Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Premium > Celebrity Cruises
 

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
3.5 / 53.5 / 53.5 / 53.5 / 53.5 / 5
3.5 / 5

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews
Value For Money  3.50/5  (3.50)
Cabin Design  3.40/5  (3.40)
Entertainment  3.89/5  (3.89)
Fitness Center  3.80/5  (3.80)
Food Quality  3.20/5  (3.20)
Ship Maintenance  3.00/5  (3.00)
Spa  3.50/5  (3.50)
Specialty Restaurant  3.50/5  (3.50)
Staff and Service  3.56/5  (3.56)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.18/5  (4.18)
Cabin Design  4.07/5  (4.07)
Entertainment  3.69/5  (3.69)
Fitness Center  4.16/5  (4.16)
Food Quality  4.21/5  (4.21)
Ship Maintenance  4.11/5  (4.11)
Spa  4.02/5  (4.02)
Specialty Restaurant  4.27/5  (4.27)
Staff and Service  4.48/5  (4.48)

 
  Get review alerts

Celebrity Millennium   new 
Celebrity Millennium

Consistently recognized with five and six-star rankings as the highest-rated premium cruise line, Celebrity is committed to innovative design, impeccable service and unparalleled spa and dining offerings.

Celebrity's Millennium cruise ship features such innovations as glass-walled exterior elevators, a specialty restaurant with a demonstration galley, a relaxing spa and a music library. The first of a new class of Panamax vessel, she allows Celebrity to expand its cruising areas. With new propulsion technology said to reduce emissions, noise and vibrations, she can cruise at 24 knots, to reach more destinations in less time. This luxury liner features a Michelin-starred chef; classic and understated public rooms that boast all the 21st Century amenities and are appointed with marble, etched glass, fine woods, polished granite and museum-quality art; top-notch entertainment and lavish suites.

The Celebrity Millennium is an excellent choice for your luxury cruise ship vacation.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1318)
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Beware, This Could Happen to you on Celebrity, February 15, 2017

Reviewer: techshark
Pros: Many of the Destinations
Cons: I got interrogated while being recorded on a bodycam.
Date of cruise: January 26, 2017
Departure port: Shanghai, China
Region visited: Asia/Far East
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 7028
Found through: Cruise line website,Cruise community site,Cruise deal website,Travel agent's web site
    
techshark saw things this way
Value For Money   1.00/5  (1)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   3.00/5  (3)

I want to let people know about my experience on the Celebrity Millennium. Because I complained about the horrible internet service and calling my room repeatedly after 9 p.m., I was (after being refused information about the purpose) summoned to Guest Relations put in a small room, interrogated and recorded on a bodycam.

When I complained to senior officers after I requested a meeting with them, I was basically told that this was fine with Celebrity and that if I complained again I would be sent off the ship so I spent the remainder of the cruise interacting as little as possible with the crew (my husband interacted including ordering my meals) as well as with other passengers.

This was a terribly upsetting experience. I think a bit like being questioned for a crime I didn’t commit. I woke several times in the night again upset about this and was uncomfortable just about all the time I was on the ship. I only really felt safe when I was off the ship and am OK now that I’m home.

I wanted to share this as widely as possible so people know this can happen to them on Celebrity as I would not have cruised with them had I known this could happen. BTW, Celebrity charges about US$100 for a load of laundry on the ship without any specials offered so be prepared for that.
(Review ID: 1248)
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Rusting ship. Tired staterooms. Average food. Uncomfortable sun loungers., February 5, 2016

Reviewer: Kevanr
Pros: Great house band, good entertainers.
Cons: The ship is decrepit, stern decks empty and rusting.
Date of cruise: January 17 2016
Departure port: Singapore.
Region visited: Asia/Far East
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 8135
Found through: Cruise community site
    
Kevanr saw things this way
Value For Money   2.00/5  (2)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   2.00/5  (2)
Food Quality   2.00/5  (2)
Ship Maintenance   1.00/5  (1)
Specialty Restaurant   3.00/5  (3)
Staff and Service   2.00/5  (2)

The Millennium is well past its best. The ship is old and tired. The stern decks have no facilities and the floor covering is torn with rust showing through. Rust is also a theme on the stateroom balconies. Stateroom furniture and linen is tired. In fact, furniture throughout the ship is worn and faded. Sun loungers were thin and uncomfortable. We joined the ship after norovirus affected the previous cruise. It was 3 days before we got robes in our concierge class stateroom. It took 5 days for the buffet dining to return to a normal service. The food is very average and while the servers work hard organization in the restaurants is poor. The entertainment was great. The director was first rate, the orchestra excellent and the artists were of a very high standard. The embarkation and disembarkation at Singapore was superb. The most efficient we have ever experienced.
(Review ID: 1118)
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
A very poor cruise experience on Millennium in Asia, June 10, 2014

Reviewer: patc
Pros: The crew did their best, as usual
Cons: See full review below
Date of cruise: February 2014
Departure port: Hong Kong
Region visited: Asia/Far East
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise deal website
    
patc saw things this way
Value For Money   3.00/5  (3)
Cabin Design   1.00/5  (1)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We were in an Aqua suite (1115). We found the cabin generally to be too hot for comfort and that access to the rest of the ship was made difficult by the location of the cabins. Our friends in 1124 suffered even worse problems, but they will write to you about that.

Let’s start with the tour to Hanoi, which involved a drive of four hours each way. The guide was good and did his best, but the buses were dreadful. The seats were entirely inappropriate for a drive of that duration and it was made worse in our case, because we were seated over a wheel, which meant I had my knees around my chin for eight hours. Not good for an aging back and knees.

Then there is the internet. Apart from the ripoff prices that Celebrity charges, there were several problems. I took three devices to staff to be set up, as requested, one laptop, a mini iPad and a Kindle Fire. While the internet worked on the latter devices, it never worked on the laptop. Second, the system was charging for being connected to the network even when the internet was not available. I estimate that it chewed up almost half of my $99 doing that.

Third, there was a norovirus outbreak, which, as I understand it, was due to some passengers boarding the ship with it and not declaring it. You might say it is their fault and, in a sense, it was. However, I understand that on other Celebrity ships, like Solstice, for example, for the first few days passengers are not allowed to serve themselves in the buffets. Had this been done on Millennium, there would not have been a norovirus outbreak. This means that the outbreak was due, at least in part, to negligence on the part of Celebrity.

How do I know this? Well, I am a lawyer; in fact, I am what in the USA would be termed a lawyer who specializes in litigation. Because of this negligence, everything that followed was, at least, in part, Celebrity’s fault.

I contracted a mild version of the virus, declared myself and was confined to my cabin for 24 hours, starting on the morning preceding my 60th birthday, which was why my wife and I were on the cruise in the first place. Thankfully, my symptoms abated and I was freed for my birthday. For that inconvenience, I was promised a discount voucher I could use on Celebrity. No sign of that voucher yet. In any case, such compensation is of no value to me, because we do not intend to cruise with Celebrity again.

To balance all this, let me say that the crew did the best they could, noting that many of them also were struck down by the norovirus. On the plus side, we enjoyed some of the tours, especially to Hoi An and to Halong Bay and the Zen Buddhism series by Marshall Stern was excellent, as was Mario D’Andrea. In fact, the entertainment was generally of a good standard.

Qsine was a pleasant surprise and that is where I had my birthday dinner. Olympic was a bit disappointing, the cuisine lacked imagination, but was okay.

Then we arrived in Singapore and moved into our expensive hotel, the Fullerton. My wife then developed acute gastroenteritis, due, in the treating doctor’s opinion, to norovirus. The doctor’s visit cost us $390 Singapore. My wife’s illness ruined our stay in Singapore and put her health – and mine – at risk.
(Review ID: 999)
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
 
Oceanview cafe staff poor, maintenance of ship poor, lack of detail & attention, October 12, 2013

Reviewer: jmysr123
Pros: Specialty restaurants
Cons: Maintenance and some staff in certain areas
Date of cruise: 09/22/2013
Departure port: San Diego
Region visited: Panama Canal
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 8109
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
jmysr123 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   2.00/5  (2)
Ship Maintenance   1.00/5  (1)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   2.00/5  (2)

After weeks being down, the Millennium was brought back into service for our cruise. The ship had paint on balcony windows, there were metal boxes in several places on the decks falling off walls. Overall cleanliness was bad.

The staff and service in the Oceanview Cafe were terrible. Ice machines were brokne in the back of Cafe. There was no one to be found for drinks and tables took forever to be cleaned, leaving everyone searching for seats as it was crowded.

We put in a special dining restriction request with Celebrity six months prior to the cruise and had to speak to four people on the ship to finally get to someone who we thought would help.

The specialty restaurants, Qsine and The Olympic, were outstanding. Food and service were fantastic. Bar staff in casino (Ari) and Cellar Masters (Elgebert) were great. Future cruise sales (Humberto) was very good also.
(Review ID: 801)
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
 
On the whole a good cruise, September 27, 2012

Reviewer: Lphs35
Pros: Best is Qsine hands down. LOVED food and service!
Cons: Olympic restaurant and ocean view cafe
Date of cruise: September 14 2012
Departure port: Vancouver
Region visited: Pacific Northwest
Cabin category: Suite
Cabin number: 6122
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
Lphs35 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   2.00/5  (2)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   2.00/5  (2)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

When we arrived in our sky suite butler was nowhere to be found, no fruit, many things in suite not working but head of housekeeping was extremely responsive and had everything taken care of immediately! Qsine restaurant is excellent but Olympic left a lot to be desired both in comparing food and service. Entertainment was great. Loved comedian!
(Review ID: 799)
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
Overall a very good experience!, September 13, 2012

Reviewer: snickerful
Pros: The service from the cruise staff was excellent!
Cons: We expected more from the food. Wouldn't spend $40 extra on specialty dining.
Date of cruise: 8/31/12
Departure port: Seward
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 7159
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise community site
    
snickerful saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   3.00/5  (3)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)

Overall, we had a wonderful experience on the Celebrity Millenium. The staff were friendly and very attentive! We enjoyed the onboard shows, especially the dancers!!

My husband and I were younger than the majority of passengers, hence most of the shows were geared a bit more for an over-50 crowd, still great though. The ship is 12 years old so there were some signs of aging but nothing offensive.

We really expected more from the food. We may be a little spoiled in this area but we found everything to be just "okay." We never experienced anything with the "wow" factor. We dined in one of the specialty restraunts (The Olympic) and it was better but still nothing incredible and not worth paying an additional $40 per person.

The coffee served was horrible! That was THE most disappointing thing for me. I didn't want to shell out $4.50 every time I wanted a decent cup of coffee. We were also disappointed that there was no late night buffet or more options other than pizza.

Again though, overall it was still a wonderful experience!
(Review ID: 662)
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful:
 
The 4 and 5 day cruises were one of our best cruise experiences, October 18, 2011

Reviewer: cruiseheart
Pros: Beautiful ship, great cruise director and staff, outstanding service and food
Cons: Cannot fault the Millennium on anything
Date of cruise: October 4 - October 13, 2011
Departure port: Miami
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 8086
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
cruiseheart saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Back-to-back cruises on the Millennium gave us nine nights which were still not enough. We had such a fantastic time, we hated to disembark.

Everyone treated us like family - cruise staff, wait staff, room steward and even the officers. The entertainment was great. The singers and dancers were some of the most talented and energetic we have seen. Food in the dining room and Ocean Cafe was excellent. Even the ice cream was extra good. The M&Ms and jelly beans were a nice bonus.

We appreciated the friendliness and availability of the officers. All onboard worked to ensure that we were happy and satisfied with every aspect of our cruise. Our daily planner was chock full of activities for us even when we were in port. The brunch on the final day was spectacular with ice carvings and a dizzying array of food choices.

Celebrity has always been one of our favorite lines and once again certainly met our expectations.
(Review ID: 317)
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good But Not As Impressive As Expected, September 8, 2010

Reviewer: 066027
Pros: Good Facilities
Cons: Dining experience was a let down
Date of cruise: 04/09/2009
Departure port: Vancouver
Region visited: Alaska
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 9019
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Travel agent's web site
    
066027 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

Generally the experience was as expected but I would like to discuss the areas below:

Excursions

This was a problem for us as my wife is disabled. We sought clarification from Celebrity's head office on suitable excursions but they took too long to respond so that by the time they did some of our excursions were sold out!! Head office staff seemed to be just reading from a brochure and had no hands-on experience of the excursions they were selling.

On-bard ecursion staff were helpful and disembarkation and embarkation ran well.

Dining Facilities

We ate in the Metropolitan restaurant and The Emporium specialty restaurant. The Emporium decor and food was nice but not worth the additional expense. The Metropolitan food was disappointing given Celebrity's reputation; it was okay but nothing special.
(Review ID: 271)
5 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
I found the ship comparable to Princess lines, September 2, 2010

Reviewer: LenKap
Pros: Good quality overall
Cons: A change in itinerary was made without prior notification and for no reason
Departure port: Sydney
Region visited: South Pacific/Australia
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
LenKap saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The cruise went from Sydney to Auckland and was very beautiful, especially the New Zealand portion.
(Review ID: 23)
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
 
Our cruise from San Juan was good value for money., May 13, 2010

Reviewer: karoggra
Pros: Take the trip to San Juan for the cheap cruises.
Cons: We didn't like that the late dining seaters had to go to the shows before dinner
Date of cruise: Easter 2010
Departure port: San Juan
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 9201
Found through: Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
    
karoggra saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   2.00/5  (2)

The ship is 10 years old and it shows. Public toilet doors could not be closed and in many public places one could see the signs of the age of the ship. Our cabin door was difficult to shut. The covers of the cushions on our balcony were covered in paint.

Our cabin steward really did not do his job: Leftovers from the previous passengers could be seen in the bathroom cupboard and I had to dust the shelves before we could settle in.

It is definitely not worth the money to pay the extra for Concierge cabins as the canapes every day are the same and the flowers consist of one stalk of flowers in three thin vases. There's no priority boarding and you'd be better off paying for a bottle of champagne (actually sparkling wine) on departure than pay the extra for Concierge class.

If you have ordered late seating, you should be aware that the entertainment, which we've been used to being after dinner on this ship, is before dinner. We missed most of the entertainment, as we were either in the gym or taking a spa treatment at that time. Both the gym and the spa amenities are excellent!

We had a lovely meal in the Olympic speciality restaurant (but at a cost...)but our daughter and boyfriend did not. During their meal, the staff were arguing, the food was late arriving and they didn't get what they ordered. It should be said that after complaining they had a fantastic meal with excellent service for free.
Top of Page
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise