ship features the family-style Canaletto's Italian restaurant.

With innovative design and guest offerings, the Nieuw Amsterdam IV continues the proud tradition of her name and continue to evolve of Holland America Line's sophisticated mid-sized ships.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1317)
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best cruise yet, February 13, 2017

Reviewer: Taner2011
Pros: The staff was exceptional
Cons: We encountered a few rude passengers, but staff handled the encounters with tact
Date of cruise: January 29, 2017
Departure port: Ft Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Suite
Cabin number: 8062
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
    
Taner2011 saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We couldn't say enough great things about the staff. Exceptionally good. The ship is very well maintained, although we were told it is going in for renovations in November.
(Review ID: 1287)
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
The cabin was extremely small, run down, parts held together with duct tape., September 12, 2016

Reviewer: sjfransen
Pros: Staff pleasant
Cons: People rave about Holland America but compared to Royal Caribbean
Date of cruise: Sept. 3-10 2016
Departure port: Vancouver BC
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 5078
Found through: Cruise deal website,Email newsletters,Travel agent's web site
    
sjfransen saw things this way
Value For Money   1.00/5  (1)
Cabin Design   1.00/5  (1)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   1.00/5  (1)
Staff and Service   3.00/5  (3)

From the minute you step on the ship you get the feeling the only thing the cruise line is interested in is "upselling" everything from dining to future cruises. This became even more apparent as each day the number of "flyers" that came to the cabin mail was down right criminal.

The company claims to be concerned about the environment and they do all kinds of water and fuel treatment however it is pointless with the obscene waste created by this form of advertising. In a paperless society, this cruise line should be ashamed of themselves.
(Review ID: 1197)
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good experience, May 9, 2015

Reviewer: a23882
Pros: Price
Cons: Expensive tours
Date of cruise: 4/8/2015
Departure port: Ft Laurdale
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 5033
Found through: Cruise line website,Travel agent's web site
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
a23882 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Nice ship. Attentive staff. Overpriced ship shore excursions. Poor menu selection in main dining room.
(Review ID: 1150)
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good value for the price, November 14, 2014

Reviewer: pinkone
Pros: Main dining room food was very good. Staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: Our AC was out for a week with our cabin at 76 degrees!
Date of cruise: oct. 27-2014
Departure port: Barcelona
Region visited: Transoceanic
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 5154
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
pinkone saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

This was our 11th cruise with HAL and the first time on this ship. Crew was all very nice and helpful. The food in the main dining room was very good. Public areas are clean. We've cruised with Princess and Celebrity before and prefer HAL. The Lido is not enjoyable to us as it's difficult to find seating and time consuming to get all components of your meal and have your hot food still be hot(usually cold) when you sit down to eat.

The AC in our cabin was out for a week before it got fixed. Front desk shined us on at first. When I went down in person and someone came to the cabin with me to check the temp (76) it was fixed within an hour.

We ate at all three specialty restaurants. The Asian (Tamarind) was excellent. The grill (Pinnacle) on this ship seemed to have kitchen problems. Overcooked seafood twice. Waitstaff was great. The Italian (Canaletto) was very disappointing, not good Italian food and waitstaff not attentive.

We like that there are very few children on board but I'm sure it depends on when you go and for how long the cruise is. Didn't attend all the shows but enjoyed the ones we went to. Still believe we get good value for the money and will cruise with them again.
(Review ID: 1082)
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
 
New and very pretty ship, January 27, 2014

Reviewer: orracle
Pros: Loved the art work on board, and enjoyed the enhanced dining options.
Cons: The Caribbean ports come to look so much alike!
Date of cruise: Jan 2011
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: Cruise line website
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
orracle saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Spanking new ship, big rooms, lovely food in the premium restaurants, and energetic staff. I like the feel on board - relaxed and happy. Shore tours ran smoothly, although they were the usual predictable ones.
(Review ID: 965)
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent cruise, great food, they might change a few stops on the itinerary, June 25, 2013

Reviewer: Janiecleo
Pros: Staff very helpful -- letting us change rooms and helping when luggage was lost
Cons: Drop Marseille from the itinerary; no one we talked to had a positive experience
Date of cruise: 6/7/2013
Departure port: Venice
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: AllThingCruise.com,CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise deal website
Good for teenagers: No
    
Janiecleo saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This was my fourth and best so far Holland cruise. Staff were so helpful: our room on the 8th floor (8135) was directly below the Lido pool area and it seemed that at night and early in the morning they were moving around furniture which kept us awake. We requested a room change and they moved us to the 7th floor (7131) which was perfect.

Also, my luggage was lost by US Airways did not show up for four days. They were willing to lend me clothing, gave me toiletries, checked on my luggage daily, and even cleaned my clothing for free. They also sent chocolate-covered strawberries to the suite for our suffering.

Cabin stewards and waiters were most accommodating, learning what we liked and making sure we received it. For example, I always had a pot of hot decaf tea waiting for me at my table at dinner.

We did not take advantage of any of the evening activities, the spa, any of the fancy restaurants, or the casino so I doubt we made them much money. We spent lots of time sitting on a balcony enjoying the view.

The excursions we did take (Dubrovnik beach break, the Amalfi coast, transfer to Florence, and Gaudi's Barcelona) were excellent, although trying to get a good seat on the bus is like a cattle call. The strongest and fastest got there first and got the front seat and the rest of us ended up in the back.

Also, it was sometimes difficult to hear the guide, and only once did they use the Magnavox system (in the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona) where the guide wears a microphone and the rest of us wear receiver devices with headphones. I have used this on other trips and found it most helpful, especially for those of us who don't hear as well or tend to be in the back.

The guides were also not consistent in terms of how we were to find them in crowds. The best held up banners or displays of the group numbers but some did not and were harder to find, especially in crowded places. Also, the tour buses are not particularly handicapped friendly and are difficult to ascend and descend; most have no handholds or railings for the disabled.

Holland America seems to have a dedicated following, and most people I talk to have taken multiple cruises with them. I certainly plan on going with them again as well
(Review ID: 552)
20 of 27 people found the following review helpful:
 
beautiful new ship with great service, January 28, 2011

Reviewer: marie
Pros: everything was well done
Cons: none
Date of cruise: Jan. 9, 2011
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 5138
    
marie saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The Neiuw Amsterdam is a beautiful new ship. Everything is very well done. The crew made an effort to give personal attention to all and to address everyone by their name.

Service was spectacular. We cruised the eastern and western Caribbean (14-day cruise). We would cruise again on this ship regardless of where it went.
(Review ID: 531)
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very nice cruise, mix of passengers,, January 8, 2011

Reviewer: pstoli2
Pros: New ship - very large balconies
Cons: Shore Excursion desk - not as helpful/knowledgeable as on other lines
Date of cruise: 12-19-10
Departure port: Port Everglades
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Suite
Cabin number: 6096
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: No
    
pstoli2 saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Holland America does a nice job of taking care of it's passengers. I often travel with my Mother, and the staff are always quick to help her in any way (i.e. carry her plates in the Lido). There seems to be varied activities for every taste.

Food was very good. The Pinnacle Grill was well worth the additional charge. This was a superior dining experience. Very talented and fun gentleman in the Piano Bar.

I prefer HAL's smaller ships, but it was nice to be on a brand new ship. This ship of 2,200 passengers had the same size public areas as their 1,400 passenger ship. There did not seem to be enough space to go around, particularly on sea days.

Cons: Tables line the area of the Lido where people are accessing the buffet - this it tight. Kids and teens in the adult pool/hot tubs, loud games and music in the adult pool area; the movie theatre was either too small or the seats too large, so that we were never able to see a movie - it was always full; not enough chairs for everyone at the main pool - many cabanas and tables line the area around the pool. There were many empty chaises, but they were all being "saved."

I booked a shore excursion to go to a particular beach specified in the description. I also confirmed it was going there (I had been there before and wanted to return) after getting on the bus, we were informed we were going to a different beach. Where we were taken was terrible - it was in a development with golf courses and condos, a manmade, small beach, crowded with people and children. The water was so murky we did not even go in. When I asked about this at the shore Excursion desk, they confirmed that the excursion did specify a particular beach. They were unaware that we were taken elsewhere. The manager said she would contact the tour company to find out what happened and get back to me. I never heard from them, and I was charged the $54 pp for the trip. This was very disappointing. I was okay paying for it, but would have appreciated the follow-up. I will not use HAL's excursions in the future.

Overall, this was a very nice cruise, always a wonderful selection of delicious foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent service and attention from the dining staff. Reasonable price/quality for wines by the glass. Very nice library, love the fresh orange juice and the popcorn from HAL. HAL remains a favorite cruise line for me.
(Review ID: 436)
8 of 23 people found the following review helpful:
 
Dining Room service was excellent; the rest was the worst we ever had, October 11, 2010

Reviewer: lguertin
Pros: Shows were good, and the dining room
Cons: Staff would cut off in front of everybody, not pick up stuff on the floor
Date of cruise: 09/24/10
Departure port: Venice
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 4189
Found through: Cruise community site
    
lguertin saw things this way
Value For Money   3.00/5  (3)
Cabin Design   1.00/5  (1)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   3.00/5  (3)
Spa   2.00/5  (2)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   1.00/5  (1)

It was our first time on Holland after experiencing Royal and Celebrity (which was to us superior to Holland. As we said, the dining room service and food was excellent. Shows were also real good.

But the staff was not up to par for us. Dishes in the hallways for hours, some staff did not speak English at all, would talk between themselves all the time. Ask for breakfast in room for between 6:30 and 7 a.m. Guy shows up at 6:05. No utensils for breakfast, never brought any back. Went to complain about it, the guy at the front desk did not want our room number.

For us it the last time we use Holland.
(Review ID: 386)
8 of 38 people found the following review helpful:
 
Worse cruise experience ever. They obsessed with extra charges, September 13, 2010

Reviewer: bcrum1
Pros: Nothing good
Cons: Service, food and entertainment all worst experienced in 28 cruises
Date of cruise: 8/8/10
Departure port: Barcelona
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 5037
    
bcrum1 saw things this way
Value For Money   1.00/5  (1)
Cabin Design   2.00/5  (2)
Entertainment   1.00/5  (1)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   3.00/5  (3)
Spa   2.00/5  (2)
Specialty Restaurant   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   1.00/5  (1)

Our ninth HAL cruise. Last two have been poor. Open seating on HAL means eat in Lido. Peddling water at breakfast in Lido instead of warming coffee!

Kids running halls outside staterooms (although experienced the same on an NCL cruise also sailing from Barcelona). In fairness, a previous Med cruise in '08 on HAL's Zuiderdam was very good. Seems they have changed a lot for the worse in two years.
Top of Page
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise