Ships & Ports  > Cruise Ships > Contemporary > Carnival Cruises
 

Submit a Review
Average Customer Rating
3.8 / 53.8 / 53.8 / 53.8 / 53.8 / 5
3.8 / 5

Average Rating based on 11 Reviews
Value For Money  3.82/5  (3.82)
Cabin Design  4.27/5  (4.27)
Entertainment  3.00/5  (3.00)
Fitness Center  3.50/5  (3.50)
Food Quality  3.91/5  (3.91)
Ship Maintenance  4.00/5  (4.00)
Spa  4.00/5  (4.00)
Staff and Service  4.00/5  (4.00)

Compared to averages for similar items
Value For Money  3.97/5  (3.97)
Cabin Design  4.03/5  (4.03)
Entertainment  3.51/5  (3.51)
Fitness Center  4.04/5  (4.04)
Food Quality  3.88/5  (3.88)
Ship Maintenance  4.08/5  (4.08)
Spa  3.90/5  (3.90)
Specialty Restaurant  3.95/5  (3.95)
Staff and Service  4.08/5  (4.08)

 
  Get review alerts

Carnival Glory
Carnival Glory

Carnival introduces a whole new spectrum of fun with the CARNIVAL GLORY cruise ship. She will be the most impressive and imaginative vessel in the "Fun Ship" fleet, in addition to being the largest floating resort ever to sail from Port Canaveral. Every convenience and feature Carnival's guests have requested most have been realized in her design, and every service and amenity you can imagine.

Dining. The Carnival Glory offers a variety of dining options including steaks and lobsters. You can also choose casual dining on the Lido deck.

Entertainment. Stroll from nightclub to show lounge enjoying Carnival's nightlife. A piano bar; rock, jazz, classical--and of course karaoke--plus comedians and "Vegas-Style" shows all light up your "Fun Ship". Featuring some of the largest casinos at sea, Carnival offers slots, blackjack, roulette, craps and more.

Carnival Glory also offers a complete range of relaxing spa treatments, and provides modern, well-equipped health clubs on board.

Displaying Reviews: 1 - 11
Sort By:  
(Review ID: 1096)
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
All in all an exceptional cruise., March 7, 2014
Reviewer: Teabags
Pros: Food & service plus other staff excellent.
Cons: Little opportunity to dance other than the disco. We prefer ballroom style.
Date of cruise: 2/23/2014
Departure port: Miami
Region visited: Caribbean - Eastern
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 1020
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
Teabags saw things this way
Value For Money   3.00/5  (3)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

The excursion in San Juan was the highlight of our trip. A little expensive but the "Rum Mixology & Salsa Class" was really fun. The guide, Ms. Daniels, was knowledgeable as well as personable, and the Salsa class was hilarious. Really enjoyed the Don Q visit as well as the Mojito and tapas served at the restaurant. Highly recommended for small groups of less that 12.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byTeabags Get syndicated reviews byTeabags
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 1076)
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Get what you pay for with bargain basement prices, January 27, 2014
Reviewer: klb
Pros: Cheap getaway
Cons: Service, food, atmosphere
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Inside
Found through: Cruise line website
    
klb saw things this way
Value For Money   3.00/5  (3)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   1.00/5  (1)
Food Quality   2.00/5  (2)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   3.00/5  (3)

After sailing on the Carnival ship, I have to say I would never go back again. Yes, the bargain basement prices are enticing to getaway for a week. Yet the quality of everything, from service to food to décor, is about what you'd expect to get from cheap prices. There is no surprising value for your money on this ship.

If you want to just getaway, might be right for you. If you have higher expectations for your money, though, sail on another cruise line.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byklb Get syndicated reviews byklb
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 968)
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
 
The worst...my 26th cruise on carnival alone, July 1, 2013
Reviewer: belladonnyd
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Not helpful at all
Date of cruise: 06/16/2013
Departure port: boston
Region visited: Canada/New England
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 1335
Found through: Cruise deal website
    
belladonnyd saw things this way
Value For Money   2.00/5  (2)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   1.00/5  (1)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   1.00/5  (1)
Staff and Service   1.00/5  (1)

I have been on 26 cruises just with Carnival...from the bottom of my heart this was bad.

I fell on the floor that was wet. Got hurt and Carnival just turns its head. I never got hurt on any ships I have been on in my life before. Their doctors took care of me on the ship but said to get it checked when I get home.

Well, I did and there is a problem and they don't want to hear it. All I was looking for is to pay the doctor bills, but now I have to get legal advice and take it from there.

If they treat me this way how do they treat the person who does not cruise that much. IM IN TOTAL SHOCK AT WHAT CARNIVAL IS DOING TO ME.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews bybelladonnyd Get syndicated reviews bybelladonnyd
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 898)
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
 
Newly refurbished - well done. Very accommodating staff., March 3, 2013
Reviewer: GRANTSO
Pros: We were especially pleased with the excellent service all over the ship.
Cons: We don't care for the push to have our picture taken.
Date of cruise: 2/17/2013
Departure port: Miami
Region visited: Caribbean - Western
Cabin category: Inside
Cabin number: 2322
Found through: AllThingCruise.com,CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
Good for children: Yes
    
GRANTSO saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

All six of us in two cabins had a great cruise! We especially appreciated excellent service from our waiter, Pravit, our cabin steward, Rodney, the cruise director, Josh (Big Sexy), and the maitre d', Enrico.

Foodwise, the dining room and buffet lines did not disappoint. We loved the seafood in the Fish and Chips area! Our 5- and 9-year-old grandsons had a fun time in Camp Carnival, making lots of friends, including the staff.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byGRANTSO Get syndicated reviews byGRANTSO
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 779)
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful:
 
Don't believe all the negative things you read, July 20, 2012
Reviewer: Nadinenurse
Pros: Staff
Cons: Activities for 19- 22 year olds
Date of cruise: July 12-16
Departure port: Boston
Region visited: Canada/New England
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 2423
Found through: AllThingCruise.com,Cruise line website,Cruise community site,Cruise deal website
    
Nadinenurse saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Fitness Center   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

Boy, was I HAPPY. I was worried from all of the negative reviews I read about the condition of the boat, food, etc. The boat was great. Yes, loud colors, but I actually really liked some of the couches and chairs in the main lounge. I went on expecting a horror but I and my family had a great great time.

The shows were a bit outdated, but comedians were funny, the movies under the stars were great. I was able to go to the casino and avoid some smoke, but did leave quickly. One side was non-smoking, but it did drift over.

The food at the buffets could be described as Old Country Buffet, Ponderosa, The dining room food was like any $25 a meal dinner resturant, think Olive Garden. Go with this in mind and you will not be disappointed.. go thinking you are getting 5-star Hilton food or $50 a meal food and you will not get it.

My son even tried the frog legs. Yuch, he said they were like chicken. That was in the mani dining rorom where we had great services and the waiters were fantastic.

My room staff were also amazing, would redo my bed any way they could as I could not get comfortable due to my back. The shower was adequate size, I even asked for and received a shower bench for my back. Bathroom was fine, all our stuff fit. Shower very hot with warning, be careful...

Room service: Shrimp salad very good but small, ask for two. Hubby is a diabetic so he needs small meals all day. We had room service three times a day to meet this need and it all came exactly as we ordered.

The ship was full, but I found empty spaces. I was in an outside area under the lifeboats reading for awhile. There were nice sea breezes and it was only me and my daughter and my Ipad for about 1-1/2 hours. Never saw another soul. Hard to believe. Everyone must have been at the pools which were crowded, too crowded to get by in a wheelchair so I did not go. Son went to work out; he said there was always a piece of equipment to use.

Our statemroom was great! No noise from above, below or the side, not even at night and we were right by an elevator. I could not have asked for more. It had many spaces for clothing and stuff, three closets, one with shelves, underbed storage for luggage, a safe to fit my Ipad, Nook Kindle and three cell phones and money.. yes, we had way too many electronics. We also had laptops which did not fit. Housekeeping staff wonderful, polite and quick...always had multiple towels.

Definitely will go again and on this boat!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byNadinenurse Get syndicated reviews byNadinenurse
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 761)
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
 
I could not have been more pleased with the ship and staff., June 20, 2012
Reviewer: jmeema
Pros: The experience for my 2 teenage grandchildren.
Cons: Due to mother nature, the embarkation was absolutely hideous
Date of cruise: June 3, 2012
Departure port: Boston, Ma
Region visited: Canada/New England
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 2308
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
jmeema saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   5.00/5  (5)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

This cruise got off to a rocky start due to the weather and the whale migration. Honestly by the time we got onto the ship, all that was forgotten. The ship was beautiful and immaculate. We were a group of 4, my husband and I and 2 teenage grandchildren. Honestly I was not looking forward to sharing a cabin with 2 teenagers,but the cabin was spacious. My husband and I had a king sized bed and the kids were on bunk beds. there was plenty of closet and drawer space. Our cabin stewards were fabulous and friendly. My husband loves the Lido deck(9) for breakfast lunch and dinner. We spent very little time in the formal dining room. We are frequent cruisers and this is just our preference. The food was always tasty and plentiful. I love the seating arrangements on this cruise. The way the booths are placed on the Lido deck gives as many diners as possible a lovely view of the ocean while they eat. On my one opportunity to visit the guest service desk, the staff was friendly and helpful. What made me happiest of all on this cruise were the camps for the teenagers. Because of their ages they went to 2 different camps and they both had a blast. They both made friends that they are still in contact with by Facebook. The camp counselors were both very nice people.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byjmeema Get syndicated reviews byjmeema
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 758)
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Time on the Carnival Glory to the Bahamas in May 2012, June 11, 2012
Reviewer: jaugusti1950
Pros: The Food and the Ports
Cons: Choice of Cabin, Debarkation
Date of cruise: May 15-21, 2012
Departure port: Norfolk, VA
Region visited: Bahamas
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 7446
Found through: CruiseCompete.com,Cruise line website
    
jaugusti1950 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

We sailed the Carnival Glory out of Norfolk, VA from May 15-20 (6 nights), 2012. We live in Richmond, VA, so found it very convenient to drive to Norfolk (1.5 hours) and park the car.

1st Note: don't use the recommended cruise parking lot - it's a long ways off and expensive, while there are parking ramps right nearby! If you do use the cruiseport parking, the shuttle is a long haul (they wait until they are loaded up before they leave and return). We wound up taking a cab to the lot after disembarking. Also note that the majority of cruise passengers live close by, so upon disembarkation, the port is crowded with people trying to get to the parking lot! If you use cruise parking lot, best bet is to drop your luggage off first and then go to the lot before embarkation.

Embarkation was fairly smooth and we were on the ship by 1 PM, but debarkation was a nightmare. Most everyone (because they are from close by) chooses to take their luggage with them off the ship, and they are called first, but by deck number. For some reason, Customs took a long time to clear the ship, and they didn't even start disembarking until 9 AM - and then they were so SLOW. It was a very cumbersome process - not as smooth as most cruises we've been on.

Ports were great - super shopping in Nassau and we took a bottom fishing excursion in Freeport (fun fun fun)! BUT be advised that May is the start of the rainy season in the Bahamas. We were lucky to have only one rainy day in Nassau (unfortunately had to miss our Safari Jeep Excursion, so we shopped instead). But the cruise right after ours was not so fortunate. They hit a tropical storm and rain the whole trip. Always bring umbrellas and rain ponchos!

Notes on the cabin choice: We wanted to try an aft extended balcony cabin (specifically #7446), and the large balcony was very nice to have. BUT we were two decks below the Lido buffet and 3 decks above the restaurant, so around 11 PM - 12 AM we got an awful oily, greasy, smell in our cabin coming through the A/C ducts. They responded very quickly to our complaint, however (sent crew up to verify and ultimately gave us some cabin credit). Other folks in cabins close to ours experienced the same problem, but did not complain; therefore, they suffered through it with no compensation. Our advice: if you are unhappy with something, complain about it! It took a bit of work/time on our part, but once we spoke to the Manager of Operations, something was done for us! Make sure your cabin is not directly above or below food sources.

The cabin itself was roomy, with lots of storage space, especially in the bathroom, which is imperative! We just asked for extra hangers and our steward brought them right away.

This ship offers “anytime dining”, and because we love this type of casual cruising (our favorite line of the ones we’ve sailed is Norwegian, for that reason), we signed up for it. We didn’t really have to wait too long for our meals, but there were times when the lines were long. Of 2 large dining rooms, 2 floors each, only one floor of one dining room (25% of space) is set aside for anytime dining passengers. This is really not enough. On Celebrity, they have this option, but you can eat in any dining room you choose. ALSO, on the subject of dining: this ship appears to schedule its dining room hours at their convenience (make sure you always check the daily bulletin for the next day’s dining room hours - they CHANGE, especially on port days)!

Restaurants: This ship has the most unbelievable Delicatessen; we ate there a number of times! We loved it, as well as the sushi bar and burrito bar (ALL FREE)!

We had made a reservation at the Steakhouse, but after looking at the menu, we cancelled it. It cost $30 per person, and it just wasn’t worth it. They have HUGE steaks (18 oz., you’ve got to be kidding), lobster tail, lamb chops, etc. (but we got lobster and prime rib in the dining room). They appear to favor Quantity over Quality choices!

A note to Carnival: Add the in-room TV movie times to the bulletin. We had to call the Front Desk to find out when they played. Not a big deal, but a minor annoyance.

We would do this cruise again, just to get away for a week without any major travel hassle (so nice not to have to check baggage and be at the whim of an airline)!

We are just very sorry that the other cruise lines left Norfolk to go up to Baltimore. But we’ll try one out of there soon!

Excursions: Because of rain all day, our excusion (Jeep Safari) got cancelled. So we wound up going back to the ship early. We were in Nassau two days (we understand that this cruise is going to decrease by one night in 2013, so will only be in Nassau one day). We spent the next day shopping, which is fantastic. Great jewelry buys (don't be afraid to negotiate and/or walk away if the price is too high - there is a huge markup!). We found an Internet Cafe and checked our email (we don't pay the exorbitant Internet prices on the ship, because the speed is extremely slow). We also found a good restaurant (there are many) for lunch.

We had the perfect day - not too hot and a bit overcast, so the sun wasn't beating down on us. The fishing expedition was so much fun! We all caught at least one fish (small ones, unfortunately, but fun just the same). The Captain and Crew were great and very patient with those of us who had never done this before. It was just a great day out on the water (covered boat, so didn't have to worry about sprinkles/rain). We would definitely recommend this excursion.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byjaugusti1950 Get syndicated reviews byjaugusti1950
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 654)
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
 
Horrible buffet, September 19, 2011
Reviewer: Beanbagfrog
Pros: Entertainment was fair; magician and comics were very good.
Cons: Absolutely the worst food I've ever eaten on a buffet.
Date of cruise: 9/5/11
Departure port: New York
Region visited: Canada/New England
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 1248
Good for children: No
Good for teenagers: No
    
Beanbagfrog saw things this way
Value For Money   1.00/5  (1)
Cabin Design   3.00/5  (3)
Entertainment   3.00/5  (3)
Food Quality   1.00/5  (1)
Ship Maintenance   2.00/5  (2)
Staff and Service   2.00/5  (2)

Old ship, outdated design, most shows and entertainment marginal; one show and comics very good.

Dining room food ICE COLD and just fair in quality; we had the dine as you like plan, come between 5:30 and 9:30; what they don't say is you wait for an hour, half an hour to get to the hostess, who then gives you a beeper, like Applebee's and you wait another half hour for it to go off; then she seats us in the back, next to the kitchen entrance. We got there at 5 p.m. and waited one night just to get a decent seat, and I had to ask for a nice seat as she was going to stick us right back there, even though the place was EMPTY.

Buffet food was disgusting, cold, flavorless and the cheapest quality they could find. It made Sizzler look like four-star restaurant. Room service was just sandwiches and cold breakfast items. We ordered cereal and got a container of spoiled milk and melon which had turned; had to spit it out in the toilet!!!

I would stay as far away from this ship as possible. It was our first cruise, and it was awful.

It went to St. John, NB, and Halifax. Don't bother getting off the ship in St. John. W paid $43.50 each for the 'pink bus' and it was a 60-year-old double decker with hard uncomfortable seats, exhaust fumes spilling back inside, even on the lower level. The guide pointed out the marigolds on the main road planted by the high school kids and someone's house which was having aluminum siding installed. There is nothing there to see but the reversing falls, and we missed that because it only happens twice a day. Otherwise, a very depressed town.

We didn't even bother getting off in Hallfax, it didn't look much different from the previous port.

The ship was packed; they must have overbooked, allowing extra people per cabin. We asked how many passengers were on board, and were told 3,100, which is more than what this site says is the max passengers for this ship.

This ship isn't worth whatever deal you may get.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byBeanbagfrog Get syndicated reviews byBeanbagfrog
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 607)
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
Pleasant surprise with the Carnival Glory, June 12, 2011
Reviewer: MaryErvin46
Pros: The crew was fantastic, cruise director and staff was excellent, good times!
Cons: Not really enough activities for different tastes, too many pool deck activities
Date of cruise: 5/29/11
Departure port: Norfolk Virginia
Region visited: Bahamas
Cabin category: Outside
Cabin number: 2285
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
MaryErvin46 saw things this way
Value For Money   4.00/5  (4)
Cabin Design   4.00/5  (4)
Entertainment   2.00/5  (2)
Food Quality   4.00/5  (4)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

We embarked at Norfolk, Va. Great place to leave from, nice hotels within walking distance of the ship! Can really save money parking at the hotels.

The Glory was in great shape for an older ship, the crew were always cleaning and sprucing up all over the ship. All were friendly and helpful, and always had a smile.

It's best to book shore excursions early as possible as the good ones sell out very quickly and there are only a limited amount to choose from!

The dining room food was good, not great, but had something available for most tastes. Tip, the red sail buffet, always had the same menu as the restaurants, so you didn't have to wait as long for your meal. So if you want to catch a show, it's best to choose the buffet.

They also had several other choices for food. The Mongolian Wok was the best place to eat on the ship! You choose your own ingredients and they prepare them for you! Also the sandwich station was excellent! They were also prepared to your order and served hot or cold, with several choices of side items. The fish and chips bar was also good, as was the burrito bar.

The Justin Illusion show was excellent, the other shows were just okay, the ones with the cruise ship performers was okay, but beware if you have children! The female dancers were wearing thong bottoms that left NOTHING to the imagination. The best shows are the game shows that the audience participates in, they were the funniest!

Our cabin was number 2285, it was really well laid out with a good-sized window. It had plenty of closet and storage space, and the largest luggage fit well under the bed. The beds themselves were very comfortable and had night tables with lamps. Make sure that you take a clock with you, as the room does not have one, but if you need a wake up call you can get one from the phone.

The bathroom was typically small, but had shelves on both sides of the mirror for your toiletries. They also had a nice welcome dish in the bathroom with nice razors for men and women, body wash, toothpaste and body soap. The shower itself has bodywash and shampoo. Each cabin has two really nice terrycloth robes to use while you are there.

Our first stop was Half Moon Cay. The horseback ride was amazing, both on the beach and in the water. You will love it if you like horses, and the guides were very good and friendly and matched you with horses that fit your skill level. Photographers took great pictures of you on the beach and in the water.

We also did the Historic Nature Walk, it was good, the guide was really knowlegable and pointed out various trees and bushes that were used to make teas and medicines. The buffet was good and there was great beach time fun to be had. Several small shops had souvenirs that were reasonably priced.

Next stop was Freeport, Nassau, The Bahamas. The western heritage tour is the best. Chad and his helper were the best guides ever, they taught us great history of the island and took us to some amazing places to see. The beach was great and the snorkeling part of the tour was the best. It was a five-hour tour that sells out really quickly so you had better book it online if you have the chance.

Several small shops around the port area right outside the ship, pretty expensive stuff for what you get, so be careful. You can get better prices on the ship in the shops.

The sea days were very relaxing and they had great round lounge chairs on the front end of the ship; it was the adults-only area, with plenty of lounge chairs and seating, it was quiet and peaceful.

The poolside deck was always noisy with lots of music and stuff going on, so if you like it that way, you will love this area!

Debarkation is MUCH EASIER if you take your own luggage off. We were off the ship in less than 30 minutes! You roll your own luggage off, and away you go!

Don't overpack, trust me, you don't need it all! They have two cruise elegant nights and all you need is two nice dresses or pantsuits. Then men don't need suits unless desired, polo shirts and slacks or khakis are fine, But if you want great photos, dress up! The photographers take excellent pictures of every pose imaginable and you are not obligated to buy any of them, but you will! All the other nights are cruise casual nights with most people wearing capris or sundresses and jeans and slacks for men.

Overall the value was good for the money, I would definitely cruise with Carnival again. You can also bring two 12-packs of soda, or water (no alcohol!) with you in your CARRY ON bag, Each cabin has a refrigerator with soda, beers, and water, and small bottles of alcohol, but beware the high prices!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byMaryErvin46 Get syndicated reviews byMaryErvin46
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 213)
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
 
Amazing cruise for past cruiser with first cruise toddler!, August 25, 2010
Reviewer: Hollouise
Pros: Our steward! Pitu was amazing by anticipating our needs with a toddler!
Cons: The shows at night weren't as good as the past cruises
Date of cruise: 07/12/2010
Departure port: New York, NY
Region visited: Canada/New England
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 7414
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
Good for children: Yes
Good for teenagers: Yes
    
Hollouise saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Staff and Service   5.00/5  (5)

My husband and I are past cruisers on Carnival. This was our first cruise with our toddler son who was 16 months old. We also traveled with my mother and father-in law, sister-in-law and uncle-in-law, who were first time cruisers.

From the first 15 minutes on the ship, our steward Pitu was absolutely amazing. He moved some furniture out of our cabin so the pack-and-play for my son fit easily. He opened up the balcony dividers so all of our cabins connected. He also made sure he stopped by an extra time in our room to remove any diapers. The room was always kept really clean.

The waitstaff in the dining room (we had the 6 p.m. seating) were also attentive to my son and his needs. They got him bread immediately and made sure he got food rather quickly and didn't have to wait for appetizers to be served. They also played peek a boo with him to keep entertained also.

The hallways were spotless. There were always staff in the hallways cleaning the floors, walls and ceilings.

The one downfall I have about the buffet area is that you cannot move tables together. So when you have a larger group, you either eat separately, or try to find tables close by.

Overall, I loved the Carnival Glory and it's staff. Our cruise director, Jorge (who we cruised with in the past) did not disappoint! He was as funny as ever with his Ship on a Stick trophy!

I would actually try to find a ship with Jorge as the director again!
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byHollouise Get syndicated reviews byHollouise
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

(Review ID: 142)
5 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
 
Location of cabin and dining room staff/food clinched the experience, July 31, 2010
Reviewer: aparsons
Pros: Stateroom and dining room staff and quality of dining room food
Cons: A tad too focused on upselling rather than maintaining excellent service
Date of cruise: 22 July 2010
Departure port: New York
Region visited: Canada/New England
Cabin category: Balcony
Cabin number: 9287 and 9289
Found through: CruiseCompete.com
    
aparsons saw things this way
Value For Money   5.00/5  (5)
Cabin Design   5.00/5  (5)
Entertainment   4.00/5  (4)
Fitness Center   4.00/5  (4)
Food Quality   5.00/5  (5)
Ship Maintenance   5.00/5  (5)
Spa   4.00/5  (4)
Staff and Service   4.00/5  (4)

We'd just finished another seven-day cruise from Montreal to Boston one week earlier before boarding the Carnival Glory in New York for a quick three-day, four-night, visit back up the coast to Saint John, NB.

Coming from a smaller Holland America ship to this one took a little getting used to although we'd booked two great verandah cabins (9287 and 9289) on Deck 9 (Lido) RHS. Cabins were roomy and only a 10-second walk to the main Lido deck and facilities through a mostly unused walkway.

We had a late seating (8:15p.m.) The service was just incredible - timely, personal and professional with a team of three to help the family to enjoy the experience. The food was amazingly well cooked, tasty and with a high level of presentation. Five-star quality in my opinion. Coming back to the same four-seat table (414) meant no queues each night unlike other cruise lines. Soda cards worked well at $4 USD each child per day (plus taxes etc).

Good choice of wines in the high $20-35 per bottle region which we thought was reasonable altough we also openly brought a bottle on board with us for our verandah afternoons. You could get a $95 USD collection of five bottles as a package if you wanted. Lots of good live music and entertainment suiting a range of tastes. Getting a chair was often difficult with around 3,600 on board so we tended to use them when available or chill on our verandah or at events when not.

The ship showed no real swaying movement for the entire journey although you could feel more engine vibrations the lower the floor you were on. In-cabin dining for breakfast was convenient although things were missed and coffee was generally cold upon arrival. We started with basics to get us going and then went to the Lido for a more hearty breakfast after. Queues were often long so adjusting your eating times can pay off.

Getting to our assigned dining room in the back of the ship was a little tricky and required a walk through the extensive casino area and then down a few back flights of stairs.

Embarkation and disembarkation was extremely well handled and meant an easy start/finish to an overall good experience. Wide diversity in staff origins (57 countries) so that was also great to experience. Would personally sail on this ship again although my wife prefers the intimacy of the smaller Holland America ships and layouts.

Our two young teenage sons were unfortunately just too young for the 15+ o2 club and a little old for the younger 8-12 club so didn't get to maximize the benefits of meeting others. But being only three days, it didn't much matter in the end.

Onboard shopping was in the main reasonably priced although you need to know your local prices for things like watches, etc., before making impulse puchases.
 
report this review Get syndicated reviews byaparsons Get syndicated reviews byaparsons
Was this review helpful to you?   
    
 

Share this on Facebook    Share on Twitter Tweet about it

Top of Page
Questions? Free help from cruise experts at ExpertTravelAnswers.com
About AllThingsCruise - For The Media - Contact Us - Home
© All Rights Reserved. All Things Cruise