Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Premium > Celebrity Cruises
 

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
4.4 / 54.4 / 54.4 / 54.4 / 54.4 / 5
4.4 / 5

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews
Value For Money  4.60/5  (4.60)
Cabin Design  4.30/5  (4.30)
Entertainment  3.67/5  (3.67)
Fitness Center  4.50/5  (4.50)
Food Quality  4.29/5  (4.29)
Ship Maintenance  5.00/5  (5.00)
Spa  4.40/5  (4.40)
Specialty Restaurant  4.33/5  (4.33)
Staff and Service  4.90/5  (4.90)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.17/5  (4.17)
Cabin Design  4.06/5  (4.06)
Entertainment  3.69/5  (3.69)
Fitness Center  4.15/5  (4.15)
Food Quality  4.22/5  (4.22)
Ship Maintenance  4.09/5  (4.09)
Spa  4.02/5  (4.02)
Specialty Restaurant  4.29/5  (4.29)
Staff and Service  4.47/5  (4.47)

 
  Get review alerts

Celebrity Eclipse
Celebrity Eclipse

The Celebrity Eclipse cruise ship will feed your wanderlust. Luxury and spectacular design are mainstays aboard this floating masterpiece. Exceptional service, as well. Whether you're being pampered in the AquaSpa Relaxation Room. Indulging at the main dining room, beneath a two-story glass wine tower and dazzling chandeliers. Or inside the Eclipse Theatre, enjoying the show.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1319)
 
Moderate but overrated, March 12, 2017
Reviewer: zinaam
Pros: Clean ship good customer service
Cons: Average food. Bad entairtnment.
Date of cruise: 02/14/2017
Departure port: Miami
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
zinaam saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   1.00/5  (1)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Celebrity is more expensive than other cruise lines, but it is overrated. It is clean, well organized but nothing spectacular about it. The food is average, it lacks variety . The itinerary was excellent and the service was above average. Rooms are smaller than other cruise lines.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byzinaam Get syndicated reviews byzinaam
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 1111)
 
Would definitely cruise this ship again, May 16, 2014
Reviewer: ssimmond
Pros: Service and food were excellent
Cons: Internet is an Apple store. Helpful, but always long lines for help.
Date of cruise: 4/19/14
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Transoceanic
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 1134
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
ssimmond saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

It's a pretty ship and the staff was friendly and truly cared. The entertainment was excellent. We thought with a transatlantic cruise it would be mediocre or repetitive, but it was varied and very good.

We had a veranda which we enjoyed, but there was very little drawer and closet space. Some of the storage was in a cupboard above the bed (not very handy). We enjoyed the cruise very much and had very few complaints.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byssimmond Get syndicated reviews byssimmond
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 906)
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
Celebrity continues to provide an outstanding cruise vacation, March 14, 2013
Reviewer: 56Spt80
Pros: Friendly staff providing exceptional service
Cons: The iLounge personnel could be more knowledgeable and helpful
Date of cruise: 2-23 to 3-9-13
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 9285
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
    
56Spt80 saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

My husband and I have cruised previously on the Eclipse in 2010 and have sailed on the Solstice as well. We have repeatedly cruised with Celebrity because of the exceptional service their staff provides.

The design of the stateroom bathrooms on these ships is extraordinary. The shower is actually larger than other cruise ships we've been on and the storage area for your toiletries is well thought out. We loved sitting on our balcony with its comfortable chairs and table.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews by56Spt80 Get syndicated reviews by56Spt80
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 893)
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
 
Why I Sail Celebrity, February 23, 2013
Reviewer: Trialawyer
Pros: Exceptional food and service.
Cons: Fair entertainment. (My wife disagrees: she enjoyed every show.)
Date of cruise: January 12, 2013
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: AquaClass 1633
Found through: Cruise line website
    
Trialawyer saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

My wife and I sailed on Celebrity's Eclipse on a two-week cruise to the southern Caribbean on January 12, 2013. We have sailed with Celebrity several times before, but this was our first cruise on the Eclipse.

About us. I am a trial lawyer and my wife is a personal shopper. We exercise daily as an integral part of our lifestyle and, except when we vacation, we watch what we eat. Trim and fit are two words which I think best describe us physically.

Here are some compelling reasons for you to seriously consider a Celebrity cruise:

1. Celebrity has the most progressive non-smoking policy in the mass cruise market. It is the only cruise line to ban smoking on balconies as well as in the cabins and the casinos. On the Eclipse, smoking was limited to a section of the port side of the pool deck, to the port side of an outdoor bar at the back of the ship, and to an outdoor bar on the starboard side on the deck above the pools. I heard no complaints from anyone.

2. The Eclipse itself. The Eclipse is one of five new, nearly identical S-class ships in the Celebrity fleet. I find myself speaking in superlatives about this ship. It is a big boat, over three football fields long, yet remarkably easy to find your way about. It has a passenger capacity of 2,850 and yet never seemed crowded. Pictures of the ship do not do it justice. A spectacular atrium towering 11 decks holding glass-enclosed elevators with a tree suspended in the middle is simply breathtaking. Eye-catching artwork is everywhere. There are many, many features of the Eclipse unique to Celebrity I invite you to look at on-line, but in a word, the entire ship is positively stunning.

3. The pool deck and the buffet restaurant. I single out these two areas because through its innovative design of the S-class, Celebrity managed to solve two huge problems prevalent on cruise ships: a shortage of deck chairs and long lines in the buffet restaurants. On the Eclipse you could arrive on the pool deck at almost any time on a sea day and still find plenty of prime seating. The buffet restaurant, called the Oceanview Cafe on the Eclipse, was cleverly designed with separate stations in the center so there were never lines. That's right, no lines. Celebrity also substituted various-sized plates for trays to eliminate the look and feel of a cafeteria you find on other ships.

4. AquaClass. We treated ourselves to AquaClass on this cruise and it is no surprise that AquaClass was the first category to sell out. The AquaClass cabins are ideally located high up and are configured and decorated differently than the other cabins. The balconies are large enough for two lounge chairs. The bathrooms have fog-free mirrors, enormous bath towels, and a shower with a tower of five jets to massage and rinse you at multiple body points. There is also a private entrance to the AquaSpa and fitness center, unlimited access to the therapeutic Persian Garden, and exclusive access to the Relaxation Room at the front of the ship. But best of all was the specialty restaurant called Blu.

5. Blu. This small and intimate specialty restaurant was exclusive for AquaClass passengers. It was our private dining room. The quality of food on a Celebrity cruise is generally superb, but Blu's special menu took the dining experience to a whole new level. Blu was open for breakfast and dinner with no assigned times or seating. The menu differed dramatically from the main dining room, as did the preparation and the presentation. The menus changed daily but the chef would prepare even dishes off the menu. And while the quality of service on a Celebrity cruise is generally exceptional, the service in Blu was the best we've encountered on any ship anywhere.

6. Cleanliness. The Eclipse wasn't just clean; it was immaculate, including, and maybe even especially, the public restrooms, which were fresh and spotless whenever we used them. Purell hand-sanitizers were everywhere, including smiling crew members to personally dispense a shot at the doors to the dining venues and to passengers returning to the ship from port. This is clearly a cruise line which cares about our health.

7. The specialty restaurants. Like most ships, the Eclipse has her share of for-fee specialty restaurants. In addition to Blu, we dined in two of the three. The Tuscan Grille, an Italian steakhouse, served me a filet mignon you could cut with a sharp look. It was as good as you will find in any Capital Grille on land. The popular and innovative Qsine, with its iPad menu, is so unique it defies description.

8. Captain's Club. Like many cruise lines, Celebrity rewards its repeat passengers with special programs, parties and perks. As an Elite member of the Captain's Club, we were invited to drink from a large menu of alcoholic and soft drinks at Celebrity's expense each evening. Other benefits included either complimentary or discounted laundry, dry cleaning, and Internet access.

9. Perry Grant. He is a flamboyant cabaret singer something like Liberace on steroids, who held court nightly on Celebrity's older and smaller Constellation for many years. I heard that Perry was about to join the Eclipse starting the cruise after mine so we missed him by a day. Perry is so immensely popular that some passengers book their cruises just because of him. You can watch videos of his performances on YouTube.

10. The crew. You will not find friendlier people at sea. During the entire cruise I never heard the word no. Moreover, I personally observed extraordinary acts of kindness and consideration from the staff towards passengers I found so touching I went searching for a supervisor to report them. If the stunning Eclipse is the exquisite body of Celebrity, then the remarkable people who inhabit it are its heart and soul.

There are many features of the Eclipse and details of my cruise I've missed, but I'm happy to elaborate or answer any questions for anyone who's interested. Just e-mail me at sdavid@lammrubenstone.com.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byTrialawyer Get syndicated reviews byTrialawyer
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 825)
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
Not bad if the price is right., November 14, 2012
Reviewer: ted3000
Pros: Newer ship, well designed cabins
Cons: Most of the activities are fee- ased
Date of cruise: October 2012
Departure port: Southampton
Region visited: Transoceanic
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 9178
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
ted3000 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

Very nice ship, well designed balcony cabin (9178)and seemed clean. Cabin air was very dry so left balcony door open at night to get some moisture.

Internet, which didn’t work very well, is 75 cents a minute, $4 bottle of wine at Sam’s is $27 and a glass of wine is $8+. There are drink offers available, all overpriced.

Over half the daily activities were fee only, many casino related. There are at least four fee-only restaurants (some $40 per person), the usual art auction characters hawking dubious "collectibles" and the broadway-type revue shows that are exceedingly bad with lip-synching.

The comedians on board were excellent, one from the US, one from Wales and one from Ireland.

Food was passable, buffet on deck 14 was good although every carved meat selection was extremely overcooked. They have everyone using hand sanitizer and then helping themselves to the buffets using filthy tongs -- strange.

Breads and pastries were not good, french bread tasted stale and the morning croissants were harder than my head. Very poor pastry chef.

All in all, for a cheap cruise, not a bad deal, wouldn't rush back though.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byted3000 Get syndicated reviews byted3000
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 729)
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great relaxing high quality experience. Loved Aqua Class!, March 30, 2012
Reviewer: pdmcvane
Pros: Service, cleanliness, Ship Layout, Food...So many items made this our best
Cons: Slightly disappointed with Murano. Waiter was a bit condescending.
Date of cruise: March 17, Saturday
Departure port: Miami
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Jr. Suite
Cabin number: 1642
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site
    
pdmcvane saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We have cruised with several different companies. Loved this cruise on Eclipse with Celebrity. We were soooo relaxed and didn't want the cruise to end. Everything was perfect. Booked an Aqua Class room and absolutely worth it. Loved BLU... We were undecided about booking drink packages and glad we didn't because because it gave us more flexibility with speciality restaurants and also with bouncing between ordering bottles of wine and martinis. QSine - a definite treat. The Sky Observation Lounge was perfect to see coming in and leaving ports. Wonderful views.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bypdmcvane Get syndicated reviews bypdmcvane
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 725)
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great music, March 1, 2012
Reviewer: ahsay
Pros: Excellent service. Band music also outstanding
Cons: High surcharge for specialty restaurants
Date of cruise: Feb. 18, 2012
Departure port: Miami
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
ahsay saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Live music provided by all the bands were excellent; there was plenty of opportunities for those who love to dance.

Staff and service was also good.

The specialty restaurants surcharge is high, and the quality does not warrant the charge.

We tried Tuscan Grill - their signature steak dish - the meat is not of the highest quality, and they did not even provide spoon for pasta.

Performances by entertainers were mediocre.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byahsay Get syndicated reviews byahsay
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 569)
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful:
 
Food and service were superb, staff helpful and courteous., April 14, 2011
Reviewer: rmlemons
Pros: We choose this particular cruise for the length and variety of ports visited.
Cons: Any medical attention cost extra and not covered by insurance.
Date of cruise: 4/2 - 4/9/2011
Departure port: Miami, Florida
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 7178
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
    
rmlemons saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Overall, my husband and two teenage sons enjoyed the experience. We were looking for a scuba diving vacation so you couldn't beat the value of visiting four different sites. The food and service were superb.

The staff was always friendly and helpful all the way down to the custodians. My 18-year-old son said that he was in an in-between age and couldn't seem to find people or things to do for himself. There was a teenage lounge that was active and appropriate for my 15-year-old. But there were always movies both in the auditorium and on demand in the room.

To cut down on expenses, we did share the room with our two sons, so it was a bit cramped and we expected that. We loved the pull-down loft bed and the couch turned into a bed, so during the day, their beds didn't take up space. That said, I (and a few other passengers I talked with) think that the rooms could use more drawer space. The few they had were small and was only enough space for one person.

My one criticism is that my husband sought out someone to just look at his ears (issues with scuba diving) and they said they would have to charge him $140 just to do that. Seems to me that if you have a doctor on board and you are in a foreign country, that you should be able to have free access to medical for at least minor issues if not all. I'm told by others that charging for medical isn't the case for all cruise lines. I find this a serious enough issue that I WILL check on that before cruising with any other line. I don't want to have to worry about the cost of any medical attention if I think I need it.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byrmlemons Get syndicated reviews byrmlemons
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Response

You will discover that most, if not all, major cruise lines charge for medical services. Some very small lines do not, but even most of those do.

(Review ID: 533)
3 of 20 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Aqua Class exceeded my expectations, January 8, 2011
Reviewer: RandiS
Pros: Loved the Persian Gardens, Aqua, the pillow menu and all the perks of Aqua
Cons: None
Date of cruise: 12/26/10-01/02/2011
Departure port: Miami
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
RandiS saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This new ship actually had that new ship smell. Although the New Year's sailing was full, it never felt crowded. Only crowded part was on the top deck on New Year's eve which was a fabulous party.

Loved Adrien, the maitre'de of Aqua....service was spectacular. The gym was full service but a bit crowded. The ports were great: loved the Mayan Ruins on Costa Maya and the beaches of Roatan. Would do this same cruise again in a heartbeat!

My kids, in their early 20's, thought this was the best yet, even though they cruise every winter!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byRandiS Get syndicated reviews byRandiS
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 340)
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
A fantastic ship with a great crew!, September 10, 2010
Reviewer: Susi B
Pros: Well designed, beautiful ship which easily copes with large passenger numbers
Cons: No trays in self-service restaurant.
Date of cruise: 21/5.09
Departure port: Southampton
Region visited: Europe
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 1154
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise community site,Travel agent's web site
    
Susi B saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We travelled to the Canaries, Madeira and Portugal on the Eclipse, staying in a concierge cabin. Although very large the ship is easy to get around and there never seem to be huge queues any where. The crew are friendly and highly efficient.

The main restaurant is lovely, we had "Anytime Dining" which I would highly recommend. The Murano specialty restaurant is well worth the supplement and is a wonderful treat. They are vying for the first Michelin star at sea and judging by our experiences they certainly deserve one.

The evening entertainment is varied and interesting. The theater does get crowded so one should arrive at least 10 minutes before starting time.

Disembarkation is particularly well organized and they mean it when they say they will have you on shore within 15 minutes of your alloted time. We are travelling on the Eclipse again next year and very much look forward to it.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bySusi B Get syndicated reviews bySusi B
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Top of Page
Questions? Free help from cruise experts at ExpertTravelAnswers.com
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise