Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Premium > Celebrity Cruises
 

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
4.4 / 54.4 / 54.4 / 54.4 / 54.4 / 5
4.4 / 5

Average Rating based on 17 Reviews
Value For Money  4.35/5  (4.35)
Cabin Design  4.59/5  (4.59)
Entertainment  4.00/5  (4.00)
Fitness Center  4.31/5  (4.31)
Food Quality  4.47/5  (4.47)
Ship Maintenance  4.71/5  (4.71)
Spa  4.00/5  (4.00)
Specialty Restaurant  4.80/5  (4.80)
Staff and Service  4.53/5  (4.53)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.17/5  (4.17)
Cabin Design  4.06/5  (4.06)
Entertainment  3.69/5  (3.69)
Fitness Center  4.15/5  (4.15)
Food Quality  4.22/5  (4.22)
Ship Maintenance  4.09/5  (4.09)
Spa  4.02/5  (4.02)
Specialty Restaurant  4.29/5  (4.29)
Staff and Service  4.47/5  (4.47)

 
  Get review alerts

Celebrity Solstice
Celebrity Solstice

As you stroll among the expansive decks, you'll experience the rich color palettes illuminated by beautiful natural light, and revel in the extensive amenities - all delivered with the attentive service for which Celebrity Cruises is renowned. The Celebrity Solstice cruise ship is built around you and the way you long to travel. Voyage with us, on the newest of our Solstice-class of ships, and discover a refined level of elegance - an unrivaled experience making a distinctive statement of style and design. We invite you to learn more about the new features and venues as details are revealed.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 17
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1277)
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
Fantastic ship, crew and experience, July 2, 2016
Reviewer: AlaskanGrits
Pros: Space ratio, helpful crew, relatively great food
Cons: Nothing bad to speak of
Date of cruise: 6/17/2016
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Suite
Cabin number: 1614
Found through: AllThingCruise.com,CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
AlaskanGrits saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We really enjoyed our Alaska trip on Solstice and are convinced we chose the best option for us. The Captain is funny, guests informative, itinerary sufficient to get a flavor for Alaska and experience superior excursions and the ship was clean and pleasant.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byAlaskanGrits Get syndicated reviews byAlaskanGrits
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 1135)
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great staff. Waiter Savio was wonderful, August 13, 2014
Reviewer: eknirk
Pros: Daytime and evening entertainment was good
Cons: Various plans for drinks
Date of cruise: August 1, 2014
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Outside
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Travel agent's web site
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
eknirk saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Very nice trip. Had a variety of people in my group of 18 and they all had an excellent time.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byeknirk Get syndicated reviews byeknirk
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 1134)
5 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
This was the best cruise and ship we have taken, will do it again with this Line, August 13, 2014
Reviewer: mouse
Pros: very large cabin and bathroom, easy to get around ship, all personal were great!
Cons: Not enough CLOCKS posted so we would not miss any activities
Date of cruise: July 25, 2014
Departure port: Seattle,
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 3106
Found through: AllThingCruise.com
    
mouse saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This was our first trip with Celebrity and would go again with no hesitation. The cabin was large and comfortable, the bathroom could fit two people and there was a lot of cabinet space.

The service on board was excellent, anything we needed or asked about was provided. Taking the bags to the airport and delivering our baggage claim tickets and boarding passes was more than we expected and very happily accepted.

The quality of the food we can not say enough about. We ate in the buffet most nights because of the convenience of eating at any time we wanted to and the service was great, All the crew seemed so warm and friendly and helpful.

My only problem was I did not wear a watch and found not many clocks around the ship to check times so that we didn't miss the activities provided.

The shows were first class. The person giving the talks on the whales and other animals was so exciting to listen to and you could tell he loved his job. In fact, all the ship's crew seemed to enjoyed their jobs. The ship was beautiful and thank you for making our trip to Alaska one of the best.

Barbara Goldstein
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bymouse Get syndicated reviews bymouse
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 1116)
7 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
 
Poor customer service, no entertainment, bars closed, ship viberating always, June 6, 2014
Reviewer: Cookie0105
Pros: Food in the Blu restaurant was amazing. Service was better.
Cons: Nothing to do, we are 50 yrs of age - we are old, not dead... Boring....
Date of cruise: 23/5/2014
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 1599
Found through: AllThingCruise.com,CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site,Cruise deal website,Email newsletters,Travel agent's web site
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
Cookie0105 saw things this way
Value For Money   3.00/5  (3)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   1.00/5  (1)
Fitness Center   1.00/5  (1)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   1.00/5  (1)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   1.00/5  (1)

Where do I start:-

1: The Ship is badly laid out and very little information to help you find what you want.

2: There were very few things to do, if you didn’t want to learn to dance on level 3 or play bingo or go to the casino - too bad - that’s it.

3: Entertainment was pathetic - older demographic, yes, but we are not dead! Perhaps for the 50 years+ they think that I would be in bed at 7.30 pm at night and they don’t need to provide entertainment for us.

4: Internet was expensive and very, very, very, very slow. Their defense is they tell you it is slow when you purchase it. Well, if you know its slow then why don’t you make it cheaper.....

5: Bars were closed at many intervals during the trip. I went to four bars at one stage at 5 p.m. in the afternoon. They were all closed. The 5 bar had almost 30 people waiting and one barman. On our last day on the cruise so many bars were closed preparing for us to disembark the next day at 6:30 a.m. Well, my thought on that is if you are going to close everything down then only charge me for 6 days not 7 - I expect that it would be business as usual until I disembark....Poor, poor service. Celebrity, you should be ashamed of yourself.

6: The staff members (with the exception of a small few) were not happy and rarely smiled. No one went out of their way to be super helpful. I tipped 10 people on our last cruise with the Royal Card. But on Celebrity I did not tip one additional person.

7: The spa service costs were triple what I paid on other cruises.

8: Lack of information, lack of communication - simply disorganized. We go down to exit the ship for a day trip, only to be redirected two levels up and the other end of the ship because they had closed something. No sign to redirect people, no staff member in the lift to advise people... Simply chaos.

9. The lifts - you would wait and wait and wait.... Then we worked out if you want to go up to the cafe for dinner, it was quicker to go down and then come back up again, because they would fill up and you couldn’t get in.... there were triple the amount of people on the Allure and only a few more lifts, we didn’t wait as much on the Allure.

Finally, the amazing day trips in the mos incredible part of the world were the only saving grace. This cruise was the only disappointing week of my four-week honeymoon.

With the exception of the glass blowing display and day trips off the ship, I can honestly say that I was in bed by 9 p.m. each night and sat around waiting for the week to end.

We had been on the Allure of the Seas (Royal Caribbean) several weeks earlier, I did not feel any vibration on the ship at all, and it was amazing. On Allure there was so much to do all the time, the shows were unbelievably entertaining, and several to pick from each and every night. The bars had great entertainers/singers. We never waited more than a minute for a drink, the bars were always well staffed. I really cannot remember anyone that was not incredibly helpful and happy. On the Allure there was a screen on each level that would show you where you were, what was on and how to get there.

On the Solstice I suppose that is not required because there was nothing on...... anything to do......

The room was comfortable, they left on time and arrived on time, the food was good. END OF STORY.

2/10 - Travelers beware - if you want more - you want to be entertained - you want great service - you want fun - pick another cruise ship....

The surprising thing is that apparently Royal Caribbean and Celebrity are owned by the same company..... How did they get it so right with one and so wrong with the other?

Celebrity, I work too hard for my money - I will not be on another one of your cruises ever again.

Once bitten twice shy.

Michelle
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byCookie0105 Get syndicated reviews byCookie0105
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 983)
18 of 29 people found the following review helpful:
 
Of all ships traveled so far, Celebrity was the best and surpassed expectations, August 21, 2013
Reviewer: djsammarco
Pros: The staff, their organization in moving people, the food, the cleanliness
Cons: One or two staff in the photography department
Date of cruise: August 9, 2013
Departure port: Seattle
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 8237
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise deal website
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
djsammarco saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

I organized a trip for six people, two of whom never sailed before.

Thanks to Celebrity they all had a great time. There were plenty of activities for all with reasonable night entertainment.

The couple who was sailing for the first time said they would definitely do it again
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bydjsammarco Get syndicated reviews bydjsammarco
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 827)
34 of 53 people found the following review helpful:
 
It's all about the itinerary, November 17, 2012
Reviewer: nhlupine
Pros: Itinerary, price, cabin
Cons: Embarkation and disembarkation processes, jogging track
Date of cruise: 10/26/2012
Departure port: Barcelona
Region visited: Middle East
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 6154
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
nhlupine saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

The Solstice itinerary for our trip is why we selected it: Through the Suez Canal, with stops at Alexandria, Egypt, Luxor, Egypt, and Petra, Jordan. The price was excellent as well. The Oceanview Veranda cabin was spacious and well laid out, with plenty of storage.

TelevisionVgave us live CNN, CNBC and Fox News, which was important, as it was during the Presidential election, but most importantly NFL. There were live games and repeat broadcasts, several times a week. Some entertaining documentaries and movies free on demand. However, we did have to ask about NFL, or would not have known, as it was not in the daily program or on TV Guide, but reception gave us a schedule. Twice we had to call as the game was not being broadcast, but they resolved this within a few minutes and switched it on.

We ate all of our meals at the Oceanview Cafe buffet, as we do on all cruises. While the food was very good, it lacked in variety, mostly at dinner, considering it was a 16-day cruise. Perhaps most people ate dinner in the main dining room.

As on most cruises, entertainment was good, but not spectacular, except for the Cirque de Soleil-like show. The library was very disappointing, with lack of choice of both reading and reference books.

To walk to the Oceanview Cafe, one had to walk on the jogging track, which circles around on both sides, so could not be avoided. This meant weaving between joggers and walkers every morning to go to breakfast. Very bad placement for both joggers and others.

Smoking is limited to three locations on the ship, and they were uncomfortable and lacked enough ashtrays.

But the negatives mentioned above would not deter me from taking a cruise with Celebrity. But embarkation and disembarkation were despicable and that could influence further trips with Celebrity. Checking in, even though already online, was very slow. Leaving the ship, even though done by groups, was disorganized, and we started one way, as told, got in a long line, only to be told we could then go to another deck to get off, but after arriving there, found others coming from a different direction and cutting line in front of us, so the whole process was very annoying.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bynhlupine Get syndicated reviews bynhlupine
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 767)
23 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
 
Style, comfort and excellent service, July 3, 2012
Reviewer: AvN2201
Pros: Luxury travel at an affordable price
Cons: Service fee charged additional
Date of cruise: 16 June 2012
Departure port: Barcelona
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 7180
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise deal website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
AvN2201 saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This cruise ship has it all: Luxury, entertainment, excellent food and friendly staff. You are treated like a celebrity from the moment you set foot on board. The facilities are excellent, the daily program entertaining and the service of 5-star quality.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byAvN2201 Get syndicated reviews byAvN2201
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 694)
43 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
 
Overall, a great repositioning cruise., December 16, 2011
Reviewer: saltcay
Pros: The Food and Service was amazing
Cons: Nighttime entertainment could use improvement.
Date of cruise: November 28, 2011
Departure port: Barcelona
Region visited: Transoceanic
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 9340
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
saltcay saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The Solstice is a beautiful ship in design and decor. My Class 10 inside stateroom was still spacious and well designed with lots of closet and drawer space.

Dinner in the main dining room was always great, with one menu that stayed the same throughout the voyage, and another menu that was specialties of the head chef for Celebrity. There was always a great variety of choices. I did one meal in the Murano Specialty restaurant which was exquisite. The service was impeccable and the food presentation was perfect. However, I don't know if I would pay the extra surcharge to dine in there again. I was there as a guest of someone who earned enough points in the casino to exchange for dinner for 2 in a specialty restaurant.

The Hot Glass Show, presented by Corning was amazing to watch, considering you are in the middle of the ocean watching a glass blowing show. However, watching 2 shows a day, every day gets old.

The main entertainment onboard was not to my taste, however the Celebrity Singers and Dancers were great. There were also some small acts onboard that were fantastic. The dance band, Top Notch, was great, with two female lead singers that had more personality than should be allowed! There was also an a capella quartet that was great as well, but they only performed for 15 minute sets, then were done. For some reason, late night on this voyage was almost non-existant. The nightclub was open and a DJ playing dance music, but there were almost never more than 10 people there.

Of course there was always the usual trivia contests, bingo, and other games onboard, but there could have been more variety in their daytime activities. The onboard lecturers were OK, but nothing spectacular. There were times when I was just walking around trying to find something to do. However there were also some great times of just relaxing doing nothing.

There is not a ballroom like I am used to on the Cunarders, and the grand foyer was used for dance lessons. It is a small area and if there were more than about 20 couples on the floor, there was no room to move.

The Solstice class ships have the "Lawn Club" a real grass lawn on deck 15 where you can play lawn games such as croquet, bocce, and other games. This is also where the Hot Glass show is located. Playing croquet, barefoot in the grass, in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean was almost surreal!

The embarkation process was a bit of a hassle as the ship had been infected by the Norovirus and had to go through a complete disinfection before they would allow anyone onboard. Of course we weren't told anything about it until after we had gone through security. We would have been allowed to leave and go back to the port city (in this case, Barcelona), but that wasn't worth the effort. Unfortunately, the Norovirus was still a factor and several people had to be quarantined to their staterooms for 24 to 48 hours.

Of course, security is always an issue nowadays, and you always had to present your SeaPass card both going on and off the ship. We also had to go through airport style metal detectors every time we boarded the ship. However at some ports we had to go through 2 metal detectors, on on shore, then again onboard the ship. That was a bit of overkill and caused long lines boarding the ship.

Overall, it was a great voyage but I don't know if I would do a 13 night trip on Celebrity again. I think a 10 night trip would have been good for me.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bysaltcay Get syndicated reviews bysaltcay
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 612)
46 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
 
Wonderful ship with amazing crew and food!, June 24, 2011
Reviewer: vbrules11
Pros: Food, service, exchange rates, verandas
Cons: No $5 tables in the casino, not much for the 21-40 year old crowd
Date of cruise: June 7th, 2011
Departure port: Barcelona, Spain
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise community site,Cruise deal website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
vbrules11 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We had an amazing time on this ship. We sailed a Mediterranean itinerary that started in Barcelona and went to Nice, Florence, Rome, Naples, Montenegro, Venice and Croatia.

From the moment we stepped on board we felt very welcomed. The staff was there for any and all questions. We went straight to the Shore Excursions desk knowing it was going to be packed if we waited any longer. The agent was knowledgeable of all ports and what to expect. She was also quite charming.

The cabin was much larger than I expected. The veranda was a very nice size where four people were able to congregate very comfortably (we had guests we invited over a few times for cocktails). The beds were good, the TV is a little awkward but they made it so the flat screen could swivel. The bathroom was nice as well. Some might not like the see-through doors, but if you are traveling with your significant other, it won't bother you.

The ship has many things to do. The pool was always crowded with sun bathers and activities. The iLounge (internet), library and card room always had people in them. The Casino was very good. Andrea (casino host) was absolutely awesome and held many great tournaments on the sea days including slots, Texas hold'em and blackjack. Almost every day had a casino promotion.

The entertainment was great for those who are over 45. I say this as a 28-year-old who appreciates and grew up listening to my parents' Motown music but it just wasn't what I was hoping for on my vacation. The comedian, variety, and the Solstice final show were fantastic. The Corning Glass show was quite interesting. They made a 3-5 items per show and auctioned six at an art auction and gave away many more.

The shops on board are very good and very well priced. We priced out the cologne, perfume, and alcohol we bought on board and we saved about 20-50% of retail or what we would have paid at a Macy's or local liquor store. The only items not really marked down are the convenience store and the clothing. Also remember these items are duty free so there is extra saving in that! The shop personnel were amazing and quite nice. We saw them on many excursions as escorts or on free time and they have quite the story many of them.

The food on the ship was amazing. The options in the main dining room are plenty. I never had a bad meal during the 12 days there. The buffet was awesome for breakfast. The variety and the create your own omelets were great. They also made specialty pancakes and french toast everyday (blueberry and strawberry stuffed!). The buffet was also good for that mid-afternoon snack after an excursion when you have the late dinner seating.

One place that we discovered late was by the pool on the 14th deck which served burgers (regular, veggie, and turkey), nachos, wings, fries, onion rings, and a specialty of the day. It was great!

As for the specialty restaurants we only experienced Bistro on 5 which is a crepes place. OMG were they amazing. They have breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert crepes. Salads, panninis, and other items too. The Italian dessert was so amazing I ordered two. The cost here is $5/person, but the food is unlimited and amazing!

I really have very little bad to say about this trip. If you go on a Mediterranean cruise you get such a wide variety of people from all over the world. It was a great cultural experience and amazing to see how bilingual the world is. Also be careful if you are a sunbather as some Europeans forgot they were on a cruise ship and not a beach and were topless. This is not permitted, but I did not mind.

In conclusion, thank you for reading my post and I would highly recommend this cruise!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byvbrules11 Get syndicated reviews byvbrules11
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 600)
26 of 51 people found the following review helpful:
 
No rating for main dining room, ate in Aqua Class...excellent, May 31, 2011
Reviewer: selsey9
Pros: All amenities better than expected; service in cabins and dining excellent
Cons: Embarkation at Venice and Dubrovnik need improvement
Date of cruise: May 14, 2011
Departure port: Barcelona
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 1504
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise deal website,Travel agent's web site
    
selsey9 saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We had a wonderful cruise experience, probably near the zenith of 40-plus years of cruising.

Accommodations and service were as expected, excellent. The ports for the May 14 cruise leaving and returning to Barcelona were wonderful with the exception of Naples.

Kotor and Dubrovnik were new to us and both are recommended destinations. Our only negative was the lack of information if one was not taking a cruise-sponsored port tour.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byselsey9 Get syndicated reviews byselsey9
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 581)
29 of 58 people found the following review helpful:
 
It is an excellent ship, the cabin is nice with great layout., April 29, 2011
Reviewer: docaolien
Pros: Entertainment/service are GREAT!
Cons: Debarkation - 1-1/2 hours, the very worst experience.
Date of cruise: 4/17/2011
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Jr. Suite
Cabin number: 1646
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
docaolien saw things this way
Value For Money   2.00/5  (2)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The Eastern Caribbean cruise on the Celebrity Solstice was excellent! We booked two cabins in Aqua Class and the service was superb. Room attendants and Blu waiter and waitress are the best. Very attentive.

The entertainment each night also great as well. Nice size of the casino. Best of all, there is no smoking in casino or stateroom or balcony. Even though the rule is no smoking on balconies there are people who are ignorant about it. We had to report our neighbor to the guest relations desk about it. Celebrity took care of it and send us a bottle of French champagne for the inconvenience.

The Persian Garden room is wonderful place to relax. We loved every minute of it. This ship is a great ship. We had wonderful time in the port of San Juan port.

By the way, debarkation is the worst. A hour and half lost in my life for an unorganized and messy process. Regardless of the debarkation issue we would love to vacation on the Solstice again!!!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bydocaolien Get syndicated reviews bydocaolien
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 576)
24 of 50 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent Service, food and entertainment!, April 15, 2011
Reviewer: bkguido
Pros: Service and food
Cons: Nothing
Date of cruise: 4/3/2011
Departure port: Ft Lauterdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 1065
Found through: AllThingCruise.com,CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise deal website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
bkguido saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We have been on 18 cruises, having experienced Carnival, Norwegian, Royal, Princess and Celebrity. My experiences with both Princess and Celebrity were exceptional, and relative to the other cruise lines that we have experienced, both are by far extraordinary!

Recently, we cruised on Celebrity Solstice (4/3/2001), reserving a Concierge Veranda and the experience was nothing less than wonderful! The entire crew was attentive, courteous and tended to all of our needs. Their attention to detail was nothing short of incredible!

The officers were approachable, friendly and available to chat about any issue. Their staff was equally friendly, attentive and available. My cabin steward and her assistant were great. They never forgot anything, like our prior requests for soft drinks or extra towels, that we had requested on a previous night. As they are the personnel with whom we engage most often, their attention and service is most critical...they enhanced our experience! We were so impressed that we booked a future cruise certificate while on board.

The food in the main dining room was fabulous! Their head chef is incredibly creative, and ensures that all food that is served is beyond expectation! The spaciousness on the ship was incredible, as on the first and last days, where we had our meals in the buffet area, we did not have to hassle looking for a table, as is often the case with other cruise lines. In addition, when requesting extra towels while on deck, we did not have to "sign out" for the towels...nice touch!!!

Our experience was beyond excellent! We have chosen CELEBRITY as our cruise line of choice for future cruising!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bybkguido Get syndicated reviews bybkguido
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 515)
14 of 35 people found the following review helpful:
 
Food kills the whole cruise, December 24, 2010
Reviewer: razy
Pros: Beautiful ship, room service great
Cons: Food and food service poor
Date of cruise: 12/12/2010
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 8829
    
razy saw things this way
Value For Money   3.00/5  (3)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   1.00/5  (1)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   2.00/5  (2)

I would not be excited about using this ship again.....This is my 12th cruise
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byrazy Get syndicated reviews byrazy
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 214)
30 of 55 people found the following review helpful:
 
A beautiful ship designed for all ages, young and old, with great service, August 25, 2010
Reviewer: Tachristina
Pros: A very easy ship to get around and it never feels crowded
Cons: The pool area is a little too small, not enough lounge chairs
Date of cruise: July 4, 2010
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 1091
Found through: Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
Tachristina saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The Celebrity Solistice is a beautifully designed ship that is suitable for all ages. The service is 5-star as well as the food and entertainment. The gourmet restaurants have excellent menus and top-notch service. Select dining is also available now.

The Corning Glass Blowing show is very interesting and they give away pieces at most of their shows. The rooms are very nicely decorated and have wonderful amenities. The concierge level rooms have plush towels, upgraded bedding and pillow choices. The Spa is lovely and offers all kinds of indulgences. It has a state of the art fitness center with very nice equipment.

One of the nicest ports on this cruise is Roatan, Honduras. This is a beautiful, unspoiled destination with lovely beaches and beautiful turqoise water and reefs where you can snorkel right off the beach.

Costa Maya is also an unspoiled paradise at this time with a very quaint shopping area that is right off the pier. It even has a nice swimming pool in the middle of the shopping area with lounge chairs for your swimming and relaxation.

Grand Caymen and Cozumel are great destinations for snorkeling and diving with lovely beaches. Celebrity offers many tours at all of their destinations and they take care of everything for you.

The Martini Bar is one of many on this ship. There is also a crepe restaurant and a nice gelato bar. You can get ice cream, sorbets, sherbets, etc. almost all day long, too.

The shopping arcade is very nice and tastefully done with an array of all kinds of merchandise, from moderate to high priced items.

The Captain's Club offers many special amenties to their members such as daily cocktails, parties with the Captain and his staff, and continental breakfast in Michael's Club, as well as early embarkation and disembarkation, free internet time, coupons for bingo, gourmet coffees, the casino, the spa and even laundry service and drycleaning. You are also offered discounts on future cruises that are booked while on board.

The wireless internet cafe is great and allows you to stay connected during the cruise.

Travelling with Celebrity is an experience you truly don't want to miss.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byTachristina Get syndicated reviews byTachristina
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 171)
26 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
 
Beautiful luxurious new addition to an already great cruise line, August 16, 2010
Reviewer: LindaPaul
Pros: The interior design of this ship is sumptuous --- elegant
Cons: A little more costly than some of the other ships
Date of cruise: March 2010
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 1012
    
LindaPaul saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Being a Celebrity repeat cruiser I was wowed by the Solstice. It is so elegant and luxurious, especially the common areas. The food is uniformly excellent and the Asian speciality retaurant was quite a knock-out -- great sushi and great service.

The entertainment was, for Celebrity, pretty exciting -- a young jazzy singer, an a capella group, a shmaltzy 50's type performer and the usual Broadway-style review shows -- but generally better than the entertainment on the other Celebrity cruises we have taken. And, to my joy, I even won at the slot machines at the casino.

The pool, as usual, was crowded and there was an absence of pool butlers. The spa area pool was much pleasanter and had a lovely cafe with healthy alternatives. The Hot Glass Show was so cool -- highly recommended. The much-touted grassy area was just okay.

THe bars were very cool -- I liked the one that made special concoctions with foams, etc., and the ice bar was also fun. As usual, charming bartenders. Oh, and the coffee bar and gelato stand were very enjoyable!!!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byLindaPaul Get syndicated reviews byLindaPaul
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 132)
25 of 53 people found the following review helpful:
 
Enjoyed the cruise. Beautiful ship., July 23, 2010
Reviewer: thomas707
Pros: Great food and entertainment.
Cons: Balcony banister needed to be varnished. No plug outlets near the bed.
Date of cruise: July 11, 2010
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 7242
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
thomas707 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   1.00/5  (1)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Great ship with great food and entertainment. Loved the IMAC computer lab since we just got a IMAC and they gave free lessons on how to use the computer. The ITones quartet was fabulous!

Timing of room stewards left us with having to ask for things that should have been in the room upon arrival on board. Had to ask steward for items before bedtime three times (next day itinerary two times and duty free sheet).

No electrical outlets near bed so they had to use masking tape on carpet to protect the extension cord for sleep apnea machine. What - no duct tape? Looked tacky. They couldn't supply us with another extension cord to go around the room instead of over the carpet. I was not able to use my heating pad on sore back.

The acclaimed "grass" was being repaired and looked bad.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bythomas707 Get syndicated reviews bythomas707
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 95)
17 of 32 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great ship with a modern look and Celebrity's food continues to shine, July 9, 2010
Reviewer: jgold
Pros: Great bathrooms and larger verandas. Many food venues, ALL great
Cons: Entertainment is not consistent
Date of cruise: 11/2010
Departure port: Italy
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site,Cruise deal website
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
jgold saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   3.00/5  (3)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This was our second outing on Solstice. The first was when it was just put in the water, and they had to work out the bugs. I am happy to report they got those fixed and Solstice will continue to be great choice for future cruises.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byjgold Get syndicated reviews byjgold
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Top of Page
Questions? Free help from cruise experts at ExpertTravelAnswers.com
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise