Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Holland America

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
4.4 / 54.4 / 54.4 / 54.4 / 54.4 / 5
4.4 / 5

Average Rating based on 15 Reviews
Value For Money  4.40/5  (4.40)
Cabin Design  4.60/5  (4.60)
Entertainment  3.87/5  (3.87)
Fitness Center  4.58/5  (4.58)
Food Quality  4.40/5  (4.40)
Ship Maintenance  4.47/5  (4.47)
Spa  4.44/5  (4.44)
Specialty Restaurant  4.54/5  (4.54)
Staff and Service  4.73/5  (4.73)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  4.14/5  (4.14)
Cabin Design  4.22/5  (4.22)
Entertainment  3.76/5  (3.76)
Fitness Center  4.02/5  (4.02)
Food Quality  4.27/5  (4.27)
Ship Maintenance  4.19/5  (4.19)
Spa  4.00/5  (4.00)
Specialty Restaurant  4.26/5  (4.26)
Staff and Service  4.46/5  (4.46)

 
  Get review alerts

HAL Eurodam
HAL Eurodam

The HAL Eurodam cruise ship marks Holland America Line's newest class of vessels and at 2,044 passengers the largest ever constructed for this line. With 11 passenger decks, innovations include a topside 144-seat Pan-Asian restaurant and 50-seat lounge surrounded by panoramic views overlooking the ocean expanse and the Lido pool.

Other additions are an Explorer's Lounge Bar, a new specialty restaurant adjacent to the Lido offering Italian food,luxury jewelry boutiques, new atrium bar area, enhanced and reconfigured show lounge with theater-style seating, and a new photographic and imaging center.

Staterooms provide plush beds, deluxe robes, Egyptian cotton towels, flat panel TVs, DVD players, make-up mirrors, massage shower heads, professional grade hair dryers, fresh flowers and complimentary fruit baskets.

There are outside-view, glass elevators at midship;the innovative Culinary Arts Center; an expanded Greenhouse Spa and Salon with thermal suites and hydro-pool, the largest gymnasium ever built for Holland America Line; and a youth facility that includes the teens-only Loft.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 15
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1069)
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Eurodam's La Cirque is excellent dining. Would choose the cruise again to do it, January 26, 2014
Reviewer: Jacqueline
Pros: Beautiful ship, great entertainment, wonderful food, top-notch service.
Cons: Soft drinks should be complimentary. Silly to charge on such a plush ship.
Date of cruise: December 2012
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: AllThingCruise.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
Jacqueline saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Dining at Le Cirque a Memorable Eurodam Experience

Robert DeNiro watches over my shoulder. Sophia Loren, Rod Stewart and Jackie Onassis smile from across the room.

Of course, these are just historic photographs. But they do help set the atmosphere for “An Evening at Le Cirque” ($49 each) on our Eurodam cruise. Served in the Pinnacle Grill for only one evening on the cruise, the dinner presents a wonderful taste of Sirio Maccioni’s celebrated New York restaurant.

As a bit of history, Sirio developed his first taste for the New York restaurant business when he began working at the famed Colony Club as a maître d’hôtel in the late 1960s. In 1974, Sirio opened what soon became a New York landmark – Le Cirque, which literally translates as “the circus” in French, at the Mayfair Hotel.

Multiple locations and sister restaurants followed over the years as the Maccioni family – wife Egidiana and sons Mario, Marco and Mauro – could be found in the famed dining spots. Monkeys, circus balls and tent shades have become popular symbols of the New York restaurant.

So it was no surprise to see the red-bordered white dinner plates on our linen-covered table for Le Cirque on the Eurodam. Two whimsical cartoon monkeys eating plump cherries cavort around the rim of the plate. The name “Le Cirque” is arched over one of the monkey’s long tails.

But it wasn’t the ambiance alone that made our Eurodam evening special. The food was fantastic and the presentation was a feast for the eyes.

First we were first served an amuse of pate foi gras (goose liver mousse with rhubarb chutney). Delicious way to start a meal.

Next was the appetizer of Lobster Salad Le Cirque, poached lobster with haricot and citrus. Then came the Sweet Corn Soup. I’ve had corn soup many times but never as elegantly as this. On the bottom of the soup bowl were mushrooms, small kernels of sweet corn and ground corn fritters. Thick corn soup was poured over top for a meal in itself.

For our entrée, we chose chateaubriand, very tender and flavorful steak prepared tableside. Dessert was the well-known Le Cirque crème brulee. To tell you how good it was, I forgot to take a photo of the crème brulee until my dish was empty. At the bottom of the dish is a recipe for the treat. Alas, however, no photo of the lovely dessert itself.

After the crème brulee, we had even more desserts. Delightful little candy confections were brought to our table on a silver platter. Other diners were lingering over their coffee or after dinner drinks while we savored the sweets.

But that wasn’t the end.

Back in our stateroom that night, we found a special golden souvenir box from Le Cirque and a letter thanking us for dining there. Inside the box were two truffles. Those we have saved to enjoy at the airport when we wait for our flight home. A very nice reminder of a fantastic Eurodam dining experience.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byJacqueline Get syndicated reviews byJacqueline
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 958)
11 of 20 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good overall experience with the Eurodam and with this cruise, June 8, 2013
Reviewer: Cantravelers
Pros: The ports of call, the dining room food, and the sunlight from a verandah room.
Cons: The cruise is becoming a marketing venture for Holland America.
Date of cruise: May 2013
Departure port: Rome
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: ---
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
Cantravelers saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

There are many aspects of the cruise to like: the dining room food, the entertainment provided by the B.B. King Blues Band, the ports of call, and the service on board. The ship has a good quality gym, a small library, and a number of special features such as the evening display of desserts and the German food evening. Overall these made for a really good onboard experience.

The downside of cruising on the Eurodam is that it is increasingly a marketing opportunity - photos, alcoholic drinks, jewelry, clothing, paintings, higher quality food, gambling, raffle tickets, and shore tours are the subject of daily marketing. While clearly these onboard sales appeal to some passengers, they did not appeal to us.

There was onboard information about the ports of call available and it was often useful, but too often we found it incomplete for passengers like ourselves who prefer to tour on their own. Simple information like the location of and the distance to the train station, the location of the local bus stop, the cost of tickets, the availability of local day passes etc. was most often not provided.

The message is clear: do your own research or pay Holland America's high tour prices.

The gratuities. A common cruise complaint we are sure. At least Holland America allows us to set our own amount if we were unhappy with what they otherwise would add to the bill. We would much rather the costs of service were included in the cost of the cruise.

Lastly, the on board end- of-cruise survey. It asked for sensitive personal information but also asked for identifying information - an odd way to conduct a confidential survey. We were also told by staff at a meeting held the day before disembarkation, that although the survey asked for ratings from 1 to 9 (poor to excellent) anything less than 9 would be regarded as poor. A survey biased in this way is not worth much hence some of the critical comments in this review.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byCantravelers Get syndicated reviews byCantravelers
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 847)
42 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
 
Our Eurodam cruise was a pleasure that I would love to repeat, a top compliment, December 19, 2012
Reviewer: Jackieblog
Pros: Delicious cuisine, friendly staff, comfy clean cabins, beautiful ship, fun stuff
Cons: Charging $2.34 for a warm can of Coke is not necessary for this top-notch ship.
Date of cruise: Dec. 8, 2012
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 6046
Found through: AllThingCruise.com,CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
    
Jackieblog saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The carpet on the floor of the Eurodam’s glass elevator gives a hint of how relaxing this cruise is going to be. The rug is imprinted with the current day of the week.

“That’s so you’ll always know what day it is,” a fellow passenger behind me joked. “Cruises have a way of making you forget what day it is and even what month.”

How right he is.

When the Eurodam left Fort Lauderdale for our seven-day cruise, my sister Elaine and I settled into our stateroom with its classic décor, art-decorated walls and bigger-than-expected bathroom with both a shower and a tub. But what we loved most was the private verandah.

“If I never did anything but sat on this verandah and watched the ocean on this cruise, I would be happy,” Elaine said.

That is one of the grand things about the Holland America Cruise line. Each day brings a long list of possible activities on the daily Explorer newsletter delivered to our cabin. Guests can keep busy from before sunup to long after sundown. Or they can choose to do nothing.

Elaine and I did a little of both.

On this particular day, I counted 83 choices on the daily schedule of what cruisers can do. And that didn’t include all the shore excursions, plus the first entirely complimentary digital program at sea. From photo editing to social networking, the program partnered with Microsoft Windows lets guests move at their own pace in the on-line world with the help of a trained Techspert.

Launched in July 2008, the Eurodam is considered a mid-size ship in the new Signature of Excellence class. This new generation of ship has even more extras along with all the personal touches that cruisers expect from Holland America.

Public spaces on the Eurodam are both large and small. No reason to feel claustrophobic on the Eurodam. Panoramic windows everywhere keep the ocean always in view. A promenade deck is great for strolls. Even the landings on each ship level are large with plenty of elevators – including glass elevators that offer a thrilling scenic ride up and down the side of the ship.

But whenever you want to slip away for some quiet reading or to watch the ocean flow, it’s easy to find a quiet cubbyhole.

The Eurodam has a surprisingly large library with a librarian and about 4,000 hardback books. The spa offers the customary services along with a sauna, aromatherapy rooms, heated lounges and a large hydrotherapy pool. I particularly liked the pool with its strong jets and warm water. On our cruise, the spa offered a special – use of the spa facilities for two people during our eight-day cruise for $199. My sister and I split the cost and used the spa about twice every day.

Nightly entertainment is excellent as are most of the classes, seminars, games and other offerings each day. Shore excursions offer many choices and it is particularly helpful that each excursion has a level of difficulty note so passengers with mobility problems or limited energy can better choose what suits them.

Of course, a popular pleasure on cruises is dining. The Eurodam offers an “as-you-wish” dining concept that we chose and highly recommend because having an assigned dining time can sometimes be inconvenient. If we want to spend more time on shore or in the spa or just sitting on our verandah, we don’t want to be rushed to head to the formal dining room at a certain time. We usually showed up at the lower dining room – the upper level is reserved for assigned dining times – around 6 every evening and had no trouble being seated immediately at a table for two.

Food on the Eurodam is top notch. Always creatively prepared and presented with lovely little touches. For dinner in the Rembrandt dining room, I always checked the menu for “Master Chef Recommendations.” Can’t go wrong with those.

The Eurodam offers complimentary 24-hour room service, which is a welcome touch. The Lido was our choice for lunch and we found so many options. I liked the sushi and had it almost every day, along with noodles, vegetables, stir-fried beef and much more. The Lido’s salad bar was a meal in itself. Desserts were always good. My favorite – lemon meringue pie.

For snacks, the Terrace Grill offers hamburgers, fries and hot dogs served poolside. Slice Pizza serves thin crust pizza with a bunch of toppings.

Out of all the delicious meals I had on the Eurodam, the only two things I didn’t like were the butternut squash soup (tasted like melted pumpkin pie) and the price for a can of warm Coke (($2.24). Seems like soft drinks could be complimentary on such a fantastic cruise line. Since I don’t like Coke, I settled that problem by buying a couple of big bottles of Pepsi (99 cents) in San Juan and took them aboard the Eurodam, which the ship’s security said was fine.

To celebrate our sister trip, Elaine and I also dined at three of the four extra-price dining spots. The only one we didn’t try was Tamarind ($15), which we heard was excellent.

For $10, we headed one night to Canaletto, which offers classic Italian fare featuring seafood, grilled meats and pasta. The white-table clothed Canaletto is located in a closed-off section of the Lido which gives wonderful ocean views along with Italian operas in the background and delicious antipasti served tableside.

For $25, the Pinnacle Grill has exceptional aged sterling silver beef along with premium seafood and other delights. Comfy in a half-circular leather booth with tall backs, Elaine and I ordered Caesar’s salad which our server Cinthiana prepared table side. Cinthiana also cut and removed my lobster tail from its shell.. For dessert, we savored the grill’s baked Alaska, served with Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia ice cream.

For an extra special event ($39 each), Elaine and I spent “An Evening at Le Cirque.” Served in the Pinnacle Grill for only one evening on the cruise, the dinner presented a wonderful taste of Sirio Maccioni’s celebrated New York restaurant.

To set the atmosphere, historic photos of Le Cirque with the owner and famous guests were hung in the Pinnacle Grill room. Jackie Onassis and Sophia Loren were two I recognized. Elaine and I sat under a big photo of Robert DeNiro. Perfect!

We both chose chateaubriand, very tender and flavorful steak. Dessert was the famed Le Cirque crème brulee. Then after dessert we were served delightful little confections delivered on a silver platter.

The Holland America new generation of ships remind me of the old ocean liners with grand interiors and great works of art. The Eurodam reflects all the glamour and romance of the sea, along with modern technology. Luxury abounds, service is impeccable, dining is delicious and you always know that you are on a ship. After all, that is why most guests are here – for an ocean cruise where the mighty sea is the main star of the show.

In charge of this marvelous vessel is Captain Jeroen van Donselaar. Joining Holland America in 1986, he has been captain of Eurodam ever since the ship was launched. His most important task, the captain said, is to provide a safe and pleasant journey for everyone on board his ship. On our cruise, the Eurodam has 2,137 guests and 895 crewmembers – that tells you how intent Holland America is on providing comfortable hospitality.

“Our goal is to give you outstanding five-star service,” the captain said.

The Eurodam and crew exceeded our expectations. We were sorry when our cruise ended. I highly recommend the ship to any travelers and hope to return again someday. That is the highest compliment I can give.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byJackieblog Get syndicated reviews byJackieblog
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 716)
37 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
 
Higher-end cruise than the price, great food, generally older over-65 crowd, February 9, 2012
Reviewer: vande17941
Pros: Very nice ship, quiet crowd, great main dining room food
Cons: Pinnacle Grill is no better than main dining room and not worth the price.
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
vande17941 saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

A cruise line with the ambiance and atmosphere slightly more upscale than Carnival, Royal Caribbean, Norwegian, and Princess. Holland America Line caters to the older crowd, and prides itself on beautiful interiors, high-quality food, excellent service and lack of faddish gimmicks and/or flash.

This is not a cruise for those seeking to do on-board rock-climbing, surf a wave on the back of the ship, or party until the wee hours with anyone under 60. t is for those who want to relax in what feels like a high-end atmosphere... but for a budget price.

FINE DINING: Excellent main dining room food and staff. The Tamarind restaurant ($15-20 extra each) is worth every cent. Wonderful Asian-Pacific cuisine (don't miss the sushi, wasabe crusted fillet, or the giant chocolate fortune cookie desert) and a staff that is beyond wonderful. The Pinnacle Grill should be avoided; it isn't worth the money. In fact, we have twice witnessed rude staff and food that wasn't even close to on-par with the main dining room. The special Le Cirque dinner served at The Pinnacle proved to be a major disappointment. STICK WITH THE MAIN DINING ROOM AND/OR TAMARIND. You will be very happy.

BUFFET: Not so great. The main buffet attempts to provide a diverse cuisine, but rarely gets any of it right. It's fine for a quick snack. However, if you choose the buffet over the main dining room, you are missing out on what makes this ship great.

ROOM SERVICE: Wonderful. Especially for breakfast. Room service is offered 24 hours. Many cruise lines have discontinued this service.

The cabins: Beautifully appointed. Wonderful verandas if you want to pay a few extra dollars. Nicely decorated and well laid out.

The crew: Mostly Indonesian; some of the genuinely kindest people you will ever meet. t's as if you are on a little utopia island....if only the "real" world could be this nice, kind, respectful.

Entertainment: The string quartet is always good. The solo pianist and guitarist also have nice bar room shows. The main dancer/singer productions are CHEESY! The old folks love em, though. Usually, the ship has a special one-night act, such as a magician, etc...which should NOT be missed. The poolside band gets the job done and gets the gray-haired crowd groovin'.

Overall: If you want to relax, you have good taste, don't want to spend a fortune, want excellent dining room food, want the best staff money can buy, and on-board entertainment and buffets are NOT your priority, and you don't mind the quiet geriatric crowd...this cruise is for you!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byvande17941 Get syndicated reviews byvande17941
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 710)
28 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
 
The inside of the penthouse suite was perfect, verandah was in disrepair, January 21, 2012
Reviewer: RDBuchanan
Pros: The Neptune Lounge was very hospitable
Cons: The verandah on penthouse suite 7036 needed refurbishing and sanitization
Date of cruise: December 3, 2011
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Suite
Cabin number: 7036
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
RDBuchanan saw things this way
Value For Money   1.00/5  (1)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   3.00/5  (3)
Ship Maintenance   1.00/5  (1)
Specialty Restaurant   3.00/5  (3)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Beautiful interior, but nasty verandah. Before you book this suite, please make sure that the verandah has been completely refurbished and sanitized. There were workers in and out of our suite on four of the six days of the cruise. They dry-cleaned the lounge covers, painted the plant pots and rebuilt the sofa, but neglected to address the mold, the rust, the filth, and all the dilapidated wood surfaces. It was like stepping out from a pristine high end model home living room onto a dirty, run down, abandoned foreclosure verandah.

It's absolutely clear to me that the captain and his officers were either unaware or unconcerned about the condition of the highest revenue cabin on the ship. I can only hope and pray that the captain and his officers are more aware and more concerned about fire safety, proper navigation and passenger health than they were about the condition of our verandah.

In all fairness to HAL, there was compensation for our disappointing $10,000 cruise. They gave us an apology, a free Asian dinner for two, and an onboard credit of $300. They have not however, responded to my letter I wrote to them over five weeks ago.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byRDBuchanan Get syndicated reviews byRDBuchanan
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 671)
28 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best suited for an older crowd, November 17, 2011
Reviewer: HooterHunter
Pros: Ship is nice. Staff is friendly
Cons: Not for people ages 21-50
Date of cruise: 05/05/2011
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Southern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 6114
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise community site
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
HooterHunter saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

HAL does a great job of checking you in at the port. This ship is in good condition. Staff is friendly and helpful. Some of the bartenders were very cold to us. Food for the most part was good but as you will find out some of it was made for dinner the night before therefore it was leftovers. Not a lot of activities on the ship. Overall I would give it a 7 out of 10.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byHooterHunter Get syndicated reviews byHooterHunter
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 526)
28 of 50 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent cruise, enjoyed it very much, December 31, 2010
Reviewer: flyingfinn43
Pros: The food
Cons: Shore excursion desk needs work, short hours and no knowledgable personnel
Date of cruise: 18 Dec 2010
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 4076
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
flyingfinn43 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Overall, except for Shore excursion desk, it was a great cruise. Ports of call were interesting, food was great, entertainment was good and service was excellent. Room was nice.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byflyingfinn43 Get syndicated reviews byflyingfinn43
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 498)
31 of 46 people found the following review helpful:
 
This is a fine ship, spacious and well designed, December 16, 2010
Reviewer: topcop
Pros: Excellent service, good food, friendly staff, nice staterooms
Cons: Entertainment needs to be improved; do not like the big shows
Date of cruise: 12/4/10
Departure port: Ft. Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 1073
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
topcop saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   3.00/5  (3)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Sailed Dec. 4 with an upgraded inside cabin.

The cabin was very specious, located amidships so there was only one flight of stairs when returning from port.

Check-in took less than five minutes and at 1 p.m. our room was ready.

Found out there were two Lido cabanas left so for $199 we took one for the week. The attendants Romeo and Jayson made us feel like royalty. They couldn't do enough for us. Champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries every afternoon. They wouldn't even let us go to the Lido for lunch. Just tell them what we wanted and a little later it was served to us. Having a cabana meant having a place with shade. No fighting for a lounge chair. No need to, we had a big day bed instead.

Lido breakfast was the best. As you like in omelets, waffles, pancakes and eggs. Lunch was very good, too, but was disappointed in the evening selection. It was basically the same as what was being served in the MDR. I would like the opportunity to have something lighter, like a sandwich or even a burger.

The Lido tends to be a bit tight because they have set up tables and chairs along the small wall that separates the dining area. With people lined up in the serving lines, it makes two-way passage very tight and awkward.

We had an excellent magician, comedian and Celtic duo that we enjoyed. However, while the big "extravagant" song and dance shows are good, one would have been enough.

Michael in the piano bar was fantastic. He could play and sing anything on his electronic piano. Spent every evening there.

The ports were fine. We didn't too much in San Juan (never feel safe there). Explored a little of St. Thomas but loved Grand Turk's cruise port and Half Moon Cay. We cruise to relax and explore.

As for private islands, only Disney's Castaway Cay can beat HalfMoon Cay. Plenty to do. TIP - HAL is going to hate me for this but...grab a box (or two) of Cheerios while at breakfast and use it to feed the fish. You will have fish swarming around you and even jumping out of the water.

I love the fact that HAL ships all have a Promenade Deck where, in this case, three laps around equalled one mile. Makes for a nice morning walk.

In summary, wonderful cruise, great ship, you cannot go wrong with HAL.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bytopcop Get syndicated reviews bytopcop
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 474)
26 of 60 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent relaxing, quiet cruise the whole family enjoyed, November 25, 2010
Reviewer: sailnow
Pros: Balcony cabin in the spa area was great with use of spa area
Cons: 10th deck foward room was too far from dining room and theater.
Date of cruise: 11-13-2010
Departure port: ftl lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 10027
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
sailnow saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This was a family cruise but with no small children, all adults on a beautiful ship. The food was great. The balcony cabin was excellent, 10th deck Greenhouse spa area.

Entertainment was great. The dining room service was excellent and the food was great. First time to Grand Turk, nice island but small. Crystal clear water, great snorkeling, lots of fish.

The whole family enjoyed this Holland America ship. There is an older crowd with few kids on Holland America which was just what we all looking for, a nice quiet relaxing cruise with many things to do.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bysailnow Get syndicated reviews bysailnow
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 471)
23 of 43 people found the following review helpful:
 
Wow... very impressed with staff, cleanliness, and the FOOD!, November 22, 2010
Reviewer: aoeviper
Pros: The food was amazing
Cons: We weren't expecting so many "mature" guests
Date of cruise: November 6th, 2010
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 5177
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
aoeviper saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The ship was immaculate. This was our first cruise and it was fantastic...even though the weather was not so kind.

The most impressive thing in my opinion was the food. The main dining room menu was amazing, and the Tamarind restaurant (small fee) was absolutely wonderful as well. I knew that you could always get something to eat on a cruise, but I didn't expect it to be so good.

The room (Verandah Balcony) was very nice. Much more storage than we expected - and once we found out we could use the space under the bed too, we had more than enough room for luggage, clothes for a week, etc.

Being our first cruise, we still aren't sure if November is just the time for "mature" cruisers or if it is the ship... but we are in our early 30s, and the average age must have been 60+. It was not a problem, but just a little bit of a surprise.

Either way, we would definitely cruise with Holland America again, and we would be more than happy if it is on the Eurodam.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byaoeviper Get syndicated reviews byaoeviper
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 268)
10 of 29 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great value for the money, September 1, 2010
Reviewer: jddk302
Pros: Food by far exceeded expectation; great closet space; great front office staff
Cons: Entertainment could have been better; some Dutch crew members were rude
Date of cruise: August 8-19
Departure port: Amsterdam
Region visited: Europe
Cabin category: Suite
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
jddk302 saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Frequent cruisers on another line (Celebrity) thought HAL exceeded expectations in many areas including food, front office staff and overall cruise experience. Will definitely cruise with them again.

Entertainment was not too good, except for James Cielen whom was excellent. For a two-year-old ship, some carpets were stained and some areas looked too worn. Main dining staff was also excellent.

Stateroom (suite) was larger than it looked online with a lot of closet space. We also enjoyed the "As You Wish" dining option.

Leaving from Amsterdam there were a lot of Dutch cruisers. HAL responded by bringing on special Dutch-speaking crew. These crew members were rude to Americans while other crew members were nice.

The only other negative experience was with the Travel/Port Guide, Ian Page. He didn't know much about the ports. He even almost sent us to the wrong museum. Luckily we have traveled enough to find our own way. He was useless. Overall, though, an excellent experience and one I would recommend whole-heartedly.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byjddk302 Get syndicated reviews byjddk302
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 210)
8 of 26 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent value, great itinerary, cabin service not as good as Westerdam, August 24, 2010
Reviewer: snadolski
Pros: Excellent food throughout, lots of onboard activities
Cons: Cabin steward service was lacking compared to other ships, not so clean
Date of cruise: April 29,2010
Departure port: Civitavechio - Rome
Region visited: Mediterranean
Cabin category: Balcony
Found through: Cruise line website,Cruise deal website,Email newsletters
    
snadolski saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

The Eurodam seemed very similar to the Westerdam. The Mediterranean itinerary was excellent and getting off in ports was very easy and swift with one exception.

The food was excellent throughout and the wine service is nice in that they will let you save a bottle to have at another meal. Excursion desk was helpful as was the excursion expert who gave advice on doing things on your own.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bysnadolski Get syndicated reviews bysnadolski
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 74)
16 of 32 people found the following review helpful:
 
Of over 30 cruises - this was "average", June 25, 2010
Reviewer: shadow45
Pros: The ports we visited
Cons: The ship! The service was terrible!
Date of cruise: August, 2009
Departure port: Copenhagen
Region visited: Transoceanic
Cabin category: Inside
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
shadow45 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   2.00/5  (2)

We took the 28-day cruise that went to the Baltic Seas and then across the Atlantic via Iceland and Greenland. The food was okay - not Queen Mary 2 quality - but, okay. The entertainment was good. A major complaint is that there were NO laundry facilities. You could get only get your laundry done by the ship at incredible rip-off prices!!

The ship itself felt very confining - low ceilings. They "nickel-and-dimed" you to death. A good example is that they charged quite a fee for seasick pills. We have been on over 30 cruises and perhaps have been spoiled by lines that give you these as an amenity. The ship felt very claustrophobic - but, once again, compared to the Cunard ships, there just is none.

We have sailed on several Holland America Ships - the "smaller ones" - and really enjoyed them. I was very excited about the Eurodam - we even went to the Netherlands to watch her sail off on her maiden voyage.

For the first part of our trip, the promenade deck was closed for almost the entire time while repairs were being made. It was impossible to walk the promenade deck more than halfway.

We were very disappointed in the ship - and would not sail her again. Nor would we take the Niew Amsterdam because it, supposedly, is just like the Eurodam.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byshadow45 Get syndicated reviews byshadow45
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 54)
24 of 39 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best ship we've been on in 17 cruises., June 11, 2010
Reviewer: eddotaylor
Pros: Food top notch - can't be beat.
Cons: Need better info on ports we visited so we would know what to see.
Date of cruise: April 3, 2010
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale
Region visited: Transoceanic
Cabin category: Jr. Suite
Cabin number: 6097
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
eddotaylor saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The Eurodam was probably overall the best cruise ship we have been on in 17 cruises. The entertainment was above the best and all clean family entertainment. Entertainment lighting and sound were superb. Ship was smooth in the 9-day crossing of the Atlantic.

Food selection was extensive - the longest I've seen on any cruise. The food preparation, presentation, quality and taste were again exceptional.

Cruise Director was everywhere on the ship insuring all was going well. He was not slap-stick or corny or long-winded as some CDs are.

The ship never appeared crowded. There were no lines or queue-ups. Elevator requests were prompt.

This is definately a ship I would recommend.

I complimented the ship on its food and I did not mean only the dining room food. The buffet was far superior to any other cruise ship we have been on. Most ships' lunch buffets are boring after 4 or 5 days - this ship's Lido lunch buffet was never boring even after 26 days of cruising.

Edward Taylor
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byeddotaylor Get syndicated reviews byeddotaylor
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 37)
17 of 38 people found the following review helpful:
 
Holland America delivers with Eurodam, May 20, 2010
Reviewer: chlost
Pros: The spa is the main focus for me and the thermal suite and hydro pool are great!
Cons: Food at the Lido buffet started to be repetitive and boring.
Date of cruise: 2/20/2010
Departure port: Fort Lauderdale FL
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 5062
Found through: Cruise line website,Cruise community site
    
chlost saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   5.00/5  (5)
Specialty Restaurant   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

I really enjoyed our dinner at Tamarind and was again impressed with the wonderful service we received on board from our wait staff, room steward and spa staff. The thermal suite and hydro pool were the highlight of the ship for me. I also enjoyed walking the promenade deck and utilizing the mid-ship glass elevators - what a view! I didn't spend as much time as I would have liked on our balcony, but will rectify the situation on another cruise aboard the ms Eurodam in the future.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bychlost Get syndicated reviews bychlost
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Top of Page
Questions? Free help from cruise experts at ExpertTravelAnswers.com
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise